We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$141
View deal
Expedia.com
US$141
View deal
Vio.com
US$139
View deal
PricelineUS$141
TravelocityUS$141
Hotels.comUS$141
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
200
147
118
98
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
200
147
118
98
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews would stay again complimentary breakfast great place to stay waffles jmu refrigerator
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2022 via mobile

We stayed at the Hampton Inn University for one night. It’s best recommendation is it’s location. Just off the interstate and near every variety of shopping and dining. However, this location is really showing its age. The furnishings in our room were pretty beat up. I was surprised at the Saturday night rate — $238 all-in with AAA discount. There was really nothing about this Hampton to explain that price. It wasn’t even a JMU football weekend. Most of the employees we encountered were pleasant and helpful.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Cyclonegup
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg - University, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2022

Cyclonegup,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent experience. We are thrilled to hear that you found our location so convenient and our staff welcoming and helpful. We are excited to share with you that our hotel has recently come under the leadership of a new management team and we are quickly addressing areas of concern. We hope to invite you back when we have completed our improvements.

Thank you,

Mike Dornquast
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2022

This Hampton has an excellent location and friendly staff. Unfortunately, the refrigerator was missing in our room and the TV reception was terrible. The shower head was a bit complicated to use but we eventually figured it out. I have stayed at nicer Hampton Inn’s.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg - University, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2022

Karen K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the location and found our hard working team so friendly. The new team and management are working diligently to restore the quality of our service and facility. We are very sorry to learn that you did not have access to all of the amenities you should have in your room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so that we can get this fixed immediately.

Thank you,

Mike Dornquast
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2022

We just stayed three nights for parents weekend at JMU. The first full day, Friday was terrible since they had a major water issue. No water from 9-3. They did give 30% off but you actually had to ask for it several times. In reading the reviews below it sounds like they have had many problems. The hotel is dated but it is fine if you are just going to sleep and shower there (when there is water). The breakfast was tolerable. Very convenient location and the room rate is cheap. No maid service unless you ask for it but the maids are always in the hallway and willing to swap out dirty towels. Not sure I would stay again since there are so many other options in the area.

Room tip: Room 248 is the biggest room they have, it's awesome.
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sabrinacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg - University, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2022

sabrinacat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize again to all of our guests who were impacted by the unforeseen mechanical failure of our hot water holding tank. Thankfully with the new management and maintenance team we were able to get a repair in place to restore service without having to go without for the entire weekend. We understand that traveling post-pandemic feels different and appreciate your understanding regarding housekeeping services on request. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future to see the continued improvements we are making to the facility.

Thank you,

Mike Dornquast
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2022

This is an average Hampton. The room appeared updated, with one door sliding between closet and bathroom. No real drawers, just pull-out wire racks. This seems to be the trend these days. The lobby area is nice also. However, the hallways are old looking, marred, and dirty. Breakfast was typical, but the actually had cereal without sugar, a rare choice in any hotel these days.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg - University, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2022

Joseph S,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy cereal at breakfast. We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations and hope you will consider staying again with us.

Thank you,

Mike Dornquast
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2022

Excellent stay at this location. Rooms , beds, service is excellent. Staff is excellent and polite. Breakfast bar is great
Would definitely love to come back to this hotel. We got complimentary water bottles on our way out for the road! ❤️

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank ilianagonzalez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg - University, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2022

ilianagonzalez3,

Thank you for your kudos and kind words about your experience with our hotel and team. We are thrilled to see we delivered a memorable experience for you. We will be sure to share your review with our team so they know that even in the current climate, their hard work and dedication is appreciated.

Thank you,

Mike Dornquast
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews