We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent Food Quality”

The Boathouse at City Point
Reserve with OpenTable
The Boathouse at City Point is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Hopewell
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Description: Bringing river front dining back to Hopewell! The Boathouse at City Point has incredible scenic views of the Appomattox river.
Restaurant details
Description: Bringing river front dining back to Hopewell! The Boathouse at City Point has incredible scenic views of the Appomattox river.
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We decided to wait a month after the restaurant opened to have dinner so they could work out the bugs. The location and setting is beautiful. Our server was new (as all the wait staff probably was) but was very attentive. We shared a Ceaser's Salad which was good except we both asked for more dressing. My husband had the Shrimp and added Scallops. I had the Flounder Special. The shrimp came out overdone and tough however the scallops were cooked perfectly. I am skeptical that my flounder was actually flounder. It was a very thick rectagular piece of fish. Every flounder I have had has been very thin and large. My husband ordered the Key Lime Pie that was served in a Mason Jar and layered. I tasted the filling which was good. We had a glass of wine and a beer with dinner. The check came out to over $100. We will go back but will give them another month or two to settle. We have been to the Boathouse at Rockett's Landing usually for Sunday Brunch while boating so we were familiar with the menu and food.

Thank Barbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housepitality F, Guest Relations Manager at The Boathouse at City Point, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving us your feedback. We apologize that you were not satisfied with the way your entrees were prepared and we have passed along your concerns to the chef team. We hope that you will come back and give us another opportunity to make a better impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

This place is so relaxing. The view is so beautiful, the food is really good and the service is great. This is a great place to be at sunset.

Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housepitality F, Guest Relations Manager at The Boathouse at City Point, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the view, service and the food. We hope you will come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The poor service will be the demise of this Restaurant. We waited more than 15/minutes after being seated and no one came by to offer us drinks or explain the menu. We asked for inside booth seating, but because we did not have reservations we were offered seating at the bar or outside. We chose outside with a view of the River. Not sure why we couldn't eat inside, it was 3:30p on a Sunday afternoon and they were NOT busy. Great view of the River, but that grassy area leading down to the water is so overgrown it was distracting to the view of the water. The menu lacked many selections that we appreciated at the Boathouse/Short Pump location. The location of this Restaurant sits directly behind a run-down Motel with limited parking. Very poor location for a business that claims to be 5/Star. They do offer Valet, but the parking that is available is just outside the front door. We chose to park ourselves. The servers are not friendly. They profess to be a 5/Star Restaurant, but with such poor personalities and terrible service, we left and will NOT return. If you can't provide excellent service, you lose all 5/Stars in our book.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LWGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housepitality F, Director of Sales at The Boathouse at City Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

I'm sorry you had a disappointing experience at The Boathouse at City Point. I have shared your feedback with the General Manager of that location. Although we do not have any control over the naturalized area along the river, or neighboring businesses, we certainly will be coaching the staff on being welcoming and friendly to all of our guests. We appreciate learning where additional server and host team training are needed. Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent location on the bank of the Appomattox River(near where it joins the James River). The huge butterfly shrimp as a starter were outstanding along with the house salad. Everyone in our group was impressed with the oversized bank of windows that allowed everyone, regardless of where they were sitting, to see the water.

Thank Hhoppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housepitality F, Guest Relations Manager at The Boathouse at City Point, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the shrimp, tossed salad and the view! We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

I was surprised that so many people writing reviews for this restaurant complained, "The locals can't support such an up-scale place." How do they know what a Hopewell residents food budget is?? And we drove 45 minutes to have dinner at this gem and then attend a concert at The Beacon. Up-scale? YES! Expensive? YES! Great waitstaff? YES! Delicious? Absolutely! Great restaurants with phenomenal views aren't just for anniversaries/birthdays anymore!

We will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VirginiaAntiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housepitality F, Guest Relations Manager at The Boathouse at City Point, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for making the commute to come visit with us! We are so glad that you enjoyed the food, service and the view. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse at City Point also viewed

 

Been to The Boathouse at City Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing