We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential, but needs to work out some kinks”
Review of Flamingo Flatts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Angelo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flamingo Flatts
Reviewed 20 April 2016

This was our second stay at this property. Last time was a couple of years ago, under different ownership. We loved the place. Our room that time was small but otherwise very comfortable.

This time we had a different room (The Palms), which was much larger. We really liked how spacious it was. The bed was comfortable. There was a coffee maker and a mini fridge stocked with bottled water. The location of the hotel is great, near the river and in walking distance to many downtown shopping and dining venues. Our friends were staying in the large master suite, which has a living room, full kitchen, and private patio overlooking the adjacent restaurant. From there, we watched the live entertainment at the restaurant and received personal service right to our patio.

So those are the pros. There were quite a few cons, however. First of all, this is NOT a B&B. There is no breakfast of any kind. There were some issues with cleanliness. The only problem in our room was the drawers in the chest and the desk. There were a lot of dust bunnies, crumbs and who-knows-what. The drawers looked like they hadn't been cleaned since forever. I would definitely not store any of my things in them. There was an open tube of toothpaste left in one drawer. Otherwise our room was pretty clean, but our friends in the other room had much bigger problems: half-empty bottles of water left in the fridge, lipstick stains on the cups in the kitchen, makeup stains on the pillowcases, and more. The housekeeping in their room really missed the mark.

Also, the TV was not working in either of our rooms. Apparently this had been a problem, but we were not informed, so I spent half an hour playing with the remote thinking that maybe we just were on the wrong input setting or whatever. It was late and our host's residence upstairs was dark and quiet, so I had no way to ask for a resolution to the problem.

Lastly, soundproofing is a problem. The door into our room did not close properly; you had to lock the deadbolt in order to keep it closed. And there was a 1-2 inch gap at the bottom of the door so there was little privacy in terms of noise for anyone on either side of the door. Fortunately it is a small property so rarely are there people outside your door. The bathroom door also did not close properly. And the A/C unit was very noisy, All of these are issues that might be expected in a historic building, but just something to be aware of.

This hotel has lots of potential. If they can work on perfecting the housekeeping, that would go a long way to bringing things up to speed. Make sure the tv works. If they want to call it a B&B, offer some sort of breakfast, even if it is just a simple continental breakfast of muffins, juice, and fruit set out in the lobby. With these improvements, it could be a really fun and funky place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Luckybeckyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2015

Now known as Flamingo Flatts, this little B&B is everything wonderful! Comfortable bed. Clean room. Large bathroom. Friendly staff. Reasonable rates. GREAT downtown location. Walking distance to restaurants, shops, nightlife, museums and everything historic San Angelo has to offer. Did I mention the hospitality of the owners? Wonderful and accommodating people ready & willing to help make you stay in San Angelo one to remember. Thanks FiFi & Tony.

Room Tip: Take what you can get - it's all good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank The-Other-Johnsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Now known as Flamingo Flatts, this little B&B is everything wonderful! Comfortable bed. Clean room. Large bathroom. Friendly staff. Reasonable rates. GREAT downtown location. Walking distance to restaurants, shops, nightlife, museums and everything historic San Angelo has to offer. Did I mention the hospitality of the owners? Wonderful and accommodating people ready & willing to help make you stay in San Angelo one to remember. Thanks FiFi & Tony.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank The-Other-Johnsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

This charming Guest Inn smack dab in the middle of historic downtown San Angelo is an amazing find. There are 3 comfortable and well equipped bedroom suites with private baths. The Blues Inn is next door as are several blocks of fun shops, eateries and pubs. The owners, Fifi and Tony - were flexible, accommodating, friendly and considerate. We stayed 3 nights and plan to return!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2014

Loved this inn. We stayed in the T-Bone room. Very comfortable bed, the room had lots of antiques. Very quirky features throughout. Great location for visiting San Angelo. We stayed for one night on a Sun on route to Big Bend. The problem we had was finding somewhere to eat in San Angelo on a Sun night. Don't let this deter you from staying at this lovely, quirky inn. It's a delight. If arriving on a Sun, just eat before getting to San Angelo.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MunchKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Angelo hotels
2.7 km away
El Patio Inn
El Patio Inn
#22 of 32 in San Angelo
6 reviews
2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites San Angelo
6.5 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Angelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#20 of 32 in San Angelo
156 reviews
6.7 km away
Hampton Inn San Angelo
Hampton Inn San Angelo
#4 of 32 in San Angelo
358 reviews
6.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Angelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Flatts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Flatts

Address: 204 S Oakes St, San Angelo, TX 76903-6410 (Formerly Blues Inn at Sealy Flats)
Region: United States > Texas > San Angelo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in San Angelo
Price Range: $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of historic downtown, shopping, restaurants and night clubs are all within walking distance. The San Angelo Museum of Fine Arts is just across the bridge as well as Fort Concho. The Diner and blues club is right next door and has live music Thursday - Saturday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing