We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Middlebury
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Middlebury Inn(Middlebury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basin Harbor(Vergennes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Acres Motel(Ticonderoga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
84
107
32
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
107
32
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desknice stayfitness centerconvenient locationthird floorwould definitely stay here againsmall townchain hotelin townsmall refrigeratorgreat place to staystayed one nightnew englandbistromarriottlobbycollege
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My family and I just stayed at this Courtyard while skiing at nearby Middlebury Snow Bowl. The hotel is well kept and clean. The hotel, in fact, is currently undergoing a renovation which did not impact our stay in the least.

Unfortunately, we were advised by hotel management that Marriott corporation no longer allows Courtyards to offer complementary breakfasts to Marriott Gold Card members with an overnight stay. This is a change of which we were not aware, but it was explained as a corporate decision and not the choice of the Courtyard Middlebury.

The hotel is somewhat chintzy in its distrubution of shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion with only one small personal size of each provided for a room housing four guests. Our call to the front desk for additional supplies yielded prompt and courteous delivery...of one more small shampoo and one more small conditioner.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brume74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Well, after reading the other reviews...yes it is a clean place to stay. And the lobby drinks and computers are a convenience. It is close to Middlebury College.
Negatives-the rate is a MOVING TARGET! They say 1 thing and your bill reflects another. Sometimes we were given the AAA rate, sometimes the gov rate and sometimes the "standard" rate. We understand that weekends are different but I wish I had kept the receipts as the rate was never consistent.
The final straw (after staying here MANY times over 6 years) was that they refused to honor the government rate because I did not have the Gov ID with me. My very specific business card was not adequate and I even said, "Look me up online and it's obvious that I am a federal gov employee. Disappointing...Very unreasonable! Did the manager think we were lying? Yes it was the male manager, not one of the perky younger ladies. We checked out a day early and found another place to stay.
In addition, we are PLATINUM Marriott members and that did not make a difference either. As Platinum members this has NEVER happened at another Marriott or a Hilton which we are the highest level as well.
Other negatives-no refrigerator or microwave in the standard rooms, and there is a fee for breakfast. That is typical for Courtyards, though.
Conclusion-try another Inn or B & B.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robean226, Director of Sales at Courtyard Middlebury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

We do require identification for certain rates to be available. We do this at the request of the discount provider, AAA or AARP are examples. They both provide their members identification cards. Requiring that they be presented allows us to protect the value and integrity of the program for the program provider and the program participant. Additionally, we require identification for Government rates, for the very same reasons. We also require that the trip be for actual government business purposes. These policies are clearly noted on our website and stated during direct phone reservations. The eligibility for a rate is verified at check-in. If the proper identification is not presented, the rate is no longer applicable.
We make every effort to ensure that all rates and the restrictions that apply to those rates are clearly explained. It is in our best interest and that of our discount partners to do so. If a rate is booked and identification provided to show eligibility, we honor the rate, always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed 3 nights (walk-in) at $140 Big room, good beds, nice people, quiet location. Breakfast buffet only $10. Not far to good restaurants

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beenaroundLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were rescued by this hotel after escaping one of the worst places I've ever stayed! I booked through a chain website via the phone. Even though I was booked at a lower rate under the "rewards member rate", the hotel gave me the lower rate anyway. After we told the ladies at the front desk our horror story from the night before, they assured us they would do everything to make us comfortable. A few minutes after getting into our room, the front desk called just to make sure everything was to our liking. Whenever they saw us in the lobby, the asked if we slept okay and if there was anything they could do to make our stay better. The room was very clean, beds comfortable, no noise except a low hum outside our room outside (which was actually kind of soothing!). Did not partake of the breakfast for purchase, but did enjoy the free coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby. Would stay again for sure! Thanks for the rescue Courtyard!

Room Tip: The double queen rooms are spacious!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursetraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Very nice facility convenient to Middlebury College. Staff is very friendly and responsive to all needs

Room Tip: Rooms in rear of facility are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews