We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem for a stay in this area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Governor's House in Hyde Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We couldn't have been happier from the moment we saw the place to the time we left with our muffins that we couldn't finish for breakfast.
The proprietor could not have done enough and the charm of the place was beyond our high expectations.
Our only regret was we couldn't stay longer and we missed the days that afternoon tea was available (because the experience of breakfast would certainly have encouraged us to partake).

Room Tip: All rooms are different but excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2018

Suzanne took care of all the details of our elopement weekend this past December. The only stress we had was getting to the Town Clerk's office before closing on Friday to pickup the marriage certificate, as we were coming from 5 hrs away. After that it was time to relax. We stayed in the very comfortable and warm Governor's room which cost extra but was well worth it. We enjoyed the gas fireplace, the stack of classical cd's with mini cd player, the whirlpool tub, terry bathrobes and down comforter. I especially loved using the nice quality full size lavender bath products and was happy to know that the inn encourages recycling and less waste. There was also a nice view of the back lawn, woods and mountains from our windows.

The breakfast each morning was top notch and prepared in courses. Also included in the elopement package was dinner, a bottle of champagne, a nice flower bouquet and a handmade cake! This made the weekend feel very special with all the details taken care of. I really had to do very little planning once we were there and felt very relaxed.

The Governor's House is a special place that brings you back to an earlier time when life felt more simple without technology, although we had very good wi fi service. The furnishings throughout are elegant and clean and there are all kinds of quiet areas to read and relax.

The little village of Hyde Park is charming and the inn is situated close to the Lamoille County trails. I was looking forward to snow cover and to try some snowshoeing but we were just as happy to get some outdoor exercise and fresh air on the trails each day. It was a short 3 day weekend getaway from Friday thru Sunday but we were very happy with our stay at the Governor's House and will look forward to our future stay on our anniversary.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LocalYoke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here since it was super close to Ottawa, Canada. It was a fantastic choice since Suzanne was probably the most hospitable BNB host we’ve ever had.

The room was great - stayed in the Strawberry Room. If you’re hesitant about the shared washroom, don’t be - the guests next door we’re on different schedules which made life easy.

Suzanne has a huge book collection, and DVD collection with the latest movies (rivalling Netflix). Wifi was a little spotty in our room, but never had a real use for it.

The best part: there were goodies everywhere; Suzanne would put jars of chocolates and cookies along the way to the rooms which was a super sweet touch to an already great house. Breakfast was great - it was light yet filling, and all the muffins you can eat.

Location was great. Drive was close to Stowe and the I-89.

Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tanvir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

You step back into early 1900's when entering this elegantly restored home. The workmanship and attention to detail is amazing. It's like stepping back in time, and a joy to explore the extensive library. All the rooms are very comfortable. Suzanna was very welcoming and an excellent host. Her breakfasts were very good and we can't say enough about she breakfast rolls, they were fantastic. We had a very enjoyable two night stay and would recommend it to anyone as a nice getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tnedco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The stay was a pleasant surprise. The building is well kept and I almost felt like we were invited back in time to meet Mr. Pierce. We were greeted by Suzanne, who maintains the mansion. She informed us of the basic Inn rules were and what the breakfast choices were. Our room was quaint, and reminded me of a past time, with the exception of course of having a modern bathroom. While there was WiFi, TV and even a DVD library available, I didn't feel compelled to use them. Instead, it was much more inviting to just settle down, relax and read a nice book. The next morning, Suzanne prepared a very nice dining experience. We ate at the main dining table, outfitted with nice dishes and silverware and shared conversation with two other guests of the inn. We then resumed our vacation, refreshed in both food and conversation. Susanne is a superb innkeeper who clearly has an eye for detail and authenticity.

Room Tip: I'm sure the Innkeeper keeps all rooms in very nice shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
37.9 km away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
17.4 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,409 reviews
14.7 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Fitch Hill Inn
Fitch Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Hyde Park
183 reviews
14.7 km away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
984 reviews
27.1 km away
Sinclair Inn B & B
Sinclair Inn B & B
#1 of 3 in Jericho
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's House in Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's House in Hyde Park

Address: 100 Main St., Pob 300, Hyde Park, VT 05655
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range: S$193 - S$309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Governor's House in Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Governor's House in Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing