We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley wonderful, warm, and cozy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fan House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 October 2012

What a wondeful stay we had at the Fan House with Sara! It was just what we wanted in a Vermont stay and more. It's truly one of the best B&B stays we have ever had.

We were warmly greeted when driving up by Sara. She welcomed us to the Fan House showed us the house. A nice fire was already going in the sitting room and it was such a comfortable first impression. Our room was great, was spotlessly clean and finished with the highest quality bed linens, toiletries and bath robes. It was such a comforable bed and we slept great.

The breakfast was absolutley wonderful. The first morning we had great homemade blueberry pancakes and second day a great cheese souflee. Fresh greek yougart and homemade stewed plums with granola. Sara also gave everybody a really nice talk about the history of the area/Vermont, that was very informative and a good start to the day. She really treated us as a very special guest.

What we really liked was we felt like were we staying with family. The sitting room with the fireplace was ours freely to enjoy, and the fire made it very comfortable and cozy. And to top it off, a nice piece of pie and cup of coffee was waiting for us after our day out. Sara also made dinner reservations for us and the better places in the area, so it was a complete special stay.

We will absolutely return next year. It was just perfect for our Vermont stay on our trip and the location has very easy access to just about everywhere. I highly recommend the Fan House

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKD97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

The web photos really do not do The Fan House justice; it has a Tuscan type of ambiance that made the whole atmosphere of being in Vermont that much more perfect. It is BEAUTIFULLY and generously appointed and decorated. We stayed in the Fireplace Room and it is thrilling to be there; beautiful, rich eclectic decor, fantastic, plush linens, pillows, towels (and products!). The public area of the house has a warm, cozy, old inn feel made perfect by the crackling fire. The breakfasts reflect Sara's amazing aesthetic: generous, delicious and relaxed. We preferred her style to the very formal type of dining that some B&Bs offer. My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying twice, now, and we look forward to returning again soon! Oh-- did we mention the Tomato Soup up the road at Max's Tavern?!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Sara made us feel very at home from the moment we arrived. We had a large room with a comfortable bed. She cooked delicious breakfasts both mornings we were there, with several options to choose from. Her recommendations of places to see while we were there with helpful and the B&B is in a great location as far as being able to take short drives to many of the places we wanted to see while in the area. I would defintely recommend the Fan House to anyone looking to stay in the Barnard/Woodstock area. Sara will make you feel welcome!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My wife and I spent our 40th anniversary here. Sara helped me organize surprise excursions and all meals. Her suggestions were excellent. The inn itself is beautiful and the breakfasts are copious and great. Sara was flexible around our early-to-rise schedule. All in all, this was a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Our room did not have wi-fi, and we had to go into the dining room for this purpose. Please enquire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I stayed at the Fan House Inn with my boyfriend for a weekend in August. It was our halfway point between Boston and Burlington where we were headed for a conference. We had the Fireplace Suite which is a lovely room with ensuite bathroom and the Bulgari toiletries were a welcome touch! Sara is a kind, attentive and relaxed hostess who welcomes you into her home as if you are an old friend. Barnard itself is a great little place to stay with its beautiful lake and fully stocked general store and within easy reach of places like Woodstock and Quechee. Dinner at Max’s Tavern at the Barnard Inn is a must! If I’m ever in Vermont again, I’ll definitely stay at the Fan House.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Fireplace Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollyBird04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
14.6 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
454 reviews
0.7 km away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#1 of 4 in Barnard
452 reviews
2.6 km away
Twin Farms
Twin Farms
#2 of 4 in Barnard
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fan House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fan House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6297 Vt-12, Barnard, VT 05031
Region: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range: $215 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, European style rooms and suites. Exquisite fine decorating, exceptionally comfortable beds with 300+ thread count linens & down comforters. Located just minutes from Quechee & Woodstock Vermont. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing