We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty Roach Motel”
Review of Hilltop Motel

Hilltop Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilltop Motel
Reviewed 16 October 2014

I was driving through the area before I had to move here and this was the first place I noticed to stay. The staff was incredibly rude, the room smelled like a cross between cigarette smoke and urine, and the bed was stained with cigarette burn holes in the bedspread. This was by far the worst hotel experience that I have ever had. I will sleep in my car before I sleep at that hotel again.

Room Tip: Drive a few miles up the road to Claypool Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh24609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Nastiest place I have ever been, and had it not been for the snowstorm coming , I would have stayed in the car! There were hole all in the sheets, which were dirty, obviously. The floor was disgusting. The towels were dirty. However, the employees seemed fairly nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyloo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

My company needed rooms for 8 of our out of town workers and we saved at least 35% of of what we would have paid at any other motel in the area. While it is not a Holiday Inn, it is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikespac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

when we stayed @ the hilltop we were treated like family and i would reccomend the hilltop to anyone wanting to save money but still be treated like you spend 100.00 or more a night. we only paid 43.75 that was including tax. it is such a great deal.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hilltop Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Motel

Address: 6100 Gov. G.C. Perry Hwy., Doran, VA 24612
Region: United States > Virginia > Doran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Doran
Price Range: S$51 - S$90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a clean older motel that is in the process of a complete renovation and is family run. Our prices are very affordable and similar to other lodging accommodations in the area and we cater to out-of-town workers and budget-minded persons. American owned and operated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing