We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience to be Repeated”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellow Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Mike and Sandra are outstanding hosts. This was testified to by the many couples we met that were repeat customers. Sandra created a different, superb breakfast each morning of our 7 day stay. She then followed that up with a different cookie treat each afternoon. They were so good; I wasn't even tempted by desert at any of the excellent dining establishments that Mike recommended.
The inn has an wonderful location overlooking the valley and Highway 100, but situated nearly a mile from the highway so there is almost no noise. The rooms were well furnished. My sensitive wife was even able to enjoy a good nights sleep on the bed in the Nicole room. The room and attached bath were spotless.
The inn has a wonderful front porch with rocking chairs situated perfectly for us to watch the sunrise as well as the rise of the Harvest Moon this year. They also have a patio off the breakfast room that overlooks a pasture next door that is wonderful for afternoon tea and cookies or a summer breakfast.
A highlight of the day was the evening in the common room. We would share a glass of wine and discuss our days experiences and plans for the next day. Each evening Mike would drop by to make sure everyone was well taken care of and answer any questions. He would usually stick around for a few minutes and join the general conversation.
Waitsfield is well situated for a base camp with most of Vermont within a couple hours drive. We were able to visit attractions on all four edges of the state on our daytrips. It has a village atmosphere but delivers several outstanding dining options.

Room Tip: For a view of the valley and sunrise pick either the Jacqueline or Catherine rooms on the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Mike was very helpful in finding all the things to see in the area and there were plenty. The waterfalls and foliage was amazing. This B&B was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was different and pretty but not my kind of breakfast. The commode was back in a very small space. A large person would have difficulty. The shower is just a little stall. You can turn around but that is it. You can't take a shower without washing your hair. I loved the atmosphere of the B&B talking to the other guests. All in all, it was a pleasurable visit. I would recommend it.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My husband and I stayed 4 nights the first week in October. This was our second visit. Mike and Sandra's hospitality continues to be second to none. Breakfasts were delicious! Different homemade cookies everyday. Yummy! Rooms are beautiful. The property is serene and relaxing. This is a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Husband and I just returned from a quick getaway to Vermont. We stayed at the Yellow Farmhouse for two relaxing nights. Despite having a full house, our room was extremely quiet and peaceful. Everything is immaculate and the hosts are wonderful people who went above and beyond for us. The location is excellent, just off Rt100 so easy to get places yet off the beaten path with an astonishing view of the mountains. We would definitely like to return.

Room Tip: Jacqueline room has a nice view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyTraveler1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights for our 10th anniversary. Mike and Sandra are caring, attentive hosts. The breakfasts are wonderful, and the rooms are clean, modern, and comfortable. I plan to return again and again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
3.5 km away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
326 reviews
8 km away
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
4 km away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
2.2 km away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#8 of 15 in Waitsfield
212 reviews
9.6 km away
West Hill House B&B
West Hill House B&B
#1 of 7 in Warren
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Farmhouse Inn

Address: 550 Old County Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-6205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: $169 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic Vermont farmhouse, just minutes from Mad River Glen and Sugarbush Resort and Golf Club and all Mad River Valley wedding venues. Luxuriate in our 8 spacious guestrooms, all with elegant private baths and Jacuzzis, some with gas woodstoves. Indulge in our sumptuous breakfasts before experiencing local skiing, hiking, biking, kayaking, horseback riding, antiquing or simply relaxing on our 10 acres or our porch swing. Warm fires, breathtaking views and intimate guest rooms make the Yellow Farmhouse Inn the perfect choice for your special Vermont getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing