We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
147
33
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
33
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nonno tobia home away from home other guests big table your plate the wi fi amalfi coast grazie mille own garden italian hospitality stayed for nights path of the gods maria agriturismo grandmother region cooking
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2014

My daughter and I stayed a week at Nonno Tobia in September. The best way to describe the experience is that it was like living with your favorite family members. Maria and Tobia were extremely inviting and helpful. Together they made our vacation an amazing one. Each morning they would help us to plan our transportation and site-seeing for the day and each evening they would provide a family atmosphere with delicious homemade food & wine, much more than any person could eat in one sitting. Also, the local people around the town and at the bus stop were very friendly and inviting. We could not have picked a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

We´ve spent a great week at Nonno Tobia. Great place, great food, great rest. Maria and her family make you feel at home and help you out with everything. She even invited all the guests to a splendid dinner with her family and friends for her birthday! The house is really nice, the food she cooks is amazing and the location is perfect.
Thank you Maria, Umberto and rest of family! It was a delight to spend our vacations at Nonno Tobia. Hope to be back soon!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Muchocesped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Most definitely the best place we stayed in our two week trip to Italy. This agriturismo is an excellent value set up in the mountains above the Amalfi coast. Maria is a warm, wonderful matriarch who serves up love with her home-cooked meals. She also gives Italian cooking lessons! Her adult son Tobia was energetic, extremely helpful, and spoke English to assist guests. The property and house are beautiful. The food was delicious and plentiful, with home-made wine and aperitifs with dinner. Dinner was a delightful international experience, with friendly folks from a variety of different countries sitting down in the lovely dining room to share a home-made meal together from ingredients grown on the Nonno Tobia farm. We loved it! As someone said earlier, in the summer there is no air conditioning, so you keep the windows open to enjoy the night air, and then you may also hear the rural sounds of dogs barking outside. Some of heard it and some did not, so apparently the outdoor noise is negligible compared to the beauty and hospitality of this place. Also close and convenient to bus stop, take bus to Amalfi, Positano, etc. convenient! Wish we had stayed there longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony that looks towards the coast. Beautiful view!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgansfire77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed there only one night, on a hikiing trip around the Amalfi coast. It was a great experience. The rooms were comfortable, and clean. The dinner included was truly first-rate! Multiple courses served family-style. We met several couples there, and it was friendly, varied, and altogether charming. Would have happily stayed longer. Only thing is there was no airconditioning. Got a little hot for napping after the hike, but was fine at night, at least in June.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our only regret is that we didn't get more than two nights at Nonno Tobia! Just after we arrived, Maria quickly got us settled into our lovely room, gave us a tour of the grounds, and went over our itinerary to make sure we had everything we needed to have the best experience possible (which was fortunate since we had misunderstood a few key parts to our plans!).
The meals are fantastic. The two dinners were the best food that I had eaten during our week along the coast. Maria cooks with fresh food from their garden and works to make sure every guest is happy with their plate--and they were! We loved her chocolate torte so much that she gave us the recipe to take home with us!
**One piece of advice would be to ask Maria for very specific directions if taking the bus, as the bus schedule was extremely difficult for us to understand. We ended up asking the bus driver, but I don't know what we would have done if we hadn't spoken Italian. Once we got to the Agriturismo, however, Maria found us bus times for every trip we wanted to take and even make breakfast early so that we could make earlier buses!
I really can't say enough about Nonno Tobia and how well we were taken care of.
Grazie tanto, Maria. Non vediamo l'ora di tornare.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews