We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated Motel Six, not sure the light is left on!”
Review of White Bluff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Bluff Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whitney
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Attended a reunion at White Bluff Resort. Location is isolated, you are on a nice lake, but just no services available at the resort. No Wi-fi, no restaurant unless you drive, and a basic hotel. Nearest town is Hillsboro, about a 20 minute drive, and there is not much there.
Lumpy bed and some critters joining me in the bathtub and sink each morning. Other than that, it was a place to sleep. Most in our party played gold most of the day, so unless you are a golfer, not much to do. Caught up on my reading and relaxed.
However, management was most responsive to a survey completed. They are listening and it appears major changes are soon to occur.

Room Tip: Request a lake side room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Shuttrrbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmolsen, General Manager at White Bluff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for the comment. Indeed we are listening and planning on a major renovation. Please revisit us next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

In the the middle of nowhere, no on site sraff. Not fully operational, we were the only people in the hotel at midnight, crazy noises, dead phone line. Had to google security to call from personal cell and to top it off two days after our 1 night stay our account was $50.00 over charged from signed check out receipt. Need I say more....... u would have a better stay motel 6 at least they keep the lights working!!! Creepy!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank 1ofakindbusowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmolsen, General Manager at White Bluff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

I apologize for your stay at White Bluff not meeting you expectations. As for the $50 overcharge please contact the resort and we will credit any overcharge immediately. The charge you are referring to may be a charge for incidentals that drops off after 3 days. If this is not the case please call our front desk and we will remedy the error immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn and it's a room that is adequately furnished, the bathroom is clean and everything works. There are not a lot of services at the building...no onsite staff, no concierge, very limited dining options. It's a room to sleep in and that's about it.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmolsen, General Manager at White Bluff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Give us another try in six months or so. We have some exciting changes in the works. Please ask for me if you do decide to return and I will tell you what changes we have made and what we see for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We went to the resort for a family wedding. Check-in was alright, but the map we were given was dreadful. Most of the streets were not shown, or not labeled. We got lost twice trying to find our condo. The room was not what I'd expect for the cost. We were locked out of the room when we went out the back door because the door lock battery was not charged. It took two trips from maintenance to get it fixed, plus help from the front desk to reprogram it. All while we needed to get ready for a wedding. The food at the wedding reception was not great. Just a disappointment.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmolsen, General Manager at White Bluff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

I am sorry the food did not meet your expectations and that the battery on the door lock failed. I will direct our art department to look into creating a more user friendly map for our guests. We are a large resort with over 3,500 acres and prefer not to have many street lights so one can enjoy the night time Texas skies but that can easily make it difficult to find a condo. Thank you for the comments and we will work to remedy the issues you experienced. We hope you will return and try us again. If you do please ask for me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

My son had a golf tournament at White Bluff Golf resort and we wanted to be close, so we did n't have to drive in early. The White Bluff Inn is 3 minutes from the golf course so that is a plus. The rooms were OK, but could use some updates and ours had a mildew smell. Some of the rooms do overlook the lake which is nice. We had trouble with our door key and the office is a 5 minute drive. I had to drive back and forth 3 times to get a key that worked, so that was a pain. The website for the resort also shows restaurants on the property, which never seem to be open and the marina seems to be permanently closed too. We could never get into the fitness center and the spa seems to be permanently closed as well. Seems like the property is going down hill.

Room Tip: Only get a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmolsen, General Manager at White Bluff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

We do plan to renovate all the lodging very soon. Our dining facilities are closed Sunday night through Tuesday which unfortunately was the time period you were here. The view from the Lighthouse Restaurant, open on the weekends, is only surpassed by the food inside. The marina was closed when you were here due to the heavy rains in the spring. The lake was 27 feet above normal levels. Currently the marina is open as lake Whitney has returned to normal pool levels. I am not sure what the problem was with the fitness center. It is open 24-7. We hope you will return soon and experience the true White Bluff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to White Bluff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Bluff Resort

Address: 20022 Misty Valley Cir, Whitney, TX 76692-5773
Region: United States > Texas > Whitney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whitney
Hotel Class:3 star — White Bluff Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Bluff Resort is perched atop Lake Whitney, located 90 minutes south of Dallas, Texas. White Bluff Resort is a master-planned residential community that has something for everyone, including deluxe accommodations, upscale and casual dining, two championship golf courses, fitness center, private marina, conference center, swimming pools, tennis courts, fishing lakes, real estate opportunities and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Bluff Hotel Whitney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing