We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cliphotel(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$85
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$107
US$98
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Yeatman(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$470
US$441
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Charm GuestHouse Douro(Vila Nova de Gaia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Bridge It(Vila Nova de Gaia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Almenara Suites Guest House(Vila Nova de Gaia)
Priceline
View Deal
CoutoRural(Vila Nova de Gaia)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveller rating
346
616
155
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
616
155
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolkept clean and tidythe riversuperior roomaccor hotelscold buffetpublic transporta short taxi ridecable carnice hoteltaxis are cheapbuffet stylecentral positioneasy accessstayed here for three nightsgood sizeclose to the hotel
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017

I have stayed here several times and at the Ibis next door. I choose these hotels because of the ease in getting here by car and the ease in getting on the highway again, usually when we have to get to the airport early. I don't think it would be a good option to use as a base for visiting Porto because driving in Porto can be hectic, due to narrow traffic congested streets, and there is limited parking. The rooms are larger than those in the poor cousin Ibis next door and the breakfast is more sumptuous, as well as the price, but this hotel is in dire need of a good makeover.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ray V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

The room was big and modern. My room had a view to the pool and the sea (at distance). The bathroom was big as well. The breakfast has a huge variety and so did lunch, it was buffet. The service is very good and helpful. The only negative is that you need transportation to move around since the hotel is on the other side of the highway.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank LizaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Annual trip to Porto and another stay in the excellent in the Novotel Porto Gaia.

The Novotel Gaia was once again just the ticket, quiet, clean, spacious rooms, located in a central position for easy access to Porto and beyond via the excellent motorway system.

As I travel in March, I am probably fortunate that things are not so busy, the atmosphere in the Hotel is relaxed but the service excellent.

Great bar area showing live sports is a bonus and the staff were happy to my team's game on the big screen

Only one, negative, unfortunately, as last years, breakfast was a bit hit and miss again with the fresh hot food grill was not topped up, making the selection look at little less than appetizing however, there are plenty of cold buffet options.

As usual the internet was a little slow, but ok for browsing.

On the whole I satisfied with the Hotel and will probably look at booking for the 2018 visit.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Overall, I wasn't impressed and thought this hotel overpriced (at least during the high season in August):
- It is located next to a busy junction where several motorways intersect. There's nothing of note in the immediate vicinity. I think most visitors have cars and use this as a base to visit further afield.
- The 'family room' was very cramped; With the sofa bed expanded, it left only a small space between the beds and desk. So we only went to the room to sleep.
- Hotel decor looked old and tired. Carpets all look like they need a good clean.
- The pool area was nice but small so easily got crowded.
On a positive note, the staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet was good.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank silverborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro Filipe G, General Manager at Novotel Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Mr. Silverborg,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Porto Gaia. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pedro Gageiro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

in amongst a bunch of hotels on top of the hill by the bridge, ibis, ibis budget and mercure. this one has a pool though. 8 euro uber/taxi in to the city.

good food at the hotel. rooms good.

Note, a lot of reviews state nothing in the vicinity of the hotel. not true, go down the hill all the way (10 min walk) to ground level with the river and there are quite a few bars and one of Portos best restaurants

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank windsor_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews