We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cocktails and Service”
Review of Guild Tavern

Guild Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Guild Tavern is a farm-to-table wood fired grill featuring local beef grilled over Vermont hardwood. The menu offers classic steakhouse entrees, wood fired mixed grills, seafood and vegetarian options, and an innovative cocktail program. More casual fare, such as local burgers, entree salads, and sandwiches are available for dining out any night of the week. Join us for your next celebration--our private dining room is great for bringing family & friends together.
Reviewed 6 November 2018

What I will remember most about the Guild Tavern is their superior cocktails and service.
We happen to hit it on a reduced price happy hour evening. The price may have been reduced but not the quality of the cocktails or the appetizers. I may have had the best Old Fashion ever. Seating is crowded so arrive early and leave happy!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank calflyer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2018

We were no way close to finishing our appetizers before the entrees arrived. Timing was really poor. Food was OK, but nothing special at all. Not a great value for the money.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob05401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

I reviewed this place a few years ago, but I believe an update is in order. My wife and I now come here almost once a week because we like it so much (but we do not choose any of their more expensive entres). Typically we will sit at the bar, share three or four appetizers and enjoy the talents of Emi the mixologist. They always have some great specials to try and the $2 oysters on Thursday is a winner. Thursday are usually quieter and you really do not need reservations to sit at the bar. Also, the freshly baked bread is a must. They do an amazing job with respect to making drinks. You really have to sit at the bar to see the many options and the care they take in crafting the many drinks they offer. There is almost always a custom drink "special" and they have a small but well-curated selection of local and regional draft beers. The staff is great and be sure to get Emi to make you one of her terrific cocktails.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PogoSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We went for an event and were excited that we were being hosted at Guild. Servers reached over us to pour water and did not serve entire tables at once or with any coordination as to who was being served. Servers also didn't ask how we wanted our steaks cooked when we ordered them which we found concerning for a steakhouse. When food was plated and served, some arrived very well done with no pink and others arrived medium or medium rare.

The warm bread at the beginning of the meal with soft butter was enjoyable because it is always nice to have butter thats easy to spread. The mashed potatoes were ok but nothing about them stood out as special. The cooked onions on the side tasted as they may have been red onions, which we have typically only had served raw over burgers or chopped and served cold/room temperature over chili, but they weren't as appetizing as really caramelized onions we have had with steak at other places. The "sauce" was thin and looked to be coating the onions but the potatoes and steak had to stand on their own, and with very little seasoning, they just weren't well cooked. We've made far better steaks at home with tri tip from Hannaford Or Costco so to say we were disappointed is an understatement. We really thought the Guild would blow our socks off and make us want to return again and again.

Though the chocolate cake at the end wasn't to this writer's taste it was very flavorful. However, it was billed as chocolate stout cake and our entire table agreed that we could not taste any hint of stout flavoring in the cake. It was a nice rich chocolate cake with whipped cream on the side but no garnish, which we frankly found surprising for an upscale steakhouse.

Some of my friends who have gone said the bar is the best part of the Guild. It was clean, quiet, and not crowded on a weekday night. It is certainly a quieter more romantic experience than Longhorn, Outback, or Texas Roadhouse, the other steakhouses we have visited outside of Burlington in surrounding communities. If we were to go back it would be to meet people for drinks and sit at the bar and try cocktails and maybe an appetizer.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrnMtnGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Wood grilled steaks and great cocktails! The menu has multiple options beyond steaks and the atmosphere is good, if not a little loud at times.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mimaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guild Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Guild Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing