We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
186
20
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
20
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jane austen wedding cake elopement package homemade cookies wealth of knowledge extensive library northern vermont like stepping back in time fellow guests clawfoot tub lovely home regency period a lovely stay dietary restrictions breakfast each morning two night stay guest rooms
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Suzanne took care of all the details of our elopement weekend this past December. The only stress we had was getting to the Town Clerk's office before closing on Friday to pickup the marriage certificate, as we were coming from 5 hrs away. After that it was time to relax. We stayed in the very comfortable and warm Governor's room which cost extra but was well worth it. We enjoyed the gas fireplace, the stack of classical cd's with mini cd player, the whirlpool tub, terry bathrobes and down comforter. I especially loved using the nice quality full size lavender bath products and was happy to know that the inn encourages recycling and less waste. There was also a nice view of the back lawn, woods and mountains from our windows.

The breakfast each morning was top notch and prepared in courses. Also included in the elopement package was dinner, a bottle of champagne, a nice flower bouquet and a handmade cake! This made the weekend feel very special with all the details taken care of. I really had to do very little planning once we were there and felt very relaxed.

The Governor's House is a special place that brings you back to an earlier time when life felt more simple without technology, although we had very good wi fi service. The furnishings throughout are elegant and clean and there are all kinds of quiet areas to read and relax.

The little village of Hyde Park is charming and the inn is situated close to the Lamoille County trails. I was looking forward to snow cover and to try some snowshoeing but we were just as happy to get some outdoor exercise and fresh air on the trails each day. It was a short 3 day weekend getaway from Friday thru Sunday but we were very happy with our stay at the Governor's House and will look forward to our future stay on our anniversary.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LocalYoke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here since it was super close to Ottawa, Canada. It was a fantastic choice since Suzanne was probably the most hospitable BNB host we’ve ever had.

The room was great - stayed in the Strawberry Room. If you’re hesitant about the shared washroom, don’t be - the guests next door we’re on different schedules which made life easy.

Suzanne has a huge book collection, and DVD collection with the latest movies (rivalling Netflix). Wifi was a little spotty in our room, but never had a real use for it.

The best part: there were goodies everywhere; Suzanne would put jars of chocolates and cookies along the way to the rooms which was a super sweet touch to an already great house. Breakfast was great - it was light yet filling, and all the muffins you can eat.

Location was great. Drive was close to Stowe and the I-89.

Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tanvir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

You step back into early 1900's when entering this elegantly restored home. The workmanship and attention to detail is amazing. It's like stepping back in time, and a joy to explore the extensive library. All the rooms are very comfortable. Suzanna was very welcoming and an excellent host. Her breakfasts were very good and we can't say enough about she breakfast rolls, they were fantastic. We had a very enjoyable two night stay and would recommend it to anyone as a nice getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tnedco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The stay was a pleasant surprise. The building is well kept and I almost felt like we were invited back in time to meet Mr. Pierce. We were greeted by Suzanne, who maintains the mansion. She informed us of the basic Inn rules were and what the breakfast choices were. Our room was quaint, and reminded me of a past time, with the exception of course of having a modern bathroom. While there was WiFi, TV and even a DVD library available, I didn't feel compelled to use them. Instead, it was much more inviting to just settle down, relax and read a nice book. The next morning, Suzanne prepared a very nice dining experience. We ate at the main dining table, outfitted with nice dishes and silverware and shared conversation with two other guests of the inn. We then resumed our vacation, refreshed in both food and conversation. Susanne is a superb innkeeper who clearly has an eye for detail and authenticity.

Room Tip: I'm sure the Innkeeper keeps all rooms in very nice shape.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We had a wonderful 2 night stay. It was the beginning of the leaves changing and just beautiful weather. Suzanne was very welcoming and gracious.
She was very helpful and gave perfect driving directions for us as we explored Stowe, Smuggler's Notch and Jeffersonville! A fabulous experience. The attention to detail in the house shows a lot of effort and concern for accuracy in the restoration and maintenance of the home.
We enjoyed our "Pink" Room very much. It was so clean as was the entire house. The claw foot tub was spacious and very enjoyable, shower attachment is a great touch. Breakfast was filling and delicious.
I wished we could have come during a Jane Austen weekend maybe next time!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews