We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
99
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower perfect hosts the main house lake nicaragua french chef mombacho volcano minute drive fruit trees separate lodge private porch tranquil retreat friendly hosts feel right at home spent a week the owner stayed longer visiting granada
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017

A friend and I stayed here just over a week ago for 3 nights. On first impressions, trying to find the place and driving up the long path, you're a little apprehensive - but as soon as you get there, all thoughts are transformed. This place is amazing - what Romain and Emi have done with the land is remarkable and their love and effort clearly shows. Imagine your dream home on holiday. Its about a 10 minute drive from Granada and Romain/Emi will hook you up with a taxi company to sort you out with transport there and back, whenever needed. They'll even remind you for advanced planning.

The ecolodge is, well ecofriendly. It runs on solar and rain water. We had the room upstairs - a view of volcano Mombacho, Granada city and Lake Granada. The bed's were super comfy and warm, the bathrooms are aligned with rock/brick, the beautiful living room has huge high ceiling with large wooden beams, the long dining table where you will share meals with others visiting and them, they have the such a sweet dog and 2 cats, and their adorable baby boy. Its very welcoming in every way and lets not forget to mention the breakfast - wow - perfect eggs and even some crepe. Delicious! And if you opt for dinner, you wont be disappointed. I'm still trying to get a good recipe for a banana jam (first I'd ever tried) as good as theirs!

Basically if you're looking for something different than staying at a hostel or some hotel in the middle of Granada, go give El Respiro a go! You won't be disappointed and they will also be sure to tell you what to try, where to go, what to eat etc. Emi recommended so many great places to eat and hang out away from tourist life, we left with a big smile on our face!

Thank you for a great stay!!

Room Tip: get the suite!!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanieemile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Echoing the other reviews, this is a great place to relax and use as a home base to explore the area. Romain and Emi are great hosts who have really good recommendations on restaurants and activities. I was traveling with my sister and mother when we stayed at El Respiro and we stayed in the suite on the top floor. Beds are comfortable, showers are very good (cool volcanic rock), and the views from the room are amazing.

What we found most amazing was the amount of fruits and vegetables grown on the property. If we go back we will definitely take a tour of the farm.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ManvsTravel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights with Romain, Emi and Ilan at their lovely ecolodge and loved every peaceful minute. We had the suite at the top that afforded breathtaking panoramic views of Volcan de Mombacho as well as Granada and Lake Nicaragua in the distance. The fact that you're on a hillside means there's always a cool breeze so no air conditioning will interrupt the peace and quiet. The lodge is beautifully built and super-clean everywhere and you also have the pool and farm to go to. Our hosts were fantastic and we enjoyed being with them at all times, thanks guys and all the best!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank kleopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

This house is incredible and so are the owners. They only have three rooms and the views are to die for. Mumbacho volcano to south, Granda and the lake north, sunrise and sunset were all to be seen from either our terrace or from the front of the entrance. Breakfast and dinner was servers in the main room of the building which was very eloquent.

The food was amazing as Romain used to be a chef and restaurant owner, nothing was missing and every meal was a true delight.

We originally spent two nights with them but because it was so nice and inspiring, we decided to come back for one more night after our trip to Ometepe.

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed and considering the price, it's a true bargain. The environment and views were astonishing and we will for sure stay with them again as soon as we get an opportunity.

So even if you intend to stay in Granada and as this is a bit outside, it's for sure worth the extra can drive!

Just left the place a few days ago but miss it already.

Wish you guys all the best with the Eco-project and the scaling of it.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jakob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

I really like the location of this place. Slightly out of the city (in a very peaceful location with great views of Mombacho volcano), but very close to the city (like 10 minutes). The rooms are very large and spacious, beautifully yet simplistically designed. My room had an outdoor shower, so I showered with a view of Mombacho Volcano and dazzling lightning displays in the evening. The hosts are super friendly and relaxed. Food is excellent. I didnt get to try the pool but it certainly looked inviting. This place is a 10/10.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kate n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews