We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Inn at Weston(Weston)
US$199
US$189
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Inn(Londonderry)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Magic View Motel(Londonderry)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snowdon Chalet(Londonderry)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Motel in the Meadow(Chester)(Great Value!)
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timber Inn Motel(Ludlow)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort(Cavendish)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
74
26
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
26
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinteresting guestsother guestsweston priorynew englandplace to stayliving roomwonderful hostshome away from homegolden retrieverthe main housewonderful weekendtwo nightsgreat roomski tripjeffdogbreakfast
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Kim and Jeff make this feel like a home away from home. They have thought of everything. They are welcoming without smothering! The breakfasts are wonderful and hearty and the dinner we had Saturday night was delicious! The rooms are nicely appointed and the common areas are spacious and comfortable.

If we're ever in the area again, this is where we'll stay if we can get a room!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DrB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialHouseInn, Owner at The Colonial House Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit here. We look forward to seeing you again if your travels bring you this way in the future. With best regards, Kim and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Kim and Jeff are so welcoming. I am a hospice nurse and on I had an emergency case and on Memorial day weekend a Sunday at 8:45 pm I stopped to see if they by chance had a room. I care for people at a difficult time. I was so cared for by Kim and Jeff. I take care of people all the time I forgot what it is like to be taken care of. My room was wonderful and fresh clean crisp sheets on the bed. I think they iron the sheets. I travel about twice a week and this place is all the things you would want in a 5 star service. My room passed the white glove test. Treat yourself to pampering and come stay with Kim and Jeff. It truly is a home away from home

Room Tip: all the room are great
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blessedsins87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialHouseInn, Owner at The Colonial House Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

It was lovely to meet you and to be your hosts. You brought us some comfort, too which even Innkeepers need from time to time! We enjoyed talking with you and hearing about your experiences. We wish we had jotted down some of your sage advice to share with others. Come back soon so we can swap some more canning ideas! You are an inspiration to us as you continue to do your difficult, but rewarding work. All the best and safe travels, Kim and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We really love Colonial House! We stumbled across it a few years ago when visiting the Vermont Country Store. We decided to visit the store out of curiosity (doesn't everybody get a catalog?) but finished our shopping late So we asked one of the local employees to recommend a good place to stay and she suggested Colonial House. We could only stay one night that time but have been back three times since.
Jeff & Kim are wonderful hosts. From day 1 we felt like part of the family. The common room is very comfortable with a Franklin stove and always a plate of fresh cookies when you arrive. We have a favorite room, which is on the corner near the Dining room. It's snug and cozy and has all the amenities. It really is like staying at "Grandma's house".
You would think that there would be little to do in Weston, Vt. when it isn't ski or hiking season, but you'd be very wrong. We always go in November as part of a Thanksgiving trip to visit relatives in Maine. We usually spend three days, but always wish we could spend more time. A visit to Vermont Country Store is a must in order to do some Christmas shopping. Kim told us about a great bookstore in the nearby town of Manchester, so we always come away with enough reading material for the rest of the year. We also like to experience the music and tranquility of Weston Abbey.
The breakfasts at Colonial House are fabulous with plenty of variety. For the rest of the day's meals there are many local restaurants, and Jeff can give you many recommendations. One of our favorites is the American Grill, which offers a surprising variety of dishes for such a "country" area.
Bottom line, if you'd like a really nice place to spend a vacation in New England, Colonial House in Weston Vermont is it!

Room Tip: There is one room on the corner, near the Dining room that we really like.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoHoInn, Owner at The Colonial House Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Thank you for the lovely review! We are certainly grateful to the person who referred you to us and we are happy to know you enjoyed your first stay and many more! Be well and we look forward to seeing you again this year!! All the best, Kim and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Colonial house brings back warm memories of country hospitality. it is like visiting Grandma, hanging out in her living room and admiring the handmade quilts and fresh cookies. Watch out for the friendly dog; the cat will ignore you. Very reasonably priced and kids are welcome. The common area is like a classic old school family home and it was nice to mingle with other guests and exchange stories. the 3 course breakfast is awesome and cooked to order. Love the hosts.

Room Tip: There is a suite and two of the motel rooms can be connected for families.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JerseyBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoHoInn, Owner at The Colonial House Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Thank you for your warm comments! We are always happy to know that you enjoyed your visit, that the breakfast and cookies were well received! We hope you will visit us again when your travels bring you this direction. All the best, Kim and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

This place was absolutely phenomenal. I felt like we were in the owner's home and that they personally were taking care of us. It didn't only 'feel' like it, it was actually the case! We were caught in snow and ice and called to make a last minute booking. Jeff the 'chef' welcomed us personally introducing us to his home, where the guests can hang out on comfortable sofas by the fire; coffee and homemade cookies all afternoon/evening - all included in the price of course. Then, Jeff showed us to our cute little room. The room was cozy and right out of a little alpine chalet/motel. In the morning we had a delicious home cooked breakfast (included in rate) featuring orange juice, coffee, baked apple, omelet, and a slice of cake. Many more options to choose. We even had a nice chat with those sitting next to us. This was a god send find - perfect little cozy place in the middle of pretty much nowhere. Quiet, peaceful and PET-FRIENDLY!! Extremely highly recommended

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank EliUSA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoHoInn, Owner at The Colonial House Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to be a friendly "port" on a stormy night. We are looking forward to being your hosts when your travels bring you this way again. All the best, Kim and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews