We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gruene River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gruene River Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 New Braunfels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great service and great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here recently and had a great time. The hotel sits on a bluff overlooking the Guadalupe River, and as others have noted, the view from your room is indeed breathtaking, especially at night. The river winds along below you, and the green hills roll away to the distance. You and/or the kids can also go down to the river and go swimming if you like. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and the overall feel of the place is easy-going and relaxed. Breakfast is available every morning in the lobby. The highlight was the breakfast tacos, but fruit, cereal, muffins, etc mean every taste is accommodated. One thing we loved was that there were two different home-made cakes available all the time--"help yourself." That was such a nice touch and it made us feel at home. Okay, the rooms are a little on the small side--the big king bed takes up most of it. But you're going to be out on your private patio anyway, so no matter. The bathroom by contrast is surprisingly big, with a big deep jacuzzi tub--an unexpected benefit. In fact the only thing we didn't like was the train noise. The trains that pass a few miles away blow their horns at intersections during the night. Since you're up so high that sound carries loud and clear to the room. It didn't really bother me too much, but my wife was less sanguine about it. Overall though we loved this place and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: They all face the river, so you can't go wrong with any of them. There aren't any elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChasG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    26
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
58
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

My girlfriend and I have stayed in several places in the New Braunsfels/Gruene area and the Gruene River Inn was by far and away our favorite. The property is newer, very clean and has spectactular views from every room. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. This is a B&B, but its more like a cozy inn. You have plenty of privacy and the hosts are sure to provide much needed ice, snacks, and a full breakfast every morning. It is built into the hillside over looking the river and there is actually a path right down to the riverbank where you can sit by and watch the tubers go by or grab a tube and jump in yourself. It is only a short walk to all of the best restuarants and shops Gruene has to offer and is very close to tubing and other recreation.

We stayed over Memorial Day weekend and it was priced extremely reasonable for a holiday weekend, especially considering the prime location and that breakfast is included. We can't say enough good things about it this place. We will never stay anywhere else. ..

Absolutely perfect for a romantic getaway or fun weekend of play on the river!

Room Tip: 2nd Floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne_from_HTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, GA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms when we were in New Braunfels and fell in love with this place. We travel most of the year so having a place where we felt at home was wonderful. I sat on the balcony and watched the tubers on the river below. There is simply not a better view in town.

We got a chance to see several of the rooms and they are all decorated differently with antique beds but they all have these amazing DEEP tubs. I hate having a big tub but no hot water but that was not the case here! I was able to fill the tub up and think I stayed in there for over an hour.

The owners are delightful and very responsive to our needs. We brought our bikes and were able to ride straight from the inn.

We loved it so much that we are staying there again this month on a trip to the area for business.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaigeMitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

My husband & I try to stay ther at least once a month just to get away and relax. I don't know if I like staying there more in the winter or the summer. In the winter it feels so cozy and in the summer it's so nice watching everyone float the river from the awsome view off the balconey. One of our favorites is the jacuzzi tubs, they r so big me & my partner, who is 6'4, fit comfortable. Everything is so clean & decorated so beautiful expecially during Christmas. What I have noticed staying there so often is that each room has it's own theme and wonderful scent. I love when I climb into bed it just feels so clean and cozy and there are always extra soft pillows. Each room even has its own little gas fire place for winter and own thermostat. The next great thing is the food! If you want a late night snack they have popcorn, homemade cakes, fruit, crackers, peanuts and much more, or any kind of bevarages, waters,sodas or beer you can help yourself at anytime, then in the morning, this is one problem...there are so many great things to choose from it's hard to decide what to eat. All kinds of tacos, waffles, cereals, oatmeals, bagels and so much more. At last all workers there are the kindest and will make sure you have everything you need to better your stay. Can't wait till my next Relaxing Getaway:)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

My husband and I live close by in San Marcos but when we want a peaceful relaxing weekend we enjoy staying at the Gruene River Inn. The people working at the desk are very accommodating and go out of their way to make sure your needs are met. My husband and I love sitting out on the deck overlooking the river. Or taking walks down to the river and fish. The jetted tubs are very big plenty of room for two. And there is always snacks in the lobby if you get an urge for a midnight snack, the breakfast consists of all kinds of pastries, fruit and delicious tacos and waffles. I recommend!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eightball78666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Braunfels hotels
1.1 km away
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
#22 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
4.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village
2.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#2 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
#10 of 32 in New Braunfels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
2.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
#7 of 32 in New Braunfels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.6 km away
Gruene Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gruene River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gruene River Inn

Property: Gruene River Inn
Address: 1111 Gruene Road, New Braunfels, TX 78130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > New Braunfels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in New Braunfels
Price range (per night): $245 - $268
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gruene River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2001, Gruene River Inn is one of the newest accommodations in the New Braunfels and Gruene community. Located a quarter-of-a-mile from Gruene Hall, our Inn is not far from shopping, or dining at the Gristmill. On the banks of the Guadalupe River, the Gruene River Inn gives guests panoramic views that are unmatched in the area. Guests are welcome to fish or swim out back in the Guadalupe River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gruene River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruene River Hotel New Braunfels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing