We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Etrip
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveller rating
146
227
118
34
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
146
227
118
34
33
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 558 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We booked this fairly last minute so was reasonably priced and we can honestly say it's one if the nicest hotels we've stayed in. Every where was spotlessly clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the location is perfect, with the beach literally over the road. Only a couple of minor negative comments which are: where as the roof terrace is lovely, it wasn't mentioned anywhere that the lift didn't go there and you had to go from the top floor to the roof via an outside spiral metal staircase, which meant as my husband is terrified of heights we were unable to enjoy this area. Also the food was lovely and plentiful for my husband but for myself a vegetarian who doesn't each fish, the choice was salad chips and pasta every night! but that does seem to be the case most places! Overall a great holiday and would definitely recommend the Maritim

Room tip: we stayed on the 5th floor with a sea view, quiet from other guests.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie033
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Chrissie,
Thanks for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. I’m happy to know that overall you had a good stay at Hotel Marítim. I apologize for the inconvenience with the roof top, we will take your comment into consideration for future improvements.
We are waiting for you at Hotel Marítim.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have visited Calella with my partner from 5 till 15th September and stayed at GHT Maritim Hotel
What is really good about this hotel - it’s located right by the beach, so roughly it is about 5 minutes walking distance to the beach. Secondly it has Solarium on the roof with two Jacuzzis, little pool on the ground floor by the Bar and little spa-like place in the basement. So whenever it is a bad weather keeping you from the sea you can spare your time using hotel facilities instead. And last but not list – very polite and helpful personal. This is about all strongest points of this establishment.

Rooms: very poor decorated, beds are quite old consist of two twin beds and If you share your bed with your partner be prepared to slip only on your half of the bed and whenever you will try to reach each other beds will most definitely split apart leaving a huge gap between, causing a huge inconvenience. The rest of the furniture is also quite old and I think in a few more years and they can sell it on an auction as an antique. Very poor lightning in the room as well.

Service: quite good, they changing bed linings every two days so all the time you have fresh sleeping experience. However, anything that should be included in the room price is actually cost separately such as remote control for the TV, requires 20 euro deposit and TV doesn’t work without it. Safe - cost almost 40 Euros with 10 as the deposit for the key. Fridge – 3 euro/day. I am not sure why hair dryer is still free of charge as well as a toilet bowl??

Dining: the hotel has their own restaurant on site. Our trip included breakfast and dinner although they have lunch as well for an extra cost. Breakfast is the same everyday however they have different courses for dinner. Coffee is sucks though. If you like a real coffee for breakfast (espresso or cappuccino) you can only have a substitute from the coffee maker (not coffee machine) I am not sure why they don’t have a real coffee even for extra cost? Another catch: they mixing some food from the previous day let say if there was a pasta on a menu on Monday then this particular pasta will appear in the pasta salad next day. So be very careful with salads!!! We had terrible stomach experience on the second day of our visit until made this miraculous discovery with the food leftovers. They don’t however accept any complains unless you speak Catalonian they will pretend that don’t understand your concern at all.

Surroundings: Very noisy almost all the time. And if you decided to sleep with an open window be prepared to wake up at 7am from the train, deliveries, kids, personnel communications and etc. And in the evening Spanish singing from the local bar will definitely piss you off especially that terrible singer who feels like cat was stuck in a water drain for a very long time.

Room tip: get the room with the sea view it is a bit expensive but at list you wont see your fellow neighbors changing or the wall
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexmayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Alex,
Thank you very much for sending your comments to Trip Advisor. It is due to the guest opinions that we have the opportunity to improve and definitely we will do it taking into consideration your comments.
I’m a little bit confused about your comment regarding the coffee, since the beginning of this year a coffee machine from Nestle can be used in the buffet. Clients can also have coffe in our bar.
Hopefully we will see you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and I just returned from a really enjoyable week at this hotel in Calella.
Everything is on the doorstep from the beach to the main shopping plaza. Beach is great. Food was quite tasty and varied, but having to pay so much for a small bottle of water kinda spoiled it for me.
Room spotlessly clean and staff work very hard to make your stay pleasurable. Sea view an added pleasure.
We went into Barcelona to visit all the sights and found a restaurant that charged even more for a small bottle of water!
All in all a really nice hotel in a great location. We would stay here again without hesitation.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pajg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for your comments. We are so glad to know that you had a good experience in our hotel and enjoyed our facilities and services.
Day after day we work to offer our customers the widest variety of meals in order to satisfy the tastes of our customers. Thanks for appreciate it.
We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel. It will be our pleasure to welcome you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable week at the GHT, Maritim hotel. From the moment we arrived we experienced top class hospitality from the reception staff, maid and restaurant staff who all work extremely hard to keep the hotel spotlessly clean and comfortable. Rooms were really good especially as we were allocated a sea view room on the first floor without requesting one. Air con was silent but really effective. Food was good, we were half board, especially the Spanish night on the Thursday was our favourite where they served Paella and as most nights fresh fish which was very hot. I mention this because my only 2 gripes would be that the food temperature was a bit hit and miss depending on what time you arrived for dinner. And the price of a small bottle of water was extortionate as mentioned in previous reviews!

We loved the location because it was just across the street from the main beach which was very clean. We just bought ourselves a sun umbrella and a couple of mats which worked out cheaper than hiring sunbeds daily. The main centre with all the shops and restaurants was on the doorstep of the hotel which was great! We travelled into Barcelona a couple of days for sight-seeing from Calella main line train station which is very easy to navigate from as there is an attendant at the station who helps you to not only purchase tickets. Takes about an hour and once there Metro is easy to travel on also.

All in all a great relaxing week and we would definately return to this hotel if visiting Calella again!

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKPajG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is always such a pleasure to read positive comments about our hotel. We hope to see you soon. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here aug 13. We left a supposedly 3 star hotel and checked in here not expecting too much as this is also 3 star in the same resort. Well it was like stepping into a different world! This hotel is beautiful, its spotlessly clean not luxurious but very very pleasant. Bathroom was lovely, I showered with a sea view. The food was tasty and presented really well. Dining room was clean, bright and tables were cleared promptly. Staff are helpful and friendly. We had a room on the 5th floor with a beautiful sea and pool view. The roof top solarium was peaceful and relaxing (no need to fight for sunbeds either). I honestly cant fault this place and cant understand why its only a 3 star. I'd give it a 4 star rating. In fact I've stayed in 4 star hotels that aren't as nice as Maritim. I will be back, The waiter at the bar was hilarious.

Room tip: Sea views are beautiful.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45kayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear valued client,
Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for publishing this wonderful comment on TripAdvisor.
What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the hotel and its services.
We are all looking forward to welcome you again at your new home in Calella, Hotel Marítim. 
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews