We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn Motel(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Super 8 Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge North(Charlottesville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
76
77
22
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
77
22
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstandard courtyardfront deskgreat bistrobistro areaclean quiet roomcourtyard propertystarbucks coffeefood lion grocery storestayed here for a weekcorporate ratesized roomreunion weekendmicrowave and fridgehelpful with directionscomfortable stayfitness centerstores and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017

I stayed here from October 12-15 and had a great experience! The staff at the front desk were very kind and friendly. I got coffee and breakfast and both were perfect. My family and I sat down in the lobby and had cocktails on Thursday evening as well and it was very nice. This hotel is just a quick drive into downtown and all the wineries. Much cheaper priced than the Marriott's downtown. If you are in the area, definitely consider the Courtyard Charlottesville North!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BmoreLovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

My wife and I recently stayed at the Courtyard Charlottesville North, while we were visiting Monticello. We had a wonderful time at the hotel, and we probably had one of the best nights of sleep we've had in a long time. But, what made the hotel exceptional was not the hotel itself, but the staff. From David's cordial greeting and warm welcome upon checking in to Gulli's smiling face greeting us in the morning while we ate breakfast, my wife and I kept talking about the fact that it doesn't matter if it's a Ritz Carlton or a Courtyard, the staff makes the difference! And without a doubt, the Courtyard Charlottesville North staff are some of the friendliest, kindest team members at any Marriott we have stayed at in our lifetime. And it shows, because we even found out that Gulli is a nationally-recognized award-winning Marriott team member. The hotel should be proud to have such phenomenal staff, and we have nothing but praise for everyone working at the Courtyard Charlottesville North! Great location, great hotel, great staff!!!

Room Tip: Ask for Gulli Usmonova. . .she's the best!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OMER I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Stayed here on a college visit to UVA. Good location, but getting in and out of the parking lot is a little tricky (behind some shopping areas).

Went to get coffee at 7am on a Saturday morning - no lights were turned on in the restaurant area, but the staff got up from their meeting and put things in motion quickly.

TIP: Easy access to a Food Lion grocery store in case you want in room snacks / drinks.

OTHER TIP: Room numbers starting with 1xx on the south side of the property are really on the second floor, since there is a lower floor due to the hotel being built on the side of a hill.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallen512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Not the best of experiences but not bad.
- Very casual check in. Casual can be nice but you can overdo it. (not reflected in stars being lower as it was not a rude check in)
- Hotel feels a bit worn in smells and looks.
- Only one elevator which can be very far away from room
- Room was fine but also feels worn

These last 3 are the reason for lower points

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Esploratore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Esploratore, thank you for your feedback. We will be using this as a learning experience for our front office staff to improve the check-in process for our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your room and we are looking forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Matthew.D/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This Marriott is located a couple of blocks from the Unversity of Virginia entrance. Should make it very convenient to attend college events and the football games. Downtown Charlottesville is probably a mile walk away on an almost flat terrain. This makes it convenient to downtown too. Parking is free and located in an attached garage. The front desk is pretty friendly and helpful with directions. There is a bistro located on the lobby floor and serves good breakfast. Many restaurants and carryout places are located within a couple of blocks. The neighbourhood is very pretty safe. Rooms are decent and clean. The housekeeping does a good job. We stayed here for the weekend and it was convenient for us. There are some fine restaurants if you walk up towards downtown. There is an Amtrak station within a two blocks and it has direct service to Washington DC. Local bus service is available for reaching points within the city. Monticello, is about 20 minutes drive away. This hotel would be convenient for tourists too.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sundncr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews