We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jarocha Chimichanga”
Review of La Costa

La Costa
Ranked #23 of 252 Restaurants in Sandy
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Came to La Costa on a recommendation from a friend. First you get complimentary chips salsa and refried beans. Now these beans had great consistency and were not thick enough to break the chips. Salsa was great tasting, not spicy, and even had almost a sweet taste to it. My wife had the combo which consisted of 2 cheese enchiladas and a crisp beef taco. I had the Jarocha Chimichanga which is a crab meat and shrimp chimichanga. This is an acquired taste which I found unique. This is probably something for the more adventurous foodie and if your game, go for it. Both our meals came with rice and refried beans. Karin was our server and was very friendly and offered lots of suggestions (The Jarocha was a Karin recommendation). Well worth a stop. Lastly, this is a military friendly restaurant and offered a military discount with identification.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank WWF4G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017

My family loves to eat here for a group meal. Warm chips and salsa and refried beans are provided to the table. The menu selection has enough for everyone to be happy. The food is good. The service is great. The bar makes a good margarita too.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

This is our favorite when it comes to mild Mexican food. Great chips and salsa with a very good warm refried bean dip. My favorite Margarita around. Quick service. Nice Chili Relleno.. so many shrimp dishes, great prices. We are know to e here weekly. The carne Asada is excellent....

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OldFoodie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

We had a Birthday dinner here for an adult friend. The atmosphere is festive and all of your expected Mexican dishes are available, hot and usually gooey with cheese. The prices are what you would expect and the alcohol is pricey as usual. I had a spicy shrimp dish that was quite good. This place is big, but located in a strip mall, so parking gets pretty crowded on weekends. The location is about 3 miles from a freeway. I will eat here again.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Mudsharkrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Anyone looking for a fix of Mexican food will be pleased with La Costa. The service is excellent. The food is good. All meals start, as with most Mexican restaurants, with a bowl of tortilla chips and salsa. The twist here is they are also served with a small bowl of refried beans. This appetizer allow for many creative options while deciding upon an entree. I have never had a bad meal at this restaurant and their service is very efficient. Plan on a bit of a wait on Friday and Saturday evenings if you arrive after 5:45 p.m.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 409shanei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Costa also viewed

 
South Jordan, Wasatch Range
Cottonwood Heights, UT
 

Been to La Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing