We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cooper Hill Inn
Nearby Hotels
Kitzhof Inn(Dover)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Mount Snow(Dover)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deerhill Inn(Dover)(Great Value!)
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Bears Lodge(Dover)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gray Ghost Inn(Dover)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snow Goose Inn(Dover)(Great Value!)
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Red Mill(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viking Motel(Wilmington)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
38
11
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
11
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinteresting peopleglass of winerelaxing weekendmount snowmake you feel at homefront porchwould stay againnew englandcharleshoststvgroupon
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2014

We went in October for leaf-peeping and mountains scenery, and this Inn is just the place for that (aside from the weather which did not cooperate and gave us a steady downpour). However, when the fog cleared, we were rewarded with magnificent views in all 4 directions. Our room was facing East so we enjoyed a beautiful sunrise above autumn colored hills, nothing short of spectacular.
The Inn itself is probably the most beautiful we've ever been in. It is decorated with great style and attention to detail, and has a warm and welcoming rustic atmosphere, perfect to spend a leisure evening chatting with neighbors.
We had a suite, with extra room with bunkbeds (we didn't use them), and master room with queen bed, which was large and comfortable, with a great view towards the East. The bathroom was large and clean, stocked with very nice toiletries.
There is a common room upstairs with a large screen TV (the only one in the Inn, but didn't miss it), and another one downstairs, with a real fireplace which was quite enjoyable in a rainy foggy evening.
Charles and Lee are very hospitable and helpful, and great cooks. For the breakfast we had choice of eggs or pancakes (or french toast next day), and both were delicious! Also we could help ourselves to the fruit, muffins, granola and yogurt. We also had the Asian dinner at the Inn, and we were very glad we chose that option. Dinner was held at the common table, which gave us an opportunity to meet and talk with very interesting people, while feasting on 6 courses of home-made Asian food. Even though we had a slight mishap with the dinner reservation (apparently they didn't receive our confirmation), Lee managed to make more than enough food for everybody. It was a perfect ending for a not so perfect rainy day.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, and would love to come back.
We highly recommend it to everybody, thank us later!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights and received pleasant hospitality but I was glad we had purchased this stay as a discounted internet offer as I do not feel the published prices for this location are warranted in the amenities themselves. The breakfast was adequate but nothing memorable, there was no beverage other than water for anyone who does not drink hot beverages. The inn was clean but there were areas that needed attention such as the host of spider webs and general dirt on the porch.
We participated in all that Charles and Lee offered: the cooking class, a lecture on Asian cooking and history for 2 hours followed by a 15 minute cooking demonstration of 2 Asian dishes which we sampled; the Asian dinner meal, even with the $30 dining credit this meal ran us $75 with one glass of wine, tax and expected tip for Charles who served us. The food was delicious but I would not do it again. There was a complimentary bottle of wine included in our stay which we were clearly told we could not have with the meal but rather would need to purchase wine if we wanted it.
Our stay was not a complete disappointment as the view from the inn is spectacular. The porch, in spite of the spiders, provided a great front seat view of the mountains as well as hummingbird battles and the full moon rising. I usually took my first cup of morning coffee out there. The atmosphere was peaceful and very quiet at night. There were places to sit, play games, watch TV or just relax throughout the inn. There was plenty of hot water with good water pressure. Charles and Lee are pleasant and helpful in what to see, where to go, and where to eat.

Room Tip: Get a room on the west side of the inn. The prevailing breeze is from that side. Our room on the east side was quite warm even though the night air was 50 degrees. There was no cross ventilation with all the doors closed and having the window open made no difference.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Katydid3284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I just returned from a relaxing weekend at the Cooper Hill Inn in Dover, Vermont. The setting for this Inn is at the "top of the world!" The views are amazing!! On a clear day, you can see for over 100 miles! Sitting of the front porch and watching the hummingbirds, bees and butterflies feed in the myriad of flower gardens became a happy past-time!

Lee and Charles are the hosts and are very welcoming! We chose to stay in the "King suite." It wasn't really a suite- but a nice large room with a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. There was even a door out to the balcony.

Breakfasts are made by Charles. We tried his fried eggs, scrambled eggs- nice and fluffy!, and french toast. All were great. We could also help ourselves to coffee, fresh fruit, granola, muffins and yogurt.

I also attended Lee's "cooking class." If your looking for a cooking class with lots of hands-on and lots of recipes- this is not the case. It is more a history class of Asian foods. I generally prefer the hands-on classes, but I really enjoyed this! I learned so much about the history of Asia, the influences on the region and the varieties of foods and flavors from this varied region. At the end of the talk, she demonstrated 2 dishes- one being a typical stir-fry chicken with
tri-colored peppers, green onions and fresh ginger. Lee showed us this as she explained the technique involved. The other dish was a country beef which was marinaded for at least 2 hours and cooked in oil until all the liquid evaporated. Both were very tasty.

Saturday night, we chose to attend the Asian dinner- which is only for overnight guests. This was a 7 course Asian dinner with a variety of food with recipes originating in many different Asian countries. It was THE BEST Asian meal I have ever had! Absolutely delicious!!

I would recommend staying here if you'd like to "get away from it all"!

Room Tip: Our room had an eastern view- which was great to watch the beautiful sunrise. If you'd rather a darker room, ask for a western facing room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lfortin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Basic B&B located on a mountaintop with spectacular views. Charles and Lee make you feel at home. Breakfasts are very basic, eggs/sauage or bacon and second day French toast & sausage. Coffee, no juice, some basic fruit which was enough. The Asian dinner on Saturday night and the Asian food histroy lecture and short cooking lesson Sunday morning were also a treat. Our suite was nothing fancy, comfortable and neat with plenty of room and a fantastic view. No phones, no TV, limited cell service--things not missed as we relaxed and this is Vermont after all. The small fan we brought helped as there is no A/C but August in Vermont is beautiful with plenty of open windows and cross breeze. Minor complaint in that the jacuzzi with its high sides also used as the tub for the shower and was difficult to climb in and out of for someone with a physical disability. A grab bar would have helped, but check before booking regarding other rooms regarding HC access. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed out weekend and would return.

Room Tip: You are paying for the view. Make sure room has one of the valley toward New Hampshire.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebound72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked a weekend with an Oriental Dinner and a lesson on Oriental cooking although we did not know this facility. We found a typical Vermont Inn - not modern but charming, comfortable, and relaxing. The setting and views are very beautiful and there is much to do in the immediate area. We loved the Oriental dinner cooked by the hostess. However the high point was the lesson which first covered the history and geography of Oriental cuisine, then the techniques and ingredients usd, and finally an actual demonstrations of various dishes.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews