We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
found it by accident

The oldest building on the island i think. We were just driving around at random-- a very... read more

Reviewed 18 August 2021
gogrannygo17
A must see

You can drive by to see this old house or see it on the museum's historical bus tour. One unique... read more

Reviewed 15 July 2021
Critiqueness
,
Yorktown, Virginia
Read all 139 reviews
  
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
92
22
20
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
92
22
20
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piece of history oldest chimney buffs peeking surviving
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2019

Very neat little site, very informative volunteer speaker. The picture boards were neat to view, along with the home site itself.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank DasDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2019 via mobile

Suggest you not waste the time. Not very historical just an old wooden shack and not much else. Being the oldest house on the island is the claim to fame

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank meanbear410
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2019

We were just out driving around exploring the island when we saw the Captain Timothy Hill House. Being a history buff, I really enjoyed looking around this old, well preserved homestead. My wife also really enjoyed. Well worth taking the time to visit!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2019

If you are in Chincoteague, I recommend you go see this place. It is only open on Fridays 1-3 pm, but is a very interesting piece of history. They have done a fantastic job of restoring the home and the docent is very knowledgeable. See if you can find all the ship carvings around the outside of the house! Captain Hill is buried nearby in the family cemetery which you can visit as it is right by the road.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank shunpiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 June 2019

This is a fun and interesting way to learn about how the early houses were built. Very historically significant and the owners are so enthusiastic, and full of interesting information.
Check out their hours on the Facebook page or webpage so that you don't miss out on the tour.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews