We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$18
View deal
Agoda.com
US$13
View deal
StayForLong
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 6 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
23
38
26
25
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
23
38
26
25
19
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The location is pretty good. Convenient to rent a scooter from the hotel for 200 b/day. We had a nice view of the ocean from our room. Can't swim here though.

When we showed up for breakfast the first morning a little before 9am, they had run out of everything except for some bread and watermelon with flies on it. We got up earlier the next morning and there was a small selection of 2 rice/noodle dishes, 2 ham/sausage plates, and eggs. It was okay.

The restaurant/reception area is a warzone swarming with mosquitos. The resort keeps many large decorative pots of water around the restaurant, and they are all teeming with mosquito larvae. it's a little gross. I was bitten 6 times just waiting to check in. We brought mosquito coils and repellant spray with us whenever we went to the restaraunt area, but it did notalways work, there were just so many of them. We moved to a different resort by the beach after 2 days and there were far fewer mosquitos - the sea breeze and salt water usually keeps them away. If you are sensitive to mosquitos, stay away from here.

Finally, we had a major problem with the room not being sealed. We found 2 large centipedes in the room, which was not a big deal. But the second night, it rained most of the night and water poured in from the windows (?) and flooded the inside of the room. The luggage that we placed on the ground was soaked, and my leather handbag that i just purchased from Vietnam was ruined. We tried to tell the reception person about this, but he had no response - either he did not understand english or did not care. There was no one else around to speak to. Would not stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eIaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Rooms were nice but very close together. The restaurant had good food but the free breakfast buffet was as other reviews mentioned....HORRIBLE! Beautiful pool (always full of loud children) located steps away from a rock (not sand) beach. Owner & staff very friendly & accomodating. Resort location was somewhat out of the way away from the main road.

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edgeoftexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is a really nice small 'resort' (really a hotel, not a resort), a few km's from White Sands. It's right on the beach which is rocky but perfectly good for swimming. Rooms are well-appointed, there's a pleasant small-ish swimming pool and a restaurant with a wide menu, mostly Thai. I found the staff very friendly but English was limited (which wasn't a problem).

Breakfast was included in my rate. It was a mixture of Asian and western styles with plenty of choice. Rates were very good value. I found it to be pleasantly quiet - I didn't want to be in the hustle and noise of White Sands. The other guests were mostly European or Thai.

Some earlier reviews have complained about the long, unlit, dirt 'driveway'. There's a paved road right to the door. Penny's is about 500m off the main north-south road. There are street lights the whole way. It only takes a few minutes to walk up to the main road to hail a songthaew. I found they were happy to drive me right to the door at night for a small extra cost. It's in an extremely safe location and I happily walked all around, day and night, by myself.

Overall, I had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is exactly what it purports to be on its website - a small, locally-run hotel right on the beach with a few resort-like facilities. It's not a 5-star resort, nor does it pretend to be that. I'll happily stay again.

Room tip: The superior rooms are worth the few baht extra cost. They're at the back of the resort away from the swimming pool and restaurant so much quieter.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Took a superior room for 1500 baht. Quite nice inside, clean, good shower. Breakfast is included but it is not that good, just ok. Pool view is lovely, very relaxing, no hassle, nice place to chill out and have a beer. Several people have commented about the location and the lack of beach but I have a bike so it is 5 minutes into town by bike, or 5 mins walk is the main road where you can get a baht bus. If you are wanting town centre or a sandy beach at your doorstep, this ain't your place but if you want to chill 5 mins away from the town then you could do worse.

I found the staff very nice.

1500 for a superior and 1200 for a standard. A more realistic price would have been 1100 for a superior and 800 for a standard.

Would I go back, maybe ......

Room tip: Standards by the pool look better value.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This place is a joke, really. I am an easy going independent traveller that is quite easy to please, but this place sucks. It is far way from white sands area, so getting around is not easy, you have to walk in the dark with no lighting to the main road to try and find a taxi, not safe for female travellers alone to walk this route. ok here is my issues

1. food was nasty, the condiments had ants crawling in them, really
2. staff were rude and unattentive, i am sure they were talking about us and laughing
3. non of the staff are thai, they are from cambodia and no service orientated at all.
4. the free breakfast advertised was stale bread and VERY bad coffee that had been sitting around all day
5. it promotes having a beach- no it does not, a few rock which you cant even sit out on
6 very noisy families around, screaming kids

The superior bungalow was pleasant and the pool was acceptable

Seriously, there are much better places and cheaper

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick73nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennysmanagement, Manager at Penny's Bungalow Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

This guest stayed for 1 night and asked for several services what we can't offer for the room rate what we offered him (990 Baht for a luxury bungalow, he even said in his complaints that the room was reasonable for the rate)
For example we don't offer a beverage service direct on the pool,of course, you can order it in the restaurant and than our staff even will bring it you to the pool , unfortunately this person not realized that we are not a 3 or 4 star hotel (we never promoted that we are more as we are, a family runned resort who is looking out for guests which are thinking similar ;-))

Well, about dining in a restaurant is still very personal about the persons taste (other reviews says our restaureant is even okay:-)).

A more unfortunátely point of this complainment is that he was disturbed about children's noise,
in this case we really not sure why he even choosed us (family friendly resort...)

Also single persons don't should be afraid about to walk back from the main road to us (200 meters with street light,),a logical result would be that the danger is where it is very crowdy, like in the center of white sand, some persons prefer it...

Anyway, sorry for Mr. Nick that he had such a bad night by us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews