We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and pleasant experience”
Review of Novotel Porto Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Porto Gaia
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We stayed in this Hotel for 4 nights. A little bit far from Porto's main attractions but the room is clean and comfortable, bathroom is updated and clean and staff is polite, friendly and helpful. Dinner but is simple but tasty and for a reasonable price. Breakfast is very good and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicteroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

I have stayed here several times and at the Ibis next door. I choose these hotels because of the ease in getting here by car and the ease in getting on the highway again, usually when we have to get to the airport early. I don't think it would be a good option to use as a base for visiting Porto because driving in Porto can be hectic, due to narrow traffic congested streets, and there is limited parking. The rooms are larger than those in the poor cousin Ibis next door and the breakfast is more sumptuous, as well as the price, but this hotel is in dire need of a good makeover.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ray V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

The room was big and modern. My room had a view to the pool and the sea (at distance). The bathroom was big as well. The breakfast has a huge variety and so did lunch, it was buffet. The service is very good and helpful. The only negative is that you need transportation to move around since the hotel is on the other side of the highway.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank LizaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Annual trip to Porto and another stay in the excellent in the Novotel Porto Gaia.

The Novotel Gaia was once again just the ticket, quiet, clean, spacious rooms, located in a central position for easy access to Porto and beyond via the excellent motorway system.

As I travel in March, I am probably fortunate that things are not so busy, the atmosphere in the Hotel is relaxed but the service excellent.

Great bar area showing live sports is a bonus and the staff were happy to my team's game on the big screen

Only one, negative, unfortunately, as last years, breakfast was a bit hit and miss again with the fresh hot food grill was not topped up, making the selection look at little less than appetizing however, there are plenty of cold buffet options.

As usual the internet was a little slow, but ok for browsing.

On the whole I satisfied with the Hotel and will probably look at booking for the 2018 visit.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Overall, I wasn't impressed and thought this hotel overpriced (at least during the high season in August):
- It is located next to a busy junction where several motorways intersect. There's nothing of note in the immediate vicinity. I think most visitors have cars and use this as a base to visit further afield.
- The 'family room' was very cramped; With the sofa bed expanded, it left only a small space between the beds and desk. So we only went to the room to sleep.
- Hotel decor looked old and tired. Carpets all look like they need a good clean.
- The pool area was nice but small so easily got crowded.
On a positive note, the staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet was good.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank silverborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro Filipe G, General Manager at Novotel Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Mr. Silverborg,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Porto Gaia. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pedro Gageiro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
833 reviews
0.3 km away
Mercure Porto Gaia
Mercure Porto Gaia
#6 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
527 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#3 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel Ibis Budget Vila Nova De Gaia
Hotel Ibis Budget Vila Nova De G...
#9 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
414 reviews
3.6 km away
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
#8 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
543 reviews
2.8 km away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Porto Gaia

Address: Rua Martir Sao Sebastiao, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-499, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: $91 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Porto Gaia is a 3 star hotel located in Vila Nova de Gaia, close to the centre of Porto and renowned wine cellars, 20 km from the airport and 35 km from the Europarque conference centre. Perfect for a business trip or a holiday with your family, the hotel offers 93 airconditioned rooms, including 56 non smoking rooms, five meeting rooms for your conference and seminar needs, a restaurant, bar, private parking, swimming pool, terrace area and playground for children. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Porto Gaia Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Novotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Vila Nova De Gaia Novotel
Novotel Hotel Porto Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing