We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Richmond E - Midlothian Trnpke
Nearby Hotels
US$106
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn(Richmond)(Great Value!)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$119
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
50
21
15
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
21
15
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskoutdoor poolbob evansroom was cleandining area is verynext morningwould stay here againlate checkeach gueststayed two nightsbed and pillowssports tournamenthot cinnamon rollsevery staff membercomplimentary breakfastgreat place to staypopcorn
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Walls must be thin because my daughter(2yr old) was woken up at 10:45pm due to neighbors in the next room...doing their "thing". After about 3 minutes of noise I smacked the wall a few times and it ended. However it wasn't just the knocking on the walls, I could definitely hear them talking and laughing for about 30 mins later. Oh and the breakfast was gross.

Otherwise, the rooms had kurigs in them, the soap was from bath and body works. The beds were really comfortable. Check in was easy. They even have a popcorn machin in the lobby.

Eat breakfast next door at bob Evans and hope you don't suffer like we did with bad neighbors.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pktbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond E - Midlothian Trnpke, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for being our guest and thanks for providing us with feedback on your stay. Please accept our apologies for the guests who were not considerate of other guests in the hotel. When we are made aware that guests are behaving in a noisy fashion that is disturbing to other guests, we quickly seek to remedy the situation. Our goal is that every guest enjoys their stay in all aspects and we apologize that this was not your experience. We are also sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of the foods offered on our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Most guests really enjoy our breakfast and we hope breakfast during your next stay will exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We stayed here for a few nights on business. I travel quite a bit for my work and have found most Holiday Inn Express Hotels to be quite comfortable and secure. I would say the exact opposite of this one. Let's face it Richmond is a great area but not the safest. Doors Unlocked at night, random local folks walking throughout the building, smells of drugs in the halls. Staff were advised and no action was taken. I even talked to one of the maintenance guys who stated. "they aren't going to fix that".

There are plenty of other options in the Richmond Greater Area. Take my advice... Do not let this one be it.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillTill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond E - Midlothian Trnpke, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

We take all guest concerns and feedback very seriously and I can assure you that the safety of our guests is our top priority. I have reached out to you privately for additional details regarding your stay; however, I can confirm that all of our exterior doors, with the exception of the main entrance, are always locked and accessible only with a guest’s key card. As with any hotel, guests will occasionally decline to honor our policies; however, we do our best to ensure that all guidelines and policies which are laid out at check-in are followed by our guests in an effort to provide each of our guests a safe, quiet and enjoyable stay. I look forward to hearing back from you regarding details of your stay and hope your next experience will be a superior one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

This was terrible hotel and I would not recommend it to anybody!! The people at front desk were rude!! A few of us was wanting to sit and talk after the game and they was trying to tell us we couldn't sit in the open area off of the lobby. If they couldn't have handled that large of a crowd they shouldn't have agreed to it.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Summer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond E - Midlothian Trnpke, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

It is always a pleasure for us to welcome teams who are staying in our area for various sports tournaments throughout the year. We generally receive positive feedback from the teams that stay with us so we were disappointed to hear that your stay failed to meet your expectations. Many of our guests do enjoy gathering with friends and family to visit in spacious, open lobby; however, when larger crowds become loud in the lobby it creates a noise concern for other guests in the hotel. We strive to provide all of our guests with a peaceful and relaxing stay and in the event that we receive complaints about noise from other guests, must occasionally intervene to ensure that each of our guests has the opportunity to relax and enjoy a quiet stay. I apologize for any inconvenience; however, the comfort of all our guests is of the utmost importance to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Rooms need to be updated, old furniture in living area. Ceilings were a little yucky, however, 2 KING BEDS! When traveling w/kids who are nearly adults, this is a great find!
Because we had a large group, they opened breakfast up a little early for us, which was a huge help, as it was a sports tournament & everyone needed energy! Staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L3815VJlynnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond E - Midlothian Trnpke, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you and your family for staying with us at our Holiday Inn Express in Richmond at Midlothian Turnpike. We appreciate all the feedback you provided. Glad you were delighted with having two king beds and for acknowledging our wonderful staff for opening breakfast a little earlier to accommodate the young athletes. We hope to see you again here for the next tournament.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Great rooms- spacious, comfortable, clean. Great staff- very friendly, helpful, greetings from everyone, genuinely happy to be there. Great breakfast- so many good choices, large room with plenty of tables, constantly cleaned & refilled. The outdoor pool looked very nice, but we were unable to use due to a thunderstorm that night. My only complaint was the heat/cool system in the room. It was an older version with a warmer/colder dial, which took some trial & error to find a comfortable temp. Most hotels I've been to lately have a thermostat to set a specific temp. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room, and a little snack shop by the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pubcrawler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Richmond E - Midlothian Trnpke, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

I’m glad we were able to provide you an excellent stay at our Holiday Inn Express in Richmond at Midlothian Turnpike. Thank you for the 5-star review, highlighting our clean and spacious rooms, great breakfast, and friendly and helpful staff. It would be our pleasure to host you again when traveling in our direction. Thanks for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews