We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Knowing now what this place is like I would have drove straight through to where we were going. The deadbolt had been removed from the door and the only thing left was the locking knob that did not work all the time. Slept with our luggage jammed up against the door.
The room was big enough and clean with a decent bathroom but the rest had seen better days in terms of worn out. There were no extra pillows in the room and we only discovered this after the office was closed for the night. Did not have a good sleep on that bed.
The heater/fan was noisy and had to turn it off.
Staff had a take it or leave it attitude at the desk. The only saving grace was it was cheap.
First thing next moring we were on the road again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 306 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

I guess this is the best you can get in the landscape around it. You have to drive far to Capitol Reef National Park to get lodging and if you add the price factor, then this motel in Hanksville is an excellent choice. What was impressive was the cleanliness and the size of the room. The staff appeared a bit aloof, but they were descent enough to charge us zero for a day when the room service was not able to come. As for Hanksville, there is not much to do there except if you use it as a base to get to Bullfrog Bay on Lake Powell, where lodging is more expensive, and then continue your drive to the Capitol Reef National Park

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheGlacierist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We came across this motel by chance, it was an excellent find, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanpan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Rooms were clean and the property was nice. The service was lacking. When we checked in at the desk, the staff was not very friendly or welcoming. They offer a free continental breakfast at the restaurant next door...which is located in a gas station, need I say more. There is nothing to do in Hanksville and it is not very scenic. Drive the extra half hour to stay in Torrey, UT where the people are friendlier, the accommodations nicer, and the views stunning. I would not stay here again as the unfriendly service turned me off right away.

Room Tip: The cabins are better than the motel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 012512Name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Long story short. A trustworthy and helpful host. Large and clean rooms. Clean and well maintained. Nothing to complain about. Opened for business even though there are only two rooms occupied. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank yyyzzz_utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whispering Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Motel

Address: 90 So. Highway 95, PO Box 158, Hanksville, UT 84734
Region: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price Range: $84 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hanksville motel gives you a great central location in the grand circle of southern Utah's national parks; this is why Whispering Sands Motel is premium Hanksville lodging. Enjoy the Satellite TV, wireless internet, air conditioning, and clean/comfy rooms that do include Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Whispering Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Sands Hotel Hanksville
Whispering Sands Hanksville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing