We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
56
73
57
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
73
57
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star hotel breakfast and dinner plenty of variety sandy beach reception staff pools signal maid maria calla
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Hotel fantastic position very clean , but Germans favoured over everyone. Staff except odd ones talk German to you even though they know you are English.One chef is really ignorant will do anything by serve you.The animation team are the worst example other day they were playing bingo translating numbers in English then started talking German and started doing various activities which we couldn!t join in because we could not understand them ,this as happened on a few occasions.We have paid for all inclusive but are spending most of our time away from hotel because you don,t feel welcome.We were asked to fill in a holiday check on Internet and guess what it wasn't in English just German and polish

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorHotelcalma, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at smartline Anba Romani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Dame,

Firstly, thank you because you have written your opinion in tripadvisor, However, I am concerned about your feelings
It is not true that German clients are favoured in Hotel, Maybe the staff cannot speak English very good, but they have knowledge enough to make its job.
For sure, the entertainers speak German but English as well.
And the holidaychek day it is like tripadvisor, and you can use one of them, it' is the same if you are English, German, Polish, Belgian, etc. every one writes where it feel better.

Kind regards

The managemt & Team Smartline Anba Romani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

I stay here for a week 13/9/2016 to 20/09/16 with my girlfriend at half board. Smartline Anba Romani is smart modern hotel.The hotel has mostly german nationals staying there but dont let that put you off. Even thought other reviews say the staff cant speak English only german and Spanish. This not true they can speak english enough to help out and do there job really well and professionally. The hotel very clean. Rooms are a good size with a great modern walk in shower unit.we had a seaview room which is really nice. Food is ok we found something eat most nights.breakfast is a mix of European hot and cold. Bar prices are good. €2.90 for a pint of local beer which i think i good for a 4*hotel. The location is great walk out at the front of hotel are shops, bar & restaurants back of hotel is the beach less then two minutes away. Cala Bona about 10 min walk away with a bit of more a british feel with bars and shops. Overall this is great hotel i would return. add some more English speaking tv channels in room only BBC world news this is my only downfall of the hotel.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank chrisml1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorHotelcalma, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at smartline Anba Romani, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Dear Chrisml1984,
We are grateful for your opinion and recommendation in tripadvisor. It is nice for you to stand up for our staff, it is true that they speak enough English to make their job
We are satisfied to know that you want to visit us and that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.
Particularly, I will be pleased to give you again a warm welcome.

Best regards
The management and Team of Anba Romani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Having returned from a great week we found the location of the hotel to be second to none. The hotel was clean and being all inclusive thought all bases were covered. Unfortunately the staff who were excellent were overworked hence very slow especially at the pool bar. You were not allowed to go and order yourself you had to find a seat and wait to be waited on which meant a long wait.. we liked the fact the entertainment was sparce as we needed a break but the fact that the all inclusive bar finished at 11pm was a shame but being a predominately German resort they go to bed early and rise early for the day so you get used to it .. Juan one of the evening waiters made our holiday extra special as his sense of humour made us laugh. We met a lovely family to spend some evenings with which was also enjoyable.
We would definitely return if we can find a tour operator other than thomas cook who go there as thomas cook were the worst holiday company ever not only did they send us back to the wrong airport they really did not want to know when we returned to the UK so my only criticism with our holiday was Thomas Cook

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank 802dawnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorHotelcalma, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at smartline Anba Romani, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Mrs, Mr

We are thankful for your opinion. You have right when you said that the location is the best of Cala Millor.
However, I disagree with you about the service in Bar, we want to give the best service to our customers, so that they do not need to pick up the order, our waiters bring them on the table. Although, that can make the service a bit slowly, but the clients will be served correctly.
I will tell Joan your nice words to him. And we hope to see you again in your next holiday.

Kind Regards.
Tha management & Team of Anba Romani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

The hotel was clean but unless you spoke German you felt like an alien., The food was awful, we called it the slop kitchen and unless you liked salads or vegetables don't bother. Ice cream was good.
Health and safety an issue with the lifeguard who was seldom at poolside with the kiddies. Set a bad example to them.
Only one single wardrobe and one small drawer for 2 people for 11 nights. No tea/coffee facilities in the room,.
Chipped and cracked sink in bathroom. Definitely not 4star.

Room Tip: Ask for double wardrobe and drawers if 2 sharing
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenannrodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorHotelcalma, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at smartline Anba Romani, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016


Dear Rodger,

I am very sad because you haven't enjoyed your holiday, It is true that we don't have as many English customers as Germans, but not to feel like an alien. I disagree with you about your comment of food, and I'm sorry, but we cannot admit these kind of description. Fortunatly, ice cream are good for you, I agree with you.
I don't know if you have read in a website about the service of coffe and tea in room, but we have not this kind of service. I'm sorry, maybe you had a false information.
I want to say that usually when clients have problems , like noisy room because of neighbour, or preference for a high floor room, they tell us in recepcion, so we can help them and solve it.

KInd regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My husband and I just returned from a 7 night holiday my advise would be unless you are German do not visit staff could not speak very little English it's a good job we did not take any children because they would be left out with the activities sun bedswere to close together only television available in room was 5 channels all news in English plenty for everyone else the films were English but in German or Spanish food just about OK. Rooms clean and tidy if we had read the reviews and been told by the travel agent we would not booked

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cleo336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorHotelcalma, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at smartline Anba Romani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Cleo,

We are very sorry that you haven't enjoyed your holiday. It's true that not
the all staff can speak English fluently, but they understand enough to do their job.
In spite of the fact that you don't recommend our hotel, I think we have a beautiful hotel and very nice persons who are working here.

Kind regards.
The management & staff of Smartline Anba Romani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews