We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“KL Ranch Scam” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of KL Ranch Camp Cliffside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Braunfels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KL Ranch Camp Cliffside
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“KL Ranch Scam”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I have read this from another review actually all that i am going to list are in the other reviews. this place is HORRIFIC. it states quiet time from 11-7am the people at the site next to us were partying till 4am shining there lantern in our tent since we are all packed like sardines needless to say we didnt get any sleep!! i learned from other campers that we grossly over paid for one night of camping. not to mention they robbed us 80$ on tubes we paid in cash and they charged our card anyways. So disgusted with the way these "people" do business. should have known the quality of this place when one of the employess asked me to donate beer to them smh.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldlyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

K&L Ranch Camp is one of the BEST campgrounds off River Road. They are always very friendly and want to help out anyway they can. We have stayed on the cliff side and the river side, both nice camp sites and easy access to the river. We get a group together every year and have been going to K&L for 4 years now. You do have to pay $1 in quarters for the shower which is not stated on their website. This past trip our A/C units kicked on and off a couple of times but since the flooding they have had some electrical difficulties that they are working through. I would strongly recommend them if you want a fun, relaxing, good camping experience!

Room Tip: Both cliff and river sites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carollyn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
private
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We arrived July 23 around midday. Check in was super easy and we had 2 really good sites with lots of shade trees on the cliff side (23 &24 if I remember right). We were informed that the gates would lock @ midnight on Friday and Saturday, but if we happened to get locked out we could park at the camp store (which by the way everything there was priced extremely reasonable), and walk to our sites. Security drove around until midnight atleast patrolling the place. The showers were pretty good for camping if you ask me. The floors were dirty, but there was people going in and out with dirty shoes on, so what else would you expect? The shower was $1 for 5 or 6 minutes. We have stayed at other places before, and would definitely recommend this place over them for sure. We paid $35 a night per site, which came with electricity and water hook ups. That covered 2 people per site, and it was only $10 per person per night after that. It was well worth the $. We will definitely go back next year, and plan on reserving early enough to camp by the water!! :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachBumMom4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forney, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

I have been staying at KL Ranch Camp for the last 21 years and it is definetly one of the nicest campgrounds to stay in that is right on the river. The people who complain about the bathrooms or the tubers are very much premadonnas. First of all, as far as the campground goes, the bathrooms are fine. Everyday that I have been there, I saw someone cleaning the restrooms. This is not a 5 star hotel, it's a campground and a very busy campground at that. Also, If you have tubers coming by talking with fowl langauge, then say something. It's not the fault of the campground. I have stayed at several different campgrounds on the river, and this is by far the best of them. Jeff H. from Forney, TX

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverrafter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

We stayed for 3 nights, the prices are outrageous. My mom and dad had a travel trailer and we stayed with them, they paid 105 and we paid 120 and we didn't even have a trailer. This is supposed to be a family campsite, sorry its not. Quiet time is 11-7, our neighbors were up until 330 in the morning blaring there music and drinking and talking loud, we got no rest, this went on every night. Just not with them it was all thru the campsite and they didn't do anything to control it. The campers next to us had 2 trailers on one site with like 5 tents and 20 people. They are so money hungry that they were cramming people in and they blocked our vehicles in and we would have to get them to move just to leave. The bathrooms, are horrific, the showers are disgusting and it doesn't look like they clean them at all oh and they charge you to use there filthy showers, the commodes are gross and there is no soap or dryers to wash your hands. They don't mow or weedeat along the river bank and we had a huge rat come out in the daylight while we were sitting at our campsite. All in all we will be looking elsewhere next year until they improve this campsite.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kstewart1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
5.9 km away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#24 of 31 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
8.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#6 of 31 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
9.3 km away
Courtyard New Braunfels River Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels
4.2 km away
Lamb's Rest Inn
Lamb's Rest Inn
#2 of 18 in New Braunfels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
10.4 km away
Hill Country Cottage and RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KL Ranch Camp Cliffside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KL Ranch Camp Cliffside

Property: KL Ranch Camp Cliffside
Address: 5300 River Road, New Braunfels, TX 78132
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Speciality Lodging in New Braunfels
Price range (per night): $23
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer vacations, tubing, and camping. We have tube rentals, showers, and a camp store. We accept reservations and welcome RV's, trailers, pop-ups, and tent campers. Day picnic is also available. Join us for a day of fun in the sun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kl Ranch Camp Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing