We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Esglesia de Santa Maria
from US$219.65
More Info
from US$158.96
More Info
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
293
215
63
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
215
63
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful church side chapels small church main church worth the climb the stained glass windows seaside village old church highest point narrow streets guided tour costa brava altar alter euro prayer baroque
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I knew in advance what to expect and was still blown away. For a comparatively small church in a seaside village, that altar is simply mind-blowing!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank IlyaBurlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I spent a few days near this church, and I loved it's chimes ringing through the city to mark the time. A trip inside showed that it contains one of the most ornate and gorgeous gold altars I've ever seen.

Absolutely worth a look, and a quick prayer of thanksgiving if you are inclined to be thankful while on vacation like I am!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank vegasscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

A beautiful example of a Baroque altar. Seen one church seen them all? No, they all have a different feel to them and their alcoves seem to shimmer.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank CHARLES R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Spectacular views from outside across the ay and rooftops of Cadaques, the walk up through the pretty cobble streets is worth it in itself. The church was closed and pitch dark!! Luckily I saw the box to the left as you enter, you can pay to switch on the lights and reveal the splendor of the altar!!!!!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Dorianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Walk up the neat small streets to the church. It is free and only 1 euro to turn on altar lights. Good photo opportunities from outside the church of the city and harbor.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank VanillaAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews