We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tides Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Gloucester(Gloucester Courthouse)(Great Value!)
US$68
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Gloucester(Gloucester Courthouse)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Williamsburg)
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$278
US$249
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Pottery(Williamsburg)
US$59
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Warsaw)
US$81
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
312
181
64
38
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
312
181
64
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrisbee golfnorthern neckresort feeginger alepar golf coursemain buildinggarden houseshe crab soupchesapeake baygolden eaglewater viewcarter's creekturn down servicefire pitsouthern hospitalitychesapeake clublancaster lemonade
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 614 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Over all this is a very nice resort. The grounds are beautiful and the resort fee provides access to a lot to do. The staff is very helpful and willing to deal with issues. There is some deferred maintenance on the rooms, but they are quiet with good beds and good black out curtains, and great views of the water. The food at the main restaurant is very expensive and other than "The Local" a coffee and sandwich shop which is not open for dinner, the surrounding restaurants are also very expensive.
Highly recommend using the 9 hole golf course on the hotel grounds that is covered by the resort fee. We had never golfed before but had a lot of fun trying golfing without any pressure. We also used the kayaks covered by the resort fee. The pool is very large and great for doing laps. The hotel provides bikes for going into town. There are also 2 wineries that do tastings less than 10 miles from the resort and Bay Aviation 5 miles away offers flights in a historic PT19 WWII plane.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RTJAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Superior stay at one of the most beautiful marina locations on the Chesapeake Bay. Complete resort service and amenity portfolio available to those arriving by boat. Sensational food and atmosphere. Professional and courteous staff always present to help. For boaters: fuel is good quality and great price.

Room Tip: We'd recommend any room overlooking Carter's Creek. Some bottom floors have walkout garden patios.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 379stuarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

The Tides Inn - Lovely older resort in unspoiled area, generous sized rooms, bed and furnishings just fine. The Tides is on the Chesapeake Bay at the mouth of the Rappahannock River on the Northern Neck of Virginia in the town of Irvington. Assessable by boat with a deep water marina. Lovely restaurant overlooking the water. Great place to get away from it all with golf, tennis, etc. Nearby towns with good independent restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastbyeast2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

The hospitality of the staff was amazing! All staff were super friendly and attentive. Everyone wished us a happy anniversary the first night. The view of the bay was so beautiful. there were many fun activities on saturday- we chose disc golf and kayaking on the bay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gregory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Stayed at the Tides Inn this past weekend and it is an absolutely beautiful property and setting. Very reminiscent of a time 50 years ago. The staff was wonderful and attentive, our suite was roomy, well equipped, and had a wonderful view of the water. The grounds are very well kept and the restaurant and drinks were top notch as well. The ONLY reason i can't in good faith give it 5 stars is one VERY strange charge they try and slip on your bill upon check-out...they will put 2 charges of $7.50 for a "luggage gratuity" if a porter brings your bags up to your room from your car. This is problematic for MANY reasons. 1. NO HOTEL IN THE WORLD has a charge like this. You tip the bellman (which I did) when he brings your bags up, as always, a hotel has no right to add an additional gratuity to an expected service, ever. 2. They charge the "gratuity" twice, it was on the bill even before I requested a bellman to bring the bags down to the car after the stay, so they try to sneak it in on you. As a silent protest i took my own bags down when I checked out so they wouldn't try to sneak the charge back on. 3. There is NO WARNING/NOTICE of this charge. You wont see it until you get your bill. If you stay here I would recommend taking your own bags to your room. Now, after I complained the front desk told me they would remove the charge from my bill, so when the charge is finalized on my card I assume it wont be there. It is just a very strange fee, and their corporate office should be ashamed at that type of nickle and diming. Remove that unnecessary charge and I would gladly change my review to 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley S, Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and apologize that the porterage fee was not properly explained to you. The fee was only charged because of the agreed upon contract that was signed by the group you were with. We do not charge this fee to individual leisure guests. We value your business and hope you will return for an even better stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews