We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Home - Delicious Food”
Review of Federal Crest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lynchburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Federal Crest Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Lynchburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We arrived at Federal Crest around 4:00 in the afternoon just as the sun was shining through the large beveled windows on the stair landing across from the foyer causing prismatic rainbows to float across the room. What an entry! The whole house was magnificent and well appointed without seeming cluttered. We loved our room, The Blue Spruce, with it's canopied bed and luxurious jetted tub. With the adjoining porch/room including a pull-out sofa, it worked perfectly for our daughter who was with us as we joined her for the last weekend of her on-site classes with the Liberty Online Master's program. Phil and Ann were gracious hosts and we loved getting to know them. They were so accommodating, even to the extent of serving an early breakfast for our daughter and a later one for us. It was a feast for both the eyes and palette. Definitely up there as one of our favorite B&B's!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debbi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017

We found Ann and Phil to be very hospitable from the moment we made phone inquiries to the point of our departure. We were given guidance in sightseeing and an overview of the history of the house. Breakfast was beautifully presented with local blooming flowers decorating the table and our plates. We appreciated the quiet and our room arrangement with the sitting porch attached. While the bedding, bathroom, and floors were spiffed, areas out of the way needed some attention. Although this B & B would likely benefit from having someone come in to do a top to bottom cleaning/dusting as well as replace some of the artificial flowers, much more serious is the significant deferred maintenance on the exterior of the building. For example, the railing around the front porch is decaying, and I would suggest the the railing down the back steps, because of the rotten wood, is a definite safety hazard.

Room Tip: The Magnolia Suite is light and cheerful. The sitting room/porch is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Theonlyjonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

If you are looking for a very quiet Inn, this Inn is for you. If you like very attentive Inn Keepers, this Inn is for you. If you are looking for modern amenities, this Inn may not be for you. The house is beautiful. The owners are very nice and helpful. They gave us some orange juice so we could make mimosas to celebrate our anniversary. I had a headache the next morning-maybe from the mimosas and Ann supplied requested Advil. We also bumped into them downtown while admiring the Methodist Church and Ann took us for a quick tour of the church. The churches in Lynchburg are gorgeous. The owners gave us great suggestions. We really enjoyed our room. The Magnolia Room. It had a nice fireplace and a separate sunporch sitting area that we really enjoyed. The sunporch gave the room added privacy. It was such a quiet Inn that I felt like everyone could hear us talking but the sunroom was set off the main room and had a door so it was very private. I wish there had been a settee or a chaise lounge on the porch and not wicker furniture. Breakfast was very nice. It is at a set time and all the guests eat together. Ann is an artist and her artwork is all throughout the house even on the guest room water glasses! Very nice extra touch.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia Room and enjoyed the added privacy of the sunroom and the view of the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Beautiful Inn with very gracious Hosts. Phil and Ann were very pleasant and helpful. We stayed three nights and we were very pleased! She had fresh baked cookies ready for us on our arrival. The breakfast each morning was very delicious and excellently presented. Our visit was during the Christmas holidays and the house was beautifully decorated! Not only is Ann a great cook, she is a great painter and we purchased some wine glasses from her that she had hand painted. We will always treasure these and remember our stay at Federal Crest Inn when we drink out of them. The location was very convenient to downtown Lynchburg.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beverly0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

The owners were the best we have encountered in our stays at b and b's!!! Not only were they very gracious and accommodating to our whole family but their home was beautiful and the breakfast was amazing!!! I highly recommend!!!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank counselormom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
5.2 km away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
351 reviews
0.8 km away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
880 reviews
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
8.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lynchburg
6.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Crest Inn

Address: 1101 Federal St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-3018
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lynchburg
Price Range: $182 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rock on the front porch of this stately mansion in a quiet, historic district. Enjoy the friendly hosts, en-suite fireplaces & private baths, plus fabulous breakfasts. Great nearby restaurants, Civil War & historic attractions, antiquing, Blue Ridge Mts., golfing, etc. Close to many colleges. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing