We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,272)
Filter reviews
1,272 results
Traveller rating
609
414
158
69
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
609
414
158
69
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomas cook panoramic sea view room free safe pool area stayed at the catalonia huge bed evening meal lovely hotel service road overlooking the marina air con steam room plenty of choice sun loungers every night tea coffee main building
Filter
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 1,272 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2017

We have just arrived home from a great holiday at the Hotel Catalonia del Mar. The hotel is in a great location, just opposite the harbour, and surround by shops and restaurants and is in a quiet area.
The reception staff are extremely helpful and check in is quick. All the staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The rooms are spotless and are cleaned every day. There is a free safe, fridge, good quality Wi-Fi and a kettle with tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The staff replenish the tea/coffee/milk/sugar as required.
The pool area is spotless and there are plenty of sunbeds available. Sunbed towels are available to hire at 20 euros each which is returned at the end of your stay. Fresh towels can be got anytime you require them from reception.
The food is mainly geared towards the British Holiday maker and is first class. There is a wide variety of food available for breakfast and dinner. There is a chef show cooking morning and evening and all the food is excellent. Many thanks goes to Rafel and all his dining room staff, the Chef and all the cooks, the waitresses and dining room staff for their hard work. Just want to mention one waitress called Africa who was really friendly and always smiling every time you saw her. The staff have an excellent command of English and are always helpful and friendly.
All the staff in the hotel are hardworking, friendly, and helpful and do every thing to make your stay very special.
Magalia is an excellent customer services manger and comes round and speaks to the guests each day is very pleasant to speak to.
Ignasi the assistant manger is always about the hotel and dining room and is very friendly and helpful.
All the staff in the hotel do everything possible to make you feel personally welcome and to make your stay as great as possible.
Rita the Thomas Cook reps comes to the hotel several times a week, and is only a phone call away if needed.
And then there's Olivia who is the Thomas Cook pool/hotel entertainer. She is an incredible young lady, very friendly, pleasant and great at her job. She walks us to the local market and back on a Friday. Looks after the pool entertainment, such as darts, water aqua aerobics etc. and organises some quizzes.
We have had an excellent 2 week stay at the Catalonia del Mar hotel and would highly recommend this hotel. We hope to be back at this hotel some time in the future.

Stayed: May 2017
3  Thank ruth24april
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaDelMar, Director General at Hotel Catalonia del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Dear Mrs c j,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us in tripadvisor.com. Our guest feedback is really important for us and help us to improve our services.

I apreciate all your nice words in reference to our hotel, pool area, room services, food variety and quality and specially the treatment received from our staff. I will let them know all your nice comments.

I hope to welcome back you soon, and we can show you all our improvements.

Best regards

Carmen Sanchez
Manager at Catalonia del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

We are currently staying hear only been 2 days what a great touch of luck we have 12 days left rooms spotless food plenty of choice both breakfast and evening meal entertainment is a good laugh mixture of pool games darts etc during the day evening entertainment a good laugh local acts etc big shout out to Olivia the entertainment organiser works very hard to get all involved thank you all at this hotel for a great time x

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank johnandlisa7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaDelMar, Director General at Hotel Catalonia del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Dear Mrs c j,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us in tripadvisor.com. Our guest feedback is really important for us and help us to improve our services.

I apreciate all your nice words in reference to our hotel, the food variety and quality, the entretainment, and our staff. I will let them know all your nice words.

I hope to welcome back you soon, and we can show you all our improvements.

Best regards

Carmen Sanchez
Manager at Catalonia del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Excellent location
Food disappointing
Long queues for poor quality meats.
Visiting entertainment was good.
Pool area broken sun beds - lack of enough parasols. Dirty flooring.

Resident entertainment terrible. Promise of cocktail prizes non existent.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank jamesmelvinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaDelMar, jamesmelvinh at Hotel Catalonia del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Dear Mrs c j,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us in tripadvisor.com. Our guest feedback is really important for us and help us to improve our services.

I apreciate your nice words in reference to our location and entretainment.

I am sorry if you feel disapointed about our food. We are going to continue working hard, to keep improving

I hope to welcome back you soon, and we can show you all our improvements.

Best regards

Carmen Sanchez
Manager at Catalonia del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Just arrived back from Hotel Catalonia in Gala Bona. A big thank you to Olivia the entertainment rep and Jose the barman who thinks he looks like George Clooney. Both of these people are the reason why we stayed on for another week. The hotel and area are ideal for disabled people. A big thanks to Carmen, Lynasio, Miguel and Anderson we will definitely be returning. Excellent holiday.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BrianEnglish46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaDelMar, Subdirector at Hotel Catalonia del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Dear Mr Brian,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us in tripadvisor.com. Our guest feedback is really important for us and help us to improve our services.

I apreciate your nice words in reference to our hotel, and our staff, specially Olivia and Jose. I will let them know all your nice comments.

Also I remeber you, and we spentreally good time with you and your wifi.

It will be a pleasure to welcome back you soon, and continue spending good moments with your new tea cup!

Best regards

Ignasi Vilaseca
Assistan Manager at Catalonia del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

I was a little concerned that when we arrived we were dropped in a backstreet without much direction to the hotel. This was due to nearby roadworks. I should say that these did not impact on our stay at all.

The room was spacious and clean. The balcony had a great view of the harbour. The late night noise from nearby pubs and restaurants was apparent but not oppressive and wasn't an issue.

The food was never less than of a good standard and there was always a wide choice. There is an al a carte menu available on a weekend but we forgot to book (24 hours required) and missed out. We did not go hungry.

The largest beach is about a mile away but we found it a pleasant enough walk each morning. There is a smaller beach nearby which has disabled access. The beaches and the sea were always clean.

The staff at the hotel were always friendly and eager to please. The room was cleaned to a high standard every day.

All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andeyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaDelMar, Director General at Hotel Catalonia del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Dear Mr Andeyt,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us in tripadvisor.com. Our guest feedback is really important for us and help us to improve our services.

I apreciate your nice words in reference to our hotel, rooms, views to the harbour food and specially about our staff. I will let them know all your nice comments.

I hope to welcome back you soon, so you can try our a la carte menu!

Best regards

Carmen Sanchez
Manager at Catalonia del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews