We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner”

Byrd & Baldwin Bro Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Byrd & Baldwin Bro Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 804 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$48
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Granby Street
Description: Located in a historic 1906 building in the heart of Downtown Norfolk, Byrd & Baldwin Brothers is proud to serve the finest steaks in our area. Our traditional, yet creative menu includes first quality steaks,chops,seafood & poultry, served by our experienced and dedicated wait staff. Our in house Sommelier's will be pleased to assist you in choosing the perfect wine from our extensive list of over 300 labels to accompany your meal. With over a 98 per cent approval rating on all comment cards, we continue to strive for perfection, and we would be honored with the opportunity to serve you.
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

We went to celebrate our friends 20th wedding anniversary. There were 10 of us in the group. Appetizers we ordered were she crab soup, escargot, salad, shrimp, which were all tasted very good along with the warm rolls. From steaks, to seafood , and to vegetarian entrees we all enjoyed the food very tasty and plentiful portions. The service we received was excellent, 5 service, I wish I had the names of those that serviced our table. Pace of the food was spot on. Well done to everyone from front of the house to the back of the house.

Thank Shona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RZ R, General Manager at Byrd & Baldwin Bro Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Shona,
We are so happy to hear that you all enjoyed your evening with us. Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Truly a classic old world dining experience. Impeccable table service. White linen and personalized attentive wait staff. Food was superb. I must experience in Norfolk.

Thank sondrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RZ R, General Manager at Byrd & Baldwin Bro Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you taking time to leave a review. We are always happy to hear from our guests and thankful that we were given the opportunity to provide you with a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

We were seated in a booth built for 10-15 people and there were only two of us so we had plenty of room. The wait staff was courteous, polite and efficient. My wife ordered a small filet with a side of mac and cheese. Her filet was cooked to perfection and the mac and cheese, made with brie, was exquisite! I ordered a special cut, a 14 oz ribeye aged 30-40 days. It too was cooked to perfection though I would have appreciated a bit of char on the steak. Both appetizers and desserts were delicious as well. The menu was varied and offered a variety of excellent selections. It would have been nice to be able to have someone summon our car since we used a valet rather than having to wait. Otherwise, a delightful meal and we hope to eat here again when in Norfolk.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RZ R, Front Office Manager at Byrd & Baldwin Bro Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Hello Michael!
First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review. We are so happy that you chose to spend Christmas Eve with us. We greatly appreciate all of your feedback and are thrilled to hear that your dining experience was wonderful. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a very relaxing delicious dinner with friends in the bar area. Excellent steaks, cocktails and service!!

Thank beachtravelingdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RZ R, Front Office Manager at Byrd & Baldwin Bro Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We always appreciate feedback from our guests and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Byrd and Baldwin is the go to classic high end steakhouse in Norfolk. The steaks are done very well and the sides offered are the typical steakhouse sides, some vegetables, potatoes, etc. The timing of service can be a bit on the slow side but typically we are not in a rush when we come here. It is definitely not a restaurant to go to if you need to make a show or an event. The atmosphere is subdued and good for conversation. They also have a very nice wine selection. The waitstaff is professional and courteous. The prices are steep but typical pricing for a high end steak restaurant. A good place for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LizandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RZ R, Front Office Manager at Byrd & Baldwin Bro Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Hi,

We are so glad you enjoy your experience at Byrd and Baldwin. We pride ourselves on offering exquisite service and food. We always appreciate feedback from customers and we do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Byrd & Baldwin Bro Steakhouse also viewed

 
Norfolk, VA
 

Been to Byrd & Baldwin Bro Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing