We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bull Costa Canaria & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Melia Tamarindos(San Agustin)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
BlueBay Beach Club(San Agustin)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sunsuites Carolina(San Agustin)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
407
210
43
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
210
43
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunbed reservationrooftop solariumpool barevening entertainmenthot stonedance floordead sea poolreservation systemsteam roomsteak on a stoneage groupflotation poolsalt roomlovely hotelsea viewshow cookingsaga rep
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 673 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Staying at the costa Canaria in San augustin
What a fabulous hotel with fantastic staff
Very clean and nice rooms and the pool is never really busy and Hermes the activities man is really good and makes your stay enjoyable
The fact that it's adults only is another major plus
It would have got 5 stars off me if there had been more toilets available in reception and especially near the pool as you often need to queue
Also there a loads of Germans that stay here and the entertainment is very much geared for them
But if you like a nice hotel with excellent staff I can highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We are a family of 5 ages from 21 to 60, travelled with Jet2holidays.

After short journey from airport, arrived at Hotel, very quick check in, reception staff very efficient and explained everything to us, we arrived at 9.30pm after Restaurant had closed, but we're told we could eat from 10pm when a small buffet would be laid on, which was lovely and staff made us feel very welcome.

Rooms - very big and modern, bathroom/shower excellent and very clean, we were on 1st floor, with pool view and we could see the sea too. We hired a safe which you pay a daily rate for. Fridge in room, and two bottles of water replenish ed daily.

Dining - We could not fault the food, we ate in the main restaurant for Breakfast and Dinner and in the snack bar at Lunch time, excellent variety of food. Snack bar was very good, with so much choice and very friendly waiter/waitress staff. drinks were served at dinner also. Nice Rose and sparkling wine!

Bar/Entertainment - poolside bar also had self service beer and soft drinks, best choice of alcoholic drinks and cocktails I have had in a all inclusive hotel. My husband liked the ice coffees by the pool and Irish coffees at night too. Entertainment was varied, with a professional act every night, and singers organ player, quiz, karaoke etc also. Entertainment flowed nicely, plenty of seating inside and outside at night.

Pool/spa - pool temperature was just right, one pool you are allowed inflatables, no balls at all in both pools!!! ( I haven't got a problem with rules, but think they could be signs telling you, as when we arrived and saw other people too, get told by lifeguard we are in the wrong pool, no playing ball!!). On first day, see the lifeguard and he will try and find you some sunbeds, it was lovely not having to get up early to reserve a bed, I think.the system works well☺️☺️. Pool area was good and very relaxing, think it would be good if some background music was played during the day. There is a sun terrace on roof, with jacuzzi, great view from up there. walk through the beautifully kept gardens to the beach and sea. Areas of shade in garden too. You can walk right to playa da ingles, about 45 mins at a nice slow pace, or buses across the road through the car park, run frequently to many places. A taxi cost us only 6 euros.

Spa is fantastic, with everything, jets, jacuzzi, salt pool, sauna, steam room etc and nice sunbeds to lay on. You can have free 10min session on water massage beds every day too, just book in the morning. Beach towels are provided and can be changed daily at spa too.

Animation, special mention to Hermes and Monica who work very hard, we all enjoyed playing different games with them. My two sons liked the water a volley every day. They ask if you would like to join in but are not pushy at all, think the games lasted about right length of time too.

We tried to book a excursions, with Jet2holidays, but as the rep is only at hotel two days , it was fully booked, (she wasn't very helpful) so we booked a tour at Hotel reception With low cost holidays, was approx half the cost!!! and was an excellent day out) would definitely recommend booking excursions at reception.

So all in all, we had a lovely time, hotel was about 90%german holiday makers, who were all very friendly. I cannot fault this hotel, normally don't return to same hotel, but definitely will be coming back. Thank you very much to all staff from cleaners to management at Hotel Costa Canaria.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival (and quick transport from the airport) we were greeted by friendly reception staff who showed us to the restaurant to ensure we didn't go hungry after our flight. After eating we went up to our room to unpack before exploring our home for the next ten days.

The room itself was clean, plenty of storage for our clothes, and nicely decorated- as was the bathroom. We explored the hotel groups and local beach, all of which was very picturesque! The bar staff were incredibly friendly, happy to explain the all inclusive options on the menu (which had confused us), and the table service was ultimately a pleasant surprise. The drinks and cocktails were lovely and easy to drink.

Breakfasts at the hotel were lovely, there was a great level of variety and for someone like myself who can be quite fussy with food this was a massive release. Due to my fussy eating habits we found ourselves eating lunch in the pool side bar where there wasn't a meal I couldn't eat- if I were to suggest something however the beef on hot stones was a firm favourite for both of us. Dinner again was incredibly varied- however due to me and my boyfriend not eating fish there was one night where we had nothing to eat and had to fill ourselves on bread and salad. The food was consistently high quality, and the staff working as waiters were friendly and attentive in regards to the table service for drinks.

Throughout the day the young man and young lady working in the hotel to run activities were friendly and polite. We can not compliment them enough! They helped us to cross language barriers to ensure we felt fully involved in the activities. The poolside was kept clear and tidy through out the day and the pools themselves were lovely. However, the life guard seemed to take a vendetta against me and my boyfriend- despite the pool rules not mentioning it we were told we could not play with a ball in the pool or with our inflatables when we had watched others do those activities without question. We were once told to take our inflatable out of the pool when a lady no less than two meters away from us was in the pool with hers unquestioned, when we asked about the logic he pretended not to understand.

The spa was well organised and well resourced, with everything you could ask for there free of charge. My only regret is waiting so long to try the water jet beds as they were an absolute delight! Was a lovely retreat from the hot mid day sun.

Perhaps our favourite part of the hotel was the roof sun terrace. Split into two sections- one for nudists and the other for bikini clad people both with jacuzzis and amazing views. (Take a look in the nudist area, we found it to be empty all the time allowing us to use it as a private terrace!)

An amazing experience, would definitely return!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

my wife & I stayed in this hotel form the 4/7/17-13/717. when we arrived late evening we were booked in quickly so we could get to the restaurant before it closed. After going to our room we returned to reception as we had an excellent view of the sea but it was spoiled by being on the end of the block and overlooked a car park. Reception organised an alternative room (516) for the following day and this was excellent, in the hub of things and great sea view. the domestic staff work extremely hard and this shows through out the hotel as it is spotlessly clean. Sun lounger reservation, the pool attendant helps you get the loungers you want and they are yours for the duration of your stay, this was brilliant. Pool side bar food was great for us and we ate there everyday and also used the spa everyday. the only thing that stopped it getting 5 star rating is the sometimes poor waiter service. Sometimes when ordering drinks you could wait up to 20 mins to get them and if you went to the bar it felt like you were being ignored while they were busy filling orders. Also not enough outdoor space for non smokers, surely in this day and age you should not be relegated to a few seats in the back of beyond so that the smokers can have prime spots and they should not be allowed to smoke under the cover of the bar. Also due to not many of the staff speaking English sometimes when you queried something you were given the wrong information, such as about late check out that can marr the over all experience. Would I return, most definitely.

Stayed: July 2017
5  Thank AbbraKebabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely reception area was my first impression beautiful fresh flowers.
Allocated 1st floor rooms with jet 2 side view rooms 130 and 131 above the kitchen we thought so you can smell cooking. We got moved as our air con wasn't cool so we got upgraded to the third floor 302 sea view very nice . Although slightly smaller room and a bath rather than just a shower cubicle which was in room 131 which was easier to get into if you have any mobility issues.
Fantastic stay with our friends and daughters age 17 .Not really for them I'm afraid had to taxi into playa and maspalomas most nights. Area surrounding hotel basically has loopys restaurant and on the beach Captains restaurant. Nothing else you can walk to the San Augustin shopping centre which at the moment is very poor. The spa is all free and a must visit. You can put your name down at 10am for a free massage bed 10mins everyday if you like and a glass of prosecco!
We put our sunbeds in the garden area so much nicer than being squashed around the pool and the parrots in the palm trees were a wee bit noisy but you get used to it! Sunbeds are yours for the duration of your stay and you can move it around as you so wish into shade etc if so needed! Great idea to have your name tag on your sunbeds as no rush for beds in the morning which there definitely would be in this hotel as 99% were German! The roof area is split into two areas one side being nudist.... all hidden behind frosted glass than goodness! The views are amazing from the 7th floor!
Staff were great in all areas Juan and devinia in the restaurant were both lovely. As we're all the reception staff. Hermes and Monika on the entertainment team were great fun lots going on every day except Monday, and enjoyed the foam party very much! I probably would go back again as a couple although we don't normally return to places as the world is a big place to be enjoyed why keep going back year after year!? But yes, this has been one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in so far! So enjoy

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
8  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews