We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
PricelineUS$84
Expedia.comUS$84
Agoda.comUS$84
TravelocityUS$84
Hotels.comUS$84
Lol.travelUS$100
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (630)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveller rating
199
147
118
97
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
199
147
118
97
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean front desk staff would stay again complimentary breakfast great place to stay waffles jmu refrigerator
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 630 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2022

Excellent stay at this location. Rooms , beds, service is excellent. Staff is excellent and polite. Breakfast bar is great
Would definitely love to come back to this hotel. We got complimentary water bottles on our way out for the road! ❤️

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank ilianagonzalez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg - University, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2022

ilianagonzalez3,

Thank you for your kudos and kind words about your experience with our hotel and team. We are thrilled to see we delivered a memorable experience for you. We will be sure to share your review with our team so they know that even in the current climate, their hard work and dedication is appreciated.

Thank you,

Mike Dornquast
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2022

This hotel is located across the street from The James Madison University Main Campus. The room had great touches to it to include a barn door that would cover the closet or bathroom, a Waterpik brand Showerhead - that was fabulous, an electric outlet in the bathroom that was a combo for electricity and night light all-in-one device. The two queen beds in the room were very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast, this stay, consisted of Western Egg Omelet, Beef Sausage Links, Turkey Sausage Links, Homemade Lightly Seasoned Potatoes, various cold cereals, various bakery items, white and wheat bread, bananas, apples, oranges, orange juice and cranberry juice. I think there was also waffles to be made, can't remember. There was an indoor pool and a weight room, also. I highly recommend this Hampton location.

Room tip: We were in a room on the second floor. Even though we faced the front parking lot, the area was quiet.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 265cherylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg - University, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2022

265cherylg,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers. We are thrilled to have delivered such a fantastic stay for you and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,

Mike Dornquast
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2022

Hotel upkeep was lacking. Somethings were very worn in need of replacement.
There wasn't a suitcase rack.
Carpeting was missing in places.
Complementary breakfast was nice.
Fresh popcorn was a nice touch in the afternoon.

Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank nortonwilliams70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg - University, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2022

nortonwilliams70,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers and for your kudos to our team member Scott. We are pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and our fresh popcorn in the evenings. Please know that this hotel is under new management and we are working hard to make the improvements you've mentioned. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so you can see the efforts made by the new team.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2022

Welcoming staff upon arrival. Parking lot lighting should be brighter. Clean room. Updated furniture (table). Replace the TV. It took 10 minutes to come on due to no signal. Nowhere to plug phone to recharge.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank lexus10753
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg - University, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2022

lexus10753,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your previous stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you found the hotel convenient and clean. The new management team will take your comments to the respective departments and look into the issues you faced. The new team is working hard to improve the service and facility here and hope we can welcome you back.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2022 via mobile

I felt like I was victim of the ‘bait and switch’… the room in the photo was lovely but the room I stayed in was a huge disappointment! Everything was old and dirty looking - the carpet was stained,and the bathroom had mold. I was tired from driving a long distance, so I did not complain. I would have also felt bad for the staff who were all so very nice.
I think the biggest issue is I did not get a request to review the hotel from Hilton as I did the 4 other Hampton Inn hotels on my trip, all of which were wonderful. Maybe I should go back to being loyal to Marriott?!?

Room tip: Choose a different hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg - University, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2022

Kim P,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments regarding your previous stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that your experience was lacking and that you were not able to discuss your concerns with a team member during your stay. All of our team members are empowered to handle and correct any issues or concerns our guests face when they are informed of them. Please know that this hotel has recently undergone a change in management and we hope we can welcome you back in the future to see the improvements the team has been making to our service and facility.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews