We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Tuckerbox

Tuckerbox
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Tuckerbox has been owned and operated by Jackie and Vural Oktay of White River Junction since November 2013. Jackie, Vural, and Hasan (Vural's brother) Oktay also own and operate Istanbul Kebab House in Essex Junction, VT since May 2012. Vural and Hasan were born and raised in Istanbul Turkey; Jackie was born and raised in Jay, Vermont. This hard working team is excited to bring authentic Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine to the Upper Valley with their full dinner service which has now started. Jackie & Vural have been in love with the Tuckerbox since they moved to White River 3 years ago, when the chance came up to own the restaurant they jumped on it. What they love most about the Tuckerbox is the real community feeling and energy inside and the fact that Tuckerbox is a gatherplace for locals to drink great coffee and espresso, eat great food, be together with one another.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had lunch here. It was a great find. Excellent Turkish food. We dinned out on the sidewalk. I had the Doner Kebab ($10.95) (a lamb & beef gyro in a wrap) and Lentil Soup ($6.50).

Excellent service. Good value.

We will return. There is related retail store full of wonderful spices just around the corner.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing! So accommodating considering we did not have reservations. We had the swordfish kabobs which were delicious! Definitely a place to go for a Parent’s Weekend, fall leaf peeping or any Vermont getaway

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank OnAir00842442763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate dinner here and then came back for breakfast. Great atmosphere and terrific service. The lavash and mezze platter are delish and we had kebab plates which were great. The Baklava is melt in your mouth and flaky at same time. The cocktails are fantastic. The Mediterranean breakfast was spot on. We'll be back for sure!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank vermonter827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2021

The food here is always good and unique . If you are in this area of Vermont, you should try Tuckerbox.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Good service and staff. Mezza platter was excellent. We sat outside and it was very pleasant. The red lentil soup was less than memorable. The falafel was good. I will go again for the good atmosphere!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Trekandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuckerbox also viewed

White River Junction, Hartford
White River Junction, Hartford
 
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Tuckerbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.