We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay ”
Review of Kirkley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kirkley Hotel
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Lynchburg
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Had a room with one king bed Very nice room!! Clean and cozy!!! Breakfast was expensive !!! Staff was very friendly. The Decour in the lobby was very nice. Hate that we got in at 4am and they wouldn't extended check out or give a reduced price. Most places will.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

George, Thank you for your lovely review! We are proud to be a locally-owned, independent hotel and as such we are able to provide nice "extras" for our guests. The Great Room restaurant offers an extensive buffet for $10 per person. In an open kitchen our onsite chef will freshly prepare eggs, omelettes, pancakes, french toast and other made from scratch goodies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Stayed here for a night while traveling the parkway on motorcycle. Very convenient, comfortable, nicer inside than you might think. We got a very affordable rate in July and our room was clean, quiet, and had a comfy bed. Staff was kind and polite...though there was a nice party going on in one of the conference rooms and we were all in our motorcycle gear...no problem! Nice restaurant on site, cozy bar area that feels like a home kitchen. Server at the bar was equally kind and polite. Great draft beer selection, really a hidden gem in Lynchburg. Could use a upgrade of restaurant logo and marketing...my company could assist FYI Kirkley! Thanks for an awesome stay - we will return!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for truly appreciating our hotel, bar/restaurant and our staff. We work very hard to ensure our guests have the ultimate guest experience -- being taken of from the moment you walk in by our courteous front desk staff; enjoying the luxuriously comfortable rooms; dining at our award-winning restaurant; and having all of your needs and requests seamlessly taken care of. We hope to see your again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Spent one night at Kirkley Hotel on Friday 6/30/17. As anticipated the exterior of the hotel wasn't overly beautiful, but it did get better on the inside. The staff was courteous and the lobby was nice, not gaudy but nice. The room looked exactly as I expected from the pictures. The bathroom was small and somewhat dated but it did have granite countertop. The highlight of the bathroom was the shower, it was great, kind of a rain shower head with plenty of very hot water. The bed was comfortable, but not a dream as I had been led to believe. No ice maker on my floor so I made the trek to the main lobby to retrieve some. Didn't work, bummer. Elevators were very fast, which was a plus. There was a very annoying whistling noise coming from the window overlooking the lobby roof. Didn't hear it as long as the AC unit in the room was running. Carpet in the hallways was great and everything was pristine looking with fresh paint on the walls. It was very quiet and we never were bothered by any noise. The elevators were freshly painted as well and were very clean. The parking lot was a mess with a number of large potholes. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at our independent "Boutique" hotel. We constantly strive to make our hotel, the services and the staff the best around and it shows! So sorry for the few missteps you had mentioned, we take all comments to heart and it helps us improve everyday. We are currently working on the outside of the hotel and just completed our portico/drive renovations and they are spectacular... if you ever find yourself staying with us again please let em know, I'd love to by you dinner. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I were going to stay one night. I asked the desk would it be any trouble to stay an extra night? The desk staff worked for a few minutes on the computer and we had another night.
The staff, rooms, food, all amenities were "right on".
I recommend The Kirkley in Lynchburg, Va.
I will continue to stay there when in that area.

Marion M. Ivey
Richmond, Va.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Marion I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Marion, its always a pleasure to have people like you stay with us! Glad you appreciate all we have to offer, from the little "boutique" touches and services to all the amenities - we just feel the same way! We've got a great bunch of staff and always great to hear their hard work is appreciated as well! Thanks again for the terrific review and we like to think you're one of our terrific guests too, see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We live locally, but stayed one night using a gift certificate we had purchased at a charity event. The lobby is nice and the staff were all great. The pool was closed and we had trouble getting the phone to work to call the front desk. On the plus side once we got the phone to work we called down for hypoallergenic pillows and they were much better than the soft ones standard in the room. We were on the top floor. The room was large enough with nice furnishings, but the wifi was hard to keep connected and the bed was so hard I had to sleep on the floor on pillows wrapped in the comforter. There was no top sheet on the bed (European style). There was one in the closet, but it was not the correct size for the bed (too small). The room did have a small fridge and microware which was nice for storing the leftovers from dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUSANCROUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkley H, General Manager at Kirkley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for your candid review. I have to apologize for the missteps you had experienced during your stay. We were forced to shut down the pool for safety reasons and couldn't put our guests at risk - all repairs have been made and back to normal. Please reach out to me at gm@kirkleyhotel.com and I will replace your gift certificate and hope to show you the experience we are known for. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
5.9 km away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 24 in Lynchburg
885 reviews
2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
4.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
0.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
2.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkley Hotel

Address: 2900 Candlers Mountain Rd, Lynchburg, VA 24502-2212 (Formerly Radisson)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#3 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#3 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range: S$140 - S$188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kirkley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Affordable Upscale Friendly Caring. With a prime Lynchburg location convenient to all the Lynchburg area's colleges and businesses, the Kirkley Hotel and Conference Center offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere and topnotch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kirkley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkley Hotel Lynchburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing