We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Marins Playa(Cala Millor)
US$292
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
US$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Biniamar(Cala Millor)
US$149
US$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Blue Sea Don Jaime(Cala Millor)
US$7,034
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Apartamentos Alamos(Cala Millor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
24
19
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
19
8
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

After reading great reviews about the hotel, we were quiet disappointed when we arrived and saw the old hotel that was not as promised "newly renovated". Living in the main complex which promised to have Wi-Fi on the rooms and which was rated with 4 stars, we soon realized that the Wi-Fi barely worked in the lobby and not at all in the rooms. The hotel was cold as windows on the floors were broken and the wind was blowing through the building. The room was very big for only two people, having even a living room with a TV (which did not work).
The cleaning lady did either not come at all or came in the very early morning when we were just getting up for breakfast.
After being told to not keep our room-card together with our phones as the card would not work afterwards, our door would not open even if we kept the cards separately. This was due to the fact that the battery in the door was empty which we had to find out coming back from the pool in the evening standing in front of a door, soaking wet and freezing due to the broken windows (why did the cleaning lady not mention that the battery was empty?).
There was a big variety of salads at the buffet which were always delicious but the meat was never edible- overcooked, fried, not chewable- one chef for the whole hotel doing live cooking was not enough. We lost all our faith in the hotel after we were told that we are not allowed to fill our bottles with water even though we were not even provided with water bottles in our (empty) minibar, which is a basic provision in EVERY four star hotel.
At one point even water started to come through the ceiling in our bathroom. After opening up the ceiling we were left with a huge hole in the ceiling for two days after which the problem was finally fixed.
The only good thing about the hotel were the receptionists, the bar and it's location close to the beach but hidden from all the noise of the promenade.

The hotel does not deserve 4 stars at all, it is merely living up to 3 stars.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Doesn't worth your money!!!!
Every day I had been facing different problems!!!
First of all: food (not fried enough, tastes like rubber!!!)
Only salads were good.

Another thing: room service!!!
I wasn't able to get in my room because my lock had run out of charge!!! Why didn't cleaning lady take care of it??? Why do I need to wait after pool freezing outside of my room in front of broken window which can't be closed???!

Thirdly:
A waiter said that I can't pour WATER IN MY BOTTLE to take to the beach!!! In normal places you are even provided with bottles of water, but THIS DOESN'T MAKE ANY SENCE!!!

One more thing:
After a while, in my bathroom, the water was poring through the ceiling. Okay, that's can happen with any hotel, but why it was fixed after SECOND attempt????
Why the master couldn't come at the same time I had this problem????

Last thing:
Bed is uncomfortable, and I had a pain in the neck after the first day of sleeping on the small low quality pillow!!!

The only positive things are left from: bar, and from the reception lady!!!
Other than that hotel should have 2-3 STARS.
And doesn't worth 4 star rating

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Oleg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

A very clean and well run hotel, lovely food and great location. Entertainment loosed it down for us, but we had a lovely week here. You can walk too Calla Bona in about 20 mins, We went on a B B only.. but upgraded to all inclusive. Has the food looked great!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alecx111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The cleaning service was excellent. Our male housekeeper, Julián, was really pleasant and hard-working. Our room was spotless every day.
Nice place and great atmosphere.
Thank you very much Julián for your attention.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Let me preface this review by saying that I am American and I compare every all inclusive resort to my experiences in Jamaica and Dominican Republic where all-inclusive resorts are cheap and have multiple restaurants, multiple buffets and bars, are on the beach and have HUGE unbelievably cool pools. I also want to say that I don't speak German so some of the joys of the Tropicana in Mallorca may be lost on me. If you're reading this, you probably live in Germany and were told about this hotel by Neckermann Reisen. According to the hotel staff, only about 10 Americans per year go to this place.

Okay, here is my review:

You've just arrived in Palma De Mallorca airport after a 2 or 3 hour flight. You're tired and can't wait to get to your resort and start having fun...you collect your bags and head for the bus lot for the transfer that's included in your "all inclusive" package from Neckermann Service. You get to your bus and you have to wait for an hour for the other folks going to the same general area. Finally the bus starts on its way to Cala Millor...its about an hour and a half ride...you get to the city and drive around to hotel after hotel dropping off other passengers. You're unlucky enough to be the second to the last hotel to be dropped off--total time on the bus 3 HOURS.

That's the stort of how we arrived at the Tropicana ApartHotel. It really was no fun at all. Unfortunately, the order of hotels is reversed when you get picked up, so you'll spend an extra hour on the bus on the way back to the airport. This process takes quite a bit of time out of the possible fun you could have been having somewhere else. This is the first reason for the low rating for this hotel.

The second reason is that the hotel is billed by Neckermann Service as a 4 star hotel. Believe me, it isn't. There are definitely some good parts to this hotel, but it doesn't come close to a four star. I will explain my reasons for saying this as you read on.

The third reason for the low rating is that the hotel is about a 5 minute walk (4 city blocks) from the beach...this also takes away from some of the fun you would have otherwise. I will say that the walk is kind of interesting as you walk through the town to get to the beach, but this wears off.

The fourth reason for the low rating is that the hotel is extremely noisy. Problem #1 is that the entertainment at the hotel is NOT optional--if you're at the hotel, you're going to be entertained almost every night until midnight, whether you like it or not. You can go to your room and the extremely loud outdoor entertainment area will permeate your room in the afternoon and evening. Don't even think about sleeping until midnight, and then depending how lucky you are, it might not work out anyway. The bar (there is just one) stays open and people hang out outside and are loud and unruly. On our last night people were out until early in the morning, yelling, screaming and carrying on with no concern from the hotel about it at all.

If that's not bad enough, you will find your room itself to be noisy. In our case, the floor creeked at every step. Nope, no sneaking around in our room. You will also hear every toilet flush in your column of rooms...but worst of all, the walls are pretty thin and so if you have a noisy neighbor or even a relatively quiet one, if they are up and talking, you'll hear it.

The fourth reason for the bad rating is that there is only one restaurant--a buffet. I will say that the food was pretty good and they did a nice job of keeping things fresh there, but I got tired of the food fast. Breakfast was the same every day, alot of pork, fried eggs, omletes and pancakes. For some reason, they make the pancakes 20 at a time on the grill. The result is that you have a line of people waiting to get one or two pancakes for up to five minutes. I thought this was really silly in a dining room full of kids. Lunch and dinners had a variety of meats, fish and vegetable dishes...everything from steaks to pork to deer or rabbit were found on the buffet. Whatever you do--don't try to put two tables together so you can sit with your group or the employees might get upset. Lunch ends at 2:30pm and dinner ends at 8:30pm. I was impressed that they continued to bring out fresh food until the last minute.

Other things you should know:

- If you plan to have 4 people in your room, they have sofa beds in the rooms. These are horrible. Thin spring mattresses on an extremely bumpy frame will harm your back and not help you sleep. We put the mattresses on the floor and they were manageable that way. Since we weren't able to sleep well anyway, it didn't matter that much.

- The hotel has no WiFi...you need to pay 1 euro per 12 minutes to use one of three computers in the main lobby if you need internet

- The two pools at the hotel are so-so. The water was cold and really there was nothing special about them.

- There is a rickety swing set near the pool. It has a dangerous see-saw, a sliding board and a noisy swingset that you will probably hear drunken guests riding on in the middle of the night.

- You need to bring your own towels if you want to have towels for the beach. They do give you towels for the hotel but not the beach. For like 2 euros you can buy a mat at one of the nearby stores on the way to the beach. Beach umbrellas cost 7 pounds and same with an air mattress. The hotel has no beach chairs or cabanas so you might want to bring a blanket with you.

- The hotel room has a safe, but you need to pay 12 euros per week for it.

- Bring your own soap and shampoo--the hotel gave us two small bars of soap for the whole week and no shampoo.

- The entertaintment at the hotel is mostly in German...in fact almost everything in the hotel is German, and pretty much the same thing with the town itself. Cala Millor is very international, but in my opinion, its a negative. I was hoping to get some of the flavor of Spain there, but instead I got mostly the flavor of Munich. On the topic of Entertainment, even though I complained about the noise, the "Animation Team" is very good and the Germans there really seemed to enjoy it. My children really liked the "kids disco".

WHO SHOULD GO TO THIS HOTEL?
Well, honestly, I think everyone should avoid the Tropicana ApartHotel altogether, and Cala Millor if possible--if you can, stay someplace closer to the airport...and if you end up in Cala Millor, find another hotel that is on the beach.

Having said that, its definitely for families, and definitely not for singles. I think kids between 5-10 would have the most fun there.

WHO SHOULD AVOID THE HOTEL?
- People who don't speak German
- People hoping to feel like they're in spain and not just "anywhere"
- People who hope to sleep on their vacation
- People who don't like smoking
- People who don't like spending hours on buses
- People who have been to actual four star resorts and have certain expectations when they go to a four star hotel.
- People who need a comfortable bed.

RECOMMENDATIONS
Cala Millor has very nice night life--plenty going on. Lots of restaurants (including KFC and Burger King) and bars.

I recommend trying the fish spa where you can get a fish pedicure for 15 euros for 20 minutes. It is located on the main beach walk.

We also rented an 8 seater bicycle for 13 euros per hour.

If you don't get sea-sick, try one of the catamarans that leave from the peir near the Cala Millor beach. (If you do get sea sick, try sea bands bracelets--accupresure really does prevent sea-sickness)

Room Tip: The hotel consists of four buildings--ask for a room as far away from the bar and entertainment area as possible.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank edenRealReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews