We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel to relax in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Costa Canaria
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

One of the best hotels we have stayed at as soon as you walk in the entrance it feels right .every thing one could wish for.only down side sunbeds were hard to find that were not allocated but when found its yours all the time best to find one on the grass area

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 2014premr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Staying at the costa Canaria in San augustin
What a fabulous hotel with fantastic staff
Very clean and nice rooms and the pool is never really busy and Hermes the activities man is really good and makes your stay enjoyable
The fact that it's adults only is another major plus
It would have got 5 stars off me if there had been more toilets available in reception and especially near the pool as you often need to queue
Also there a loads of Germans that stay here and the entertainment is very much geared for them
But if you like a nice hotel with excellent staff I can highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We are a family of 5 ages from 21 to 60, travelled with Jet2holidays.

After short journey from airport, arrived at Hotel, very quick check in, reception staff very efficient and explained everything to us, we arrived at 9.30pm after Restaurant had closed, but we're told we could eat from 10pm when a small buffet would be laid on, which was lovely and staff made us feel very welcome.

Rooms - very big and modern, bathroom/shower excellent and very clean, we were on 1st floor, with pool view and we could see the sea too. We hired a safe which you pay a daily rate for. Fridge in room, and two bottles of water replenish ed daily.

Dining - We could not fault the food, we ate in the main restaurant for Breakfast and Dinner and in the snack bar at Lunch time, excellent variety of food. Snack bar was very good, with so much choice and very friendly waiter/waitress staff. drinks were served at dinner also. Nice Rose and sparkling wine!

Bar/Entertainment - poolside bar also had self service beer and soft drinks, best choice of alcoholic drinks and cocktails I have had in a all inclusive hotel. My husband liked the ice coffees by the pool and Irish coffees at night too. Entertainment was varied, with a professional act every night, and singers organ player, quiz, karaoke etc also. Entertainment flowed nicely, plenty of seating inside and outside at night.

Pool/spa - pool temperature was just right, one pool you are allowed inflatables, no balls at all in both pools!!! ( I haven't got a problem with rules, but think they could be signs telling you, as when we arrived and saw other people too, get told by lifeguard we are in the wrong pool, no playing ball!!). On first day, see the lifeguard and he will try and find you some sunbeds, it was lovely not having to get up early to reserve a bed, I think.the system works well☺️☺️. Pool area was good and very relaxing, think it would be good if some background music was played during the day. There is a sun terrace on roof, with jacuzzi, great view from up there. walk through the beautifully kept gardens to the beach and sea. Areas of shade in garden too. You can walk right to playa da ingles, about 45 mins at a nice slow pace, or buses across the road through the car park, run frequently to many places. A taxi cost us only 6 euros.

Spa is fantastic, with everything, jets, jacuzzi, salt pool, sauna, steam room etc and nice sunbeds to lay on. You can have free 10min session on water massage beds every day too, just book in the morning. Beach towels are provided and can be changed daily at spa too.

Animation, special mention to Hermes and Monica who work very hard, we all enjoyed playing different games with them. My two sons liked the water a volley every day. They ask if you would like to join in but are not pushy at all, think the games lasted about right length of time too.

We tried to book a excursions, with Jet2holidays, but as the rep is only at hotel two days , it was fully booked, (she wasn't very helpful) so we booked a tour at Hotel reception With low cost holidays, was approx half the cost!!! and was an excellent day out) would definitely recommend booking excursions at reception.

So all in all, we had a lovely time, hotel was about 90%german holiday makers, who were all very friendly. I cannot fault this hotel, normally don't return to same hotel, but definitely will be coming back. Thank you very much to all staff from cleaners to management at Hotel Costa Canaria.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival (and quick transport from the airport) we were greeted by friendly reception staff who showed us to the restaurant to ensure we didn't go hungry after our flight. After eating we went up to our room to unpack before exploring our home for the next ten days.

The room itself was clean, plenty of storage for our clothes, and nicely decorated- as was the bathroom. We explored the hotel groups and local beach, all of which was very picturesque! The bar staff were incredibly friendly, happy to explain the all inclusive options on the menu (which had confused us), and the table service was ultimately a pleasant surprise. The drinks and cocktails were lovely and easy to drink.

Breakfasts at the hotel were lovely, there was a great level of variety and for someone like myself who can be quite fussy with food this was a massive release. Due to my fussy eating habits we found ourselves eating lunch in the pool side bar where there wasn't a meal I couldn't eat- if I were to suggest something however the beef on hot stones was a firm favourite for both of us. Dinner again was incredibly varied- however due to me and my boyfriend not eating fish there was one night where we had nothing to eat and had to fill ourselves on bread and salad. The food was consistently high quality, and the staff working as waiters were friendly and attentive in regards to the table service for drinks.

Throughout the day the young man and young lady working in the hotel to run activities were friendly and polite. We can not compliment them enough! They helped us to cross language barriers to ensure we felt fully involved in the activities. The poolside was kept clear and tidy through out the day and the pools themselves were lovely. However, the life guard seemed to take a vendetta against me and my boyfriend- despite the pool rules not mentioning it we were told we could not play with a ball in the pool or with our inflatables when we had watched others do those activities without question. We were once told to take our inflatable out of the pool when a lady no less than two meters away from us was in the pool with hers unquestioned, when we asked about the logic he pretended not to understand.

The spa was well organised and well resourced, with everything you could ask for there free of charge. My only regret is waiting so long to try the water jet beds as they were an absolute delight! Was a lovely retreat from the hot mid day sun.

Perhaps our favourite part of the hotel was the roof sun terrace. Split into two sections- one for nudists and the other for bikini clad people both with jacuzzis and amazing views. (Take a look in the nudist area, we found it to be empty all the time allowing us to use it as a private terrace!)

An amazing experience, would definitely return!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

my wife & I stayed in this hotel form the 4/7/17-13/717. when we arrived late evening we were booked in quickly so we could get to the restaurant before it closed. After going to our room we returned to reception as we had an excellent view of the sea but it was spoiled by being on the end of the block and overlooked a car park. Reception organised an alternative room (516) for the following day and this was excellent, in the hub of things and great sea view. the domestic staff work extremely hard and this shows through out the hotel as it is spotlessly clean. Sun lounger reservation, the pool attendant helps you get the loungers you want and they are yours for the duration of your stay, this was brilliant. Pool side bar food was great for us and we ate there everyday and also used the spa everyday. the only thing that stopped it getting 5 star rating is the sometimes poor waiter service. Sometimes when ordering drinks you could wait up to 20 mins to get them and if you went to the bar it felt like you were being ignored while they were busy filling orders. Also not enough outdoor space for non smokers, surely in this day and age you should not be relegated to a few seats in the back of beyond so that the smokers can have prime spots and they should not be allowed to smoke under the cover of the bar. Also due to not many of the staff speaking English sometimes when you queried something you were given the wrong information, such as about late check out that can marr the over all experience. Would I return, most definitely.

Stayed: July 2017
4  Thank AbbraKebabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.2 km away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,877 reviews
0.6 km away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
0.5 km away
San Agustin Beach Club
San Agustin Beach Club
#9 of 19 in San Agustin
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
IFA Beach Hotel
IFA Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in San Agustin
651 reviews
0.9 km away
Dunas Don Gregory
Dunas Don Gregory
#4 of 19 in San Agustin
1,007 reviews
6.5 km away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Canaria

Address: C/ Retamas 1, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range: $201 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Costa Canaria is located right on the seafront in San Agustin, Gran Canaria. It is an ideal hotel for couples in search ofa peaceful holiday at a hotel for adults only which, at the same time, offers every kind of leisure actitivity and entertainment. It's a four-star all inclusive hotel which is unique on the island, making it the favourite destination for many tourists summer after summer. Totally refurbished in 2014, it boasts a wide range of services and activities providing a friendly and personalised service that will make your stay at the Hotel & Spa Costa Canaria a frequent destination for your holidays on Gran Canaria. The magnificent rooms offer the very best views of San Agustin beach. You will enjoy stunning sunsets, clear transparent waters and golden sandy beaches. Your holidays on Gran Canaria at the Hotel Costa Canaria! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Costa Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Canaria Hotel San Agustin
Iberostar San Agustin
Iberostar Hotel Costa Canaria
Hotel Costa Canaria Gran Canaria/San Agustin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing