We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Restaurant That Walks-the-Walk”

Rabbit Hill Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Description: Near St. Johnsbury. One of the finest dining options in Vermont. Outstanding & affordable! This Four Diamond rated restaurant is comfortable & casual - yet very romantic & classy. Menus present exciting, creative cuisine - all highly seasonal & locally farm sourced. Combine all this with our signature outstanding service & relaxed quiet atmosphere, makes for a perfect night. Small plates start at $8, Large plates start at $19. Vegetarian & Gluten free options always available. Everything is made in-house, every day. Rabbit Hill Inn is an ideal choice for a romantic evening or a casual weeknight dinner. Come early to enjoy drinks in Pub with full bar, local craft beers, and fine, yet approachable wine list. Due to the intimate size of the Restaurant, reservations are required.
Restaurant details
Description: Near St. Johnsbury. One of the finest dining options in Vermont. Outstanding & affordable! This Four Diamond rated restaurant is comfortable & casual - yet very romantic & classy. Menus present exciting, creative cuisine - all highly seasonal & locally farm sourced. Combine all this with our signature outstanding service & relaxed quiet atmosphere, makes for a perfect night. Small plates start at $8, Large plates start at $19. Vegetarian & Gluten free options always available. Everything is made in-house, every day. Rabbit Hill Inn is an ideal choice for a romantic evening or a casual weeknight dinner. Come early to enjoy drinks in Pub with full bar, local craft beers, and fine, yet approachable wine list. Due to the intimate size of the Restaurant, reservations are required.
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Diners, at least here in Vermont, have gotten used to restaurants with stratospheric prices, decent but uninspired food, and good but not exceptional service. Then there is The Rabbit Hill Inn. Yes it does have stratospheric prices, but it backs them up with interesting and innovative cuisine, impeccable service, and attention to detail. We have been wanting to dine here for some time. The arrival of former neighbors, returning for a visit, was the perfect occasion. Our friends arrived first and were shown into a nice common room and served a cocktail from a small bar. When we arrived we joined them for a drink. When we went into the dinning room, the host carried the ladies drinks for them. This set the stage for the kind of service we experienced throughout dinner. We each had a starter, main course, and dessert. Everyone raved about their meals. Even if you don't usually eat dessert, try one. You will be glad that you did. Not cheap.Three course dinner for four, with a cocktail and an inexpensive bottle of wine, was $300 plus tip. Try this for a special occasion, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

This was a great experience as always. It keeps getting better and better over the past 25 years that I have come here. We had the mussels this time and they were terrific. Service is exceptional and the presentation is a delightful work of art.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Busteron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We ate there two nights and I loved my meal so much I had it both nights. My husband was just as pleased with his choices.

Thank RI-Traveler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMLM11, Owner at Rabbit Hill Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you - thank you! So glad that you enjoyed your dining experience so much, you did it twice. We hope you find your back again & again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We stayed at the inn and dined there each evening. My daughter is vegan. I called ahead to let the inn know. The chef provided her with meals that were specially prepared for her. We have been to a number of high end vegan and regular restaurants. This was the best! A range of salads, tasty soups, entrees and desserts were offered. Everything from vegan to seafood to meat selections were of excellent quality with beautiful presentation. Servers were very attentive to our needs and let us know that they wanted us to be happy with our meal.

Thank TerryDodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMLM11, Owner at Rabbit Hill Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Many thanks for your terrific review! Our chef team & service crew are thrilled that you found the Rabbit Hill Inn dining experience to be truly outstanding. And that your daughter, who is vegan was equally thrilled. Upon making reservations, we always ask about dietary restrictions, food allergies, etc. This allows our chef team to creatively prepare special offerings and assure that our wonderful & memorable dining is experienced by all. Thank you again! We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is outstanding! From the hostess to the waitress to the chef, they got it right! The meal is prepared with incredible presentation and the taste is out of this world. We ate two nights (8/11 and 8/12) at the appetizers, main course and desserts were excellent. I had pork loin that tasted better than any pork look I have ever eaten. The combinations made my taste buds dance! Great job to the chef and to all the staff! You couldn't do any better. Thank you - thank you!

Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMLM11, Owner at Rabbit Hill Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dancing taste buds!!! We love it!! Thank you so very much for choosing to dine with us both evenings of your recent stay. Your glowing review means the world to us all (especially our incredible chef team & service staff). We are thrilled to hear that dining experience at Rabbit Hill Inn was outstanding & memorable. Hopefully, we'll have the pleasure of hosting you again for more deliciousness. Thank you - thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rabbit Hill Inn Restaurant also viewed

Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
Littleton, White Mountains
 
Littleton, White Mountains
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
 
Lyndonville, Northeast Kingdom
Saint Johnsbury, Northeast Kingdom
 

Been to Rabbit Hill Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing