We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Fonda(Benalmadena)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
US$153
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Best Siroco(Benalmadena)
US$146
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (2,002)
Filter reviews
2,002 results
Traveller rating
1,005
691
226
51
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,005
691
226
51
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantshow cookingthomson repcouples hotelwalk in showertapaslovely hoteltea and coffee making facilitiespool areasingle roomfree safeolder generationroad noiseplenty of choiceage groupevening mealafternoon sun
Filter
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 2,002 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2016

i think I've been to a differant hotel to other persons reviews , returned today after ten days at the riviera (Sensimar )?Don't know where to start really.well here goes .!prior to going to this hotel. I emailed to request ,high floor,sea view "Not ".on road .yes I realise all requests can't be carried out. Our flight went smooth no delays all good .this was when it changed .We boarded our transfer coach ,the driver never offered anyone help loading and unloading luggage ok I realise they don't always help .we arrived at the rivieara where we were dropped off on a busy DuelCarriegeway ,where we had three lanes of heavy busy traffic to cross to gain access to the hotel .this I found putting our lives in danger ?we were welcomed with a glass of wine at check in .we were allocated room 323 .we had some idea then ,this was certainly no high floor, on entering the room and opening the patio door ,the noise of the traffic was horrendous ,yes we were on the road to the left of the room ,now bear in mind it is a busy duel carriageway ,motorbikes etc ,police sirens the general traffic noise there was no way we could sit on the balcony with the traffic noise ,we did complain and told come back on Sunday we will allocate another room .(3days later ) .To the right of the room was a side sea view ,with a garden terrace to the front,the hotel is on differant levels so in actual fact we were two floors up .the total opposite of our request .yes I know requests can't always be carried out !,we did unpack and off to bed ,the bed was very comfortable and sheets spotless .the breakfast is everything it should be plenty of choice as is all the meals ,the dining room has a lovely relaxed feel and beautiful views out to sea ,the pool area is the X factor to this hotel .i spoke to the thomson rep regarding the transfer coach driver dropping us off on the duel carriageway she said this should not happen.however during the course of our stay,chatting to other guests ,this was a done thing sometimes ?.and for a fact my sister and friend checked in the same time as us but behind us and were allocated a lovely pool /sea view room.how they allocate the rooms is beyond me ,we also were chatting to other guests who showed us there room ,I think 319 now that was worse than the view we had ,so if your going ensure higher floors with sea view
/pool views or you could be overlooking a car park ,that's to the fuengerola side of the hotel ,dreadful .so we thought we better stay put .the a la carte evening is well worth a visit ,lovely .now I come to the entertainment .Tentertainment crew consisted of a young chap who never spoke but he did like to dance ,by himself ,and watch his reflection in the large glass windows.there was a young lady who now and then splashed about in the pool doing pool aerobics ,well supposed to be ?a few picture quizzes were thrown in now and then ,other than that I never saw any other kind of entertainment .evening entertainment .forget it other than Diobolical ,.would I return certainly not !

Room Tip: High floors pool/sea views
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va L, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Patricia C,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Riviera and for reviewing the hotel and your overall stay. We are sorry to hear that there were aspects of the hotel which did not meet your expectations. We very much value your feedback as we strive to improve our services and offer our guests an enjoyable holiday.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 weeks and what a fab time we had. When i first saw the hotel from the outside i wasn't sure but inside i could not fault it. Our room was lovely we were on the 6th floor and had a lovely view of the sea, there was also a bottle of wine and water left in our room which i thought was a lovely touch. There is also a fridge and safe in the room and no charge is made for these and there is tea and coffee which is replenished daily. The pool area is lovely and there are also some sun loungers in the garden area if you want somewhere quieter. There is also a lovely chill out area which looks over the pool and beach and is very pretty with a grassed area and beautiful flowers. My husband and i are beach lovers so we tended to go there and it is only across the promenade, 2 sunbeds and an umbrella are 10 euros. Now for the best bit.....the food. The main restaurant has amazing food and it is layed out beautifully and there is lots of choice.The hotel has entertainment in the evening and although we didn't see it all what we did see was very good.It is also very close to the marina and it is lovely to stroll down there of an evening. This is a great hotel with a fab location and we would definately return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Madeline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

every thing about this hotel deserves a credit -a wide variety of food-super room with a sea view-out door swimming pool and jacuzzi -a large entertainment room with good entertainment each night-alsothe staff very polite and helpfull-there is a lift to take you down to the sea front promanade which leads to the marina ,a short distance to walk-,take a trip to mijas local bus stops opposite hotel a couple of euros mijas is up in the mountains with views over the med-also advice take a trip to gibralta see the caves and the monkeys -also malaga is worth a trip

Room Tip: ask for a room near to beech end of hotel looking at marina and hotel pool
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank denisowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va L, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear Denisowen,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sensimar Riviera for your holiday in Benalmádena Costa and for sharing your positive comment. We are pleased to hear that the hotel met your expectations and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days in June, had a family wedding in mijas to go to, thought this was close enough to be to other guests, we wasn't wrong. Really can't fault this hotel, food adequate , no real complaints there, staff very friendly, especially Ana, our maid, hotel very clean, perfect position for everything, just had a great time here, we will be returning as soon as we are able, as much as we love children, so nice not to have them around ! And lastly weather amazing !!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Princessdebbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

This 4 star hotel should be upgraded to a 5 star. My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights and could not fault anything about our time here. From checking in to checking out our needs were catered for by polite well mannered staff. We had a double bedroom overlooking the beach. Room was cleaned every day (if you wanted it done) to a spotless standard. Food in the luxurious dining room was exquisite and every taste catered for. Food was always hot and plenty of it. You could even dine outside by the pool. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Would recommend to everyone and would definitely return. This is an adult only hotel and although my partner and I have a large family it was lovely to holiday as a couple and enjoy the peace and quiet. Hotel was located right beside the beach and shops are plentiful along the promenade. Only down factor was the hotel entertainment, quite bland and not much on offer BUT this would not stop us staying here again as there was plenty of nightlife in the surrounding area.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews