We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, typical Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Middlebury
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut Yankee
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice, typical Courtyard”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here for one night this past weekend. Location is very accessible and less than a mile to the cute Middlebury downtown. Gas station and shopping within walking distance, but a car is helpful if you want to experience the quaint downtown strip.

The hotel was clean and comfortable, and the rooms were good-sized and recently updated. Decor is your typical Marriott Courtyard layout, with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. The special requests listed on my Rewards account (extra towels and pillows) were fulfilled--always a nice touch.

Check-in was quick and courteous, and the receptionist took the time to point out amenities (gym, pool, breakfast). Breakfast was not complementary (and we hit the bakery in town for breakfast, so I can't comment on it). Free coffee was available in the lobby.

Overall, we had a nice stay here. It's a really charming part of Vermont, with skiing (Middlebury Snow Bowl, Sugarbush) fairly close by. Middlebury is a nice town with some good restaurants and shops, so definitely take the time to check it out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    98
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
106
51
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My family and I just stayed at this Courtyard while skiing at nearby Middlebury Snow Bowl. The hotel is well kept and clean. The hotel, in fact, is currently undergoing a renovation which did not impact our stay in the least.

Unfortunately, we were advised by hotel management that Marriott corporation no longer allows Courtyards to offer complementary breakfasts to Marriott Gold Card members with an overnight stay. This is a change of which we were not aware, but it was explained as a corporate decision and not the choice of the Courtyard Middlebury.

The hotel is somewhat chintzy in its distrubution of shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion with only one small personal size of each provided for a room housing four guests. Our call to the front desk for additional supplies yielded prompt and courteous delivery...of one more small shampoo and one more small conditioner.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brume74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Well, after reading the other reviews...yes it is a clean place to stay. And the lobby drinks and computers are a convenience. It is close to Middlebury College.
Negatives-the rate is a MOVING TARGET! They say 1 thing and your bill reflects another. Sometimes we were given the AAA rate, sometimes the gov rate and sometimes the "standard" rate. We understand that weekends are different but I wish I had kept the receipts as the rate was never consistent.
The final straw (after staying here MANY times over 6 years) was that they refused to honor the government rate because I did not have the Gov ID with me. My very specific business card was not adequate and I even said, "Look me up online and it's obvious that I am a federal gov employee. Disappointing...Very unreasonable! Did the manager think we were lying? Yes it was the male manager, not one of the perky younger ladies. We checked out a day early and found another place to stay.
In addition, we are PLATINUM Marriott members and that did not make a difference either. As Platinum members this has NEVER happened at another Marriott or a Hilton which we are the highest level as well.
Other negatives-no refrigerator or microwave in the standard rooms, and there is a fee for breakfast. That is typical for Courtyards, though.
Conclusion-try another Inn or B & B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robean226, Director of Sales at Courtyard Middlebury, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
We do require identification for certain rates to be available. We do this at the request of the discount provider, AAA or AARP are examples. They both provide their members identification cards. Requiring that they be presented allows us to protect the value and integrity of the program for the program provider and the program participant. Additionally, we require identification for Government rates, for the very same reasons. We also require that the trip be for actual government business purposes. These policies are clearly noted on our website and stated during direct phone reservations. The eligibility for a rate is verified at check-in. If the proper identification is not presented, the rate is no longer applicable.
We make every effort to ensure that all rates and the restrictions that apply to those rates are clearly explained. It is in our best interest and that of our discount partners to do so. If a rate is booked and identification provided to show eligibility, we honor the rate, always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed 3 nights (walk-in) at $140 Big room, good beds, nice people, quiet location. Breakfast buffet only $10. Not far to good restaurants

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenaroundLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were rescued by this hotel after escaping one of the worst places I've ever stayed! I booked through a chain website via the phone. Even though I was booked at a lower rate under the "rewards member rate", the hotel gave me the lower rate anyway. After we told the ladies at the front desk our horror story from the night before, they assured us they would do everything to make us comfortable. A few minutes after getting into our room, the front desk called just to make sure everything was to our liking. Whenever they saw us in the lobby, the asked if we slept okay and if there was anything they could do to make our stay better. The room was very clean, beds comfortable, no noise except a low hum outside our room outside (which was actually kind of soothing!). Did not partake of the breakfast for purchase, but did enjoy the free coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby. Would stay again for sure! Thanks for the rescue Courtyard!

Room Tip: The double queen rooms are spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursetraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.6 km away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
559 reviews
27.3 km away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
2.0 km away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
187 reviews
1.7 km away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
28 reviews
27.2 km away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Middlebury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Middlebury

Property: Courtyard Middlebury
Address: 309 Court St, US Route 7/Historic Ethan Allen Highway, Middlebury, VT 05753-8985
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price range (per night): $205 - $376
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Middlebury 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Middlebury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Middlebury Hotel Middlebury
Middlebury Marriott
Middlebury Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing