We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
19
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic virginia yogurt charlottesville suite property
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed three nights and enjoyed the elegant inn and breakfast service. All top drawer!! Clean, well appointed and friendly. Our room was Ethel's Suite. It was spacious and I dare anyone to have a need that was not already anticipated.
We hope to have a reason to return.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxley_Place_Inn, Owner at Boxley Place Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thanks so much for your articulate review! We really really really appreciate it! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This was a magical weekend getaway and excellent place to stay for our visit to Jefferson's Monticello and the city of Charlottesville. There's civil war history here too. Originally, we were going to stay one night but we stayed two nights and we weren't disappointed. The features and accommodations provided by the owner and staff of this historical civil war era home were over the top. The home is kept up and furnished to the time period. The price for our stay was also very reasonable and we plan to return.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxley_Place_Inn, Owner at Boxley Place Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thanks Mark! What a fabulous and descriptive review. A thousand thanks. Hopetop see you soon.

Breese Glennon
Property Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Wow! My husband and I have stayed at over 25 B&B's over the last quarter century. The Boxley Place Inn is one of the nicest we have ever had the pleasure of visiting. A truly lovely home with charm, history and comfort. The hostess, Kim was simply divine. She couldn't have made us more comfortable and welcome. She really knows her stuff as everything was perfect and shipshape. The bed was so comfortable that after the first night's stay I took the bedding apart in search of the mattress brand. All the appointments were lovely and tasteful. The breakfast was delicious. A well made selection of quiche, muffins, fresh fruit, juices, cereals, yogurts etc.. We had a family & friends event nearby and took over all the rooms at The Boxley Place Inn and we all concur....it's a top notch B&B

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed at the Boxley to attend a wedding on 10/22/16... I must say, it was a very nice home like-experience. Very clean and well kept. If it wasn't so pricey, we would certainly consider staying again. There is Continental breakfast, however, not much to chose from...there where 4 of us... thereby 1 slice of quiche each, so again for the price there should be greater selection and quantity.

Room Tip: View photo's to pick your room... all rooms are nice, but pricey
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxley_Place_Inn, Owner at Boxley Place Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Lisa...thanks so much for your review! I am really interested in input on all aspects of the Inn. I have been thinking about the breakfast issue. Can you give me an idea of what else would enhance our continental style breakfast? We have discussed hard boiled eggs....and obviously we did not have the right quantity of the quiche! I apologize. We had short notice guests and only ordered one....but I see your point and we have a plan for this situation in the future. We are sending you 2 $25 gift certificates for use anytime you want. Please come again!

Breese Glennon
Property Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

What a beautiful, historical home that is now a wonderful Bed and Breakfast. We stayed here this past weekend while attending a family wedding. We were greeted upon arrival and given a brief tour of the house. Beautiful, comfortable sitting rooms and a large fromt porch to sit on and read or enjoy a nice glass of wine, while enjoying the view. The bedrooms in the house are all beautifully decorated and much attention to detail. We stayed in "Uncle Tucks Cabin" on the back of the property. The cabin had a bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. Beautiful wood beams on the ceiling. A nice deck out back with a table and chairs overlooking the countryside. The beds are very comfortable. On both Saturday and Sunday we had a delicious hot breakfast. It was out and waiting for us to come at our leisure. The B & B is located right on the edge of town, so you get both the quietness and privacy, but also a short walk into town. I can't say enough wonderful things about the Boxley Place Inn. I highly recommend it, you will not be disapointed.

Room Tip: The downstairs "Ethel's Suite" has the most beautiful armoire I have ever seen.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxley_Place_Inn, Owner at Boxley Place Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews