We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,994)
Filter reviews
7,994 results
Traveller rating
3,321
2,731
1,208
448
286
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,321
2,731
1,208
448
286
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel bali beds free bus balinese beds apartment block self service gran canaria half board buffet restaurant animation team evening entertainment yumbo centre great holiday superior room reception staff family holiday chicken nuggets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 7,994 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2021

Hotel is very comfortable. Well maintained rooms, cleaned everyday. Swimming pool is huge. But if you have children the life guards will constantly tell them off. Doing what young children would do when having fun. Jumping in, swimming to the bottom to pick objects off the floor. No inflatables. Swimming pool was for swimming only. Even a toddler with their mother a ring wasn’t allow. Arm bands only.
The adults only area was shut. Basketball court shut. Gym outside was shut. Ok COVID is still about but last year else where in Spain I didn’t have these issues with facilities closed.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank richardsbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Occidental Margaritas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay.

We were concerned by how you felt while staying with us; your comments do not reflect the usual experience we strive to ensure for our guests.We would like to clarify that inflatables are not permitted in our pool, primarily for safety reasons so the lifeguard has a clear view of the entire area. This rule also ensures that guests have enough space to enjoy the pool.

Thorough cleaning is an absolute must for Barceló and we thank you for highlighting the high standards of our hotel. We strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is a top priority for our guests.

Regarding the Adults only area I would like to let you know that it is opened but with scheduled times, included in All Inclusive Plus Package or for other boards has a special charge like is published on our webpage. On the other hand the basketball court or tennis court is opened but it is necessary to book through Hotel application with scheduled times, Gym outside also is opened even with a personal trainer for all the guests that would like to go, necessary to book also through our Hotel app because of maximum capacity.

We hope this not deter you from returning and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
With very best wishes,


Dirección Occidental Margaritas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2021

Just a wonderful break from recent madness, lovely to be spoiled again.
Like coming home, and I feel so relaxed after 9 days.
As always, its tge staff that make a real difference, I hope to return in a very short time

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank nigelj0lly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Occidental Margaritas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2021

Hi Nigelj,
Thank you for this positive feedback.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we met all your expectations. Thank you for mentioning our strategic location; we are delighted to know that you found this to be ideal.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes,


Dirección Occidental Margaritas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2021

My stay at Occidental Margaritas as always was very pleasant for me. Very good hotel infrastructure, polite staff, good cuisine, comfortable rooms, good conditions for sports and recreation. I will definitely come back to this Hotel.

Date of stay: July 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kmiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Occidental Margaritas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2021

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review.
We do our utmost to ensure that our guests have the best experience possible with us and it is rewarding to receive a message of satisfaction from our guests.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best wishes,


Dirección Occidental Margaritas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2021

Food needs improvement, comfort of the rooms/beds need to be improved. Even in covid time, you should have offered less choices but better meals.
The beds were really uncomfortable, especially the convertible which was broken and made a hell of noise.
Isolation of the rooms should be improved, it feels the neighbors were in our room.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank MiloudB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations, Otros at Occidental Margaritas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2021

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Margaritas we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal.

We also regret that our buffet couldn't meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests.

We lament reading on the comfort of our beds because at Barceló we are fully aware that a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep to our guests, please for next time do not hesitate to contact us directly and could find a solution during your stay.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2021

We arrived here from a perfect AI-hotell, only a few days to check out the viewings of GC, had we not I am sure a crime would have been committed.

A few excerpts of our experiences:

We hade to change rooms 3 times due to severe mold damages in the rooms - like you’ve to wear a gas mask to just go in there ‍♂️. When notifing management they just scoffed it off and said ”I Will talk to the cleaning lady”...

The buffets are OK for the price and chefs are good guys - the service however... they snatch your plates before you’re finished, don’t say anything or at best tells you ”to use a small cup for espresso” .

The C19 measurements seems mostly be used as an excuse to save down on the food and salaries, no sanitizing, no distancing, just less space in the restaurant and less food in the buffet...

There’s a nudist solarium on the roof top, which is nice if you’re so inclined, just there someone who’ve made a hole in the wall with a bucket below for peeping Tom’s...

I caught a drunk neighbour pissing from the balcony...

And the list goes on...

I would advise anyone to ever use this unsafe Hotel, both due to insufficient C19 protektion and the mold infection the management apparently doesnt care about.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jonna_kiaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations, Otros at Occidental Margaritas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2021

Dear client,

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Margaritas hotel.

Regarding the management of the COVID 19 measures carried out in our facilities, we would like to clarify some of your comments. At Barceló, the safety of our clients is the first, therefore, we have developed a program of protection measures called We Care About in which we work every day. Among others, in the restaurant, it is mandatory to sanitize hands at the entrance of the restaurant and each time the buffet area is accessed, the use of a mask, route flows to avoid the crossing of customers, change and disinfection of forceps and machines of common use every 15 minutes, wide selection of pods and assisted buffet in our showcooking. We also have gloves if the client requests it. We understand that, due to the situation experienced in recent months, it is striking to see a large group of people, but we can guarantee that under all these measures, the security and tranquility of our clients is assured. In addition, both the team and the hotel management keep a rigorous control of these measures, and if any of these measures are not complied with, we ensure that they are complied with. If any uncivil attitude has escaped our reach, we apologize and if it happens again, we invite you to inform us to take the appropriate measures.

In relation to the incidents regarding the cleaning of your room, we would like to offer our sincere apologies as clearly we were not performing to our usual standards on this occasion; your review being used as the example to guarantee nothing like this ever happens again at our hotel and we thank you for bringing them to our attention as we have taken them extremely seriously and have learned from them.

Although your comments do not seem to quite match with the usual feedback that we receive both on this support and onsite, for a future stay, please do not hesitate to voice your concerns and approach the management team to inform us of the service imperfection you report on your review, we will be more than pleased to assist for you to fully enjoy your holidays among us. 

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Ángel Rodríguez
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews