We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/22
Priceline
US$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/22
Expedia.comUS$109
TravelocityUS$109
Official HotelUS$109
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,335)
Filter reviews
1,336 results
Traveller rating
830
273
135
62
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
830
273
135
62
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel parking garage lobby bar covered walkway jmu campus hotel restaurant love this hotel downtown harrisonburg rooms are spacious great stay front desk staff convenient location staff was friendly montpellier wedding orientation convenience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 1,336 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2022

Great room clean and well decorated No issues that I had lobby was very well decorated. Liked the meeting rooms banquet meals were very well done staff was great and very accommodating. Check in and out was well organized

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deaconcubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Services, Owner at Hotel Madison & Shenandoah Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

We are glad you were pleased all -around with your experience at Hotel Madison, including the banquet meals and service. Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to share your nice review with the community. We hope to have you back with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2022

Very disappointed with this hotel. We booked for a wedding event. To start we called to make reservations and had to leave a message- they never returned our call. Relative actually booked our room, as they were told only 3 rooms left. Asked several times if we could check in an hour or two early, as we are coming 5 hours away for a wedding, told no change in family restroom, only to get to wedding and hear other guests were allowed in their rooms early. Checked in at 1030 after wedding, got up early to return home, only to find shower didn’t work. We were on a time constraint. Told front desk at check out, only to be told we will send maintenance up to check. We paid a lot of money for absolutely no service or shower !! If I need to return for any reason will go to Charlottesville and drive in ..

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valorie2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Services, Owner at Hotel Madison & Shenandoah Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

We are sorry you were disappointed not to receive an early check-in. It begins at 4 pm and though we do try to accommodate such requests whenever possible, we cannot guarantee them. Check-out is at 11 am and we need time to thoroughly prepare rooms for the next arriving guests. Additionally, we have seven room types at Hotel Madison so we do need to match room type with guests' reservations. Particularly with weddings, we generally recommend booking the night before if early access to a room to prepare is needed when on a tight schedule. We also apologize for a call not being returned and for any shower issue requiring maintenance to pay a visit. We always want to provide smooth and pleasant visits for our guests; your disappointment is understandable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2022

Great place to stay. Wonderful helpful staff; great lobby bar and restaurant. This is the best place to stay when visiting JMU whether it’s visiting a student on campus or attending a game. Everything is so clean and it’s clear they pay attention to detail.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ejcoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Services, Owner at Hotel Madison & Shenandoah Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2022

It's all in the details! Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us for your JMU visits. Hope you are back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2022

This is an extremely comfortable hotel. Spacious lobby to relax in with a nice bar. Comfortable beds and bedding. Convenient free parking. Only slight negative was the breakfast buffet. It just isn’t very good.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnfN6982YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Services, Owner at Hotel Madison & Shenandoah Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2022

We are glad you enjoyed so much of your stay at Hotel Madison and that you shared all of your feedback with us. It is important to know what are guests are pleased with and where there may be room for improvement. We hope to have you back with us on your next Harrisonburg visit — thank you for choosing Hotel Madison!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2022

Very reasonable rate, comfortable and quiet room. I booked for the wrong date and the staff figured out the problem once I arrived with no reservation, and they immediately switched it. The lobby was beautiful, and it was very easy to access downtown. I would definitely stay there again

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jaronff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Services, Owner at Hotel Madison & Shenandoah Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2022

It was a pleasure to serve you! We are glad we were able to help with the date mix-up. Thank you for choosing Hotel Madison and for sharing your experience with us and the traveling community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews