We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and well thought out plates”
Review of Toscano

Toscano
Reserve with OpenTable
Toscano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 156 Restaurants in Draper
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Experience Toscano represents the South Valley’s pre-eminent dining environment with its inviting, sleek exterior highlighted with its floor–to-ceiling window walls permitting vast natural lighting and vistas of the Oquirrh sunsets. It's 20’ live trees provide a year round summer environment regardless of the calendar. Toscano’s Garden is a multi-purpose area that serves as a protected outdoor dining area with a closeable roof, fountains, music, plants and full herb garden used for daily harvest for the kitchen. The Garden's versatile roof can accommodate outdoor dining in any season. The Food Toscano's menu, offers a wide range of highest quality steaks, chops and seafood emphasizing locally sourced ingredients while retaining some of the original location’s favorites such as its signature Naples-style pizzas and its house made gelatos. The lunch menu is designed for both the business meeting luncheon, the casual dining needs. Near: The South Town Expo Center, Hale Centre Theatre
Reviewed 14 February 2018

I've been to Toscano many times and no matter what I'm in the mood for there is something that hits the spot. While they have always been good there are always some dishes that will really blow you away so make sure to ask for tips when ordering. The Calamari is amazing, the Chicken Carbonara is is a very simple but elevated dish, the Filet is always good and if you are there when they're having the Swordfish on special it's spectacular! The only Swordfish I've ever had that comes close was at Baci's and since they've closed I've never had anywhere else to get it. I'd definitely recommend it and if you are trying to go out with a large group there is something for everyone on the menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2018

The food was great, the staff was fast and friendly. Clean, welcoming environment, and the homemade Gelato is to die for! Whether its a lunch date or a dinner date or work party this place has it all!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank montano92677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Had our pre Valentines Day dinner tonight at Toscano in Sandy Utah. This was our first visit so we were open minded and hoping to find a replacement for our favorite Italian restaurant that went out of business years ago. Most Italian restaurants in Utah are not that great, somewhat pretentious, and often not authentic. Toscano was a nice surprise.

First, the ambiance. I liked that the lights were dim, and there was a nice, contemporary, if not Turin atmosphere. There was an air of Armani in the styling. The down side, TV's everywhere and the music was American contemporary mix. Plus, the bar was in the same room as the dining area, which diminished the sense of fine dining. The tables were set with woven place mats and a single votive. Minimalist and again, contemporary, and for me, a bit of a miss. A little more attention to the customer's table experience would take the dining room to the next level.

Second, the wait staff is friendly and hard working. I liked the clean look of their uniforms. We asked some very specific questions about the way things are made, some of the ingredients, and for recommendations. Matt, our waiter, was very knowledgeable and helpful. He was happy to offer suggestions.

Third, the food. Delicious, and nicely presented. I was less than impressed with the Tomato Basil soup. It was far too thick, heavy with tomato, more like a pasta sauce than a soup. It could use more cream, and basil to counter balance the acidity of the tomato and make a smoother consistency. The calamari was amazing. Perhaps a lighter dipping sauce would be nice. The double pork chop was the star of the evening. So tender, and juicy, and the slaw was a perfect accompaniment. I would just ask for more slaw, as I found myself wanting more of it. The chicken marsala was a close second, with a sauce that was velvety and delicious. The tiramisu was out of this world. We both ordered a coffee to go with dessert. My husband's cappuccino was good but a bit cold, so that was disappointing, My latte was also on the cold side. Perhaps they used cold milk to prepare them, but, for whatever reason, this needs immediate attention, as every Italian knows that coffee finishes a meal, and is so important to the finishing touch.

Last, but not least, the menus need attention. The menus given to us tonight were single double sided laminated. Even if laminating is needed to preserve the menus from damage or staining, it's rather tacky to use plain laminated sheets. Mine had either a hole punch or a melted spot on one edge. Please, make your menu match your ambiance. Put them in nice menu folders.

Overall, Toscano, being an hour drive from where we live, is marginally worth coming back for a second try. If we lived closer we would be willing to see how it grows and develops. There is so much promise, and with a lack of upper quality dining choices in this area, I am hoping to give them another try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank teresaa40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy F, Owner at Toscano, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you so much for you review! We will be evaluating some of the things you noticed! We hope you do make it back again! Happy Valentines Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Traveling with food allergies always makes dining an adventure and we were so pleasantly surprised to find this delicious Italian restaurant. Our server Mandie and the kitchen were very accommodating. It will be our go to when we are in the IKEA neighborhood

Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy F, Owner at Toscano, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you Katie! I too know how hard it is to dine with allergies! Our Chefs take it very seriously! We cant wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

From the beet salad starter to the gelato for dessert, Mandie’s recommendations did not miss a beat. Great environment for an enjoyably night out.

Thank bgraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy F, Owner at Toscano, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you for coming in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toscano also viewed

 
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 
Draper, Wasatch Range
Draper, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Toscano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing