We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good the first time that we went back again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chessington Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chessington Safari Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So good the first time that we went back again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Although this is part of the holiday inn chain, this hotel offers much more than the standard. Themed rooms and view of the Wanayama reserve make for a brilliant break with the children. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and clean. On this visit we stayed on the second floor overlooking the reserve and the view was fantastic. The kids jumped out of bed when they realised that the oryx and ostrichs were just being let out and having a great time tearing around the reserve. It made getting the kids to breakfast diffiucult as they wanted to stay and watch! We had room 231 which also meant you could see across to the bird cages and the vultures. The one night package was excellent value with buffet breakfast and entry to the zoo on two days.
Being half term meant the hotel was packed with the only downside being that so was the pool/spa (ran out of towels) and also the Zafiri grill. We only managed to get a late table for dinner and service was extremely slow although this seemed to be down to our waitress as others around us were served quicker by other staff.
Overall would thoroughly recommend this break to others.

Room Tip: Beware rooms on the first floor overlooking the reserve as although charged at a premium, the view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Your comments will be shared with all the departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    546
    270
    144
    120
See reviews for
1,194
101
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel.
We had a room for two adults and two children. The room was very well set out. The children had their own section of the room (wall inbetween us but no doors) that had two single beds and a television. We had a good size bathroom and the main part of the bedroom was a really good size with plenty of hanging space and shelves, tea and coffee making facilities, a desk and television. Our room overlooked the Reserve which was fantastic. The children got to meet Raa Raa The Noisy Lion (from CBeebies) which they thought was fabulous. The staff were really nice and the breakfast that was included was absolutely amazing. The restaurant in the evening was a tad expensive (and not as nice as our previous visit - but still OK!). All in all, a very nice hotel and we will be staying there again. It's also on the doorstop to Chessington World Of Adventures which is fantastic, but we would rather go when all the theme park rides are open rather than just doing the zoo and sea life centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Reserve - it's a lovely view to wake up to and makes you feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to write that review for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Was thoroughly impressed by this hotel, friendly staff and excellent rooms, well designed with families in mind. Not where I would want to go as a couple but with kids, great, food was good, facilities good. Only grumble was swimming pool changing rooms not big enough at peak times and lockers were terrible to open, took me 10 mins in wet costumn with two little ones!

other wise great!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkMumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for your great review. Apologies for your experience with the locker locks! We will get our maintenance team to take a look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I travel a lot on business, but never have I had this. I had to change my plans through work and therefore as I could not make the hotel I called as early as possible to see what was possible. They said, quite correctly, as I was later then the timd deadline they could not do anything. However, on speaking to many members of staff and loads of time waiting listening to lift muzak to see if they would waive the fee for not getting there, I was told no refund. I was also told the hotel was full, every room, and this was just tough, they would not consider anything outside the 'rules'.
So, for customer service, zero, for politeness and explanatory service, zero, for having a gelpfull attitude zero. There was just nobody who had any authority prepred to speak on the phone. I use Holiday nn a lot and this is the first 'bad experience' I have had. I hope I do not get any more like this.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We are sorry that you clearly and understandably feel very annoyed about this situation. We can assure you that on many an occasion we will go out of our way to exceed the expectations of our guests and also to be as fair as possible to all guests. Our cancellation policy is there to ensure guests do have the flexibility to change their plans (usually up until 4pm on the day of arrival) and that we have fair time to resell a room that has been pre-allocated to another guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

As a family of 4, the HI Chessington is a great location for a night away. With the family rooms you have plenty of space for everyone.

As previously, we used the hotel as a base into london. With a hotel swim in the evening and a great breakfast it has everything you would need as a family.

A slight niggle on check in when they put us in a 1st floor room over the function area but we requested a change and were moved to the 3rd floor. Don't accept a 1st floor room to the right of reception.

We are planning another return in June....a great hotel.

Room Tip: As for as high a room as possible and reject the 1st floor over the top of the function rooms due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BournemouthFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWOAR, Manager at Chessington Safari Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We are delighted to hear that you will be staying with us again. We are so pleased that you and the family keep having great experiences. Thank you for leaving all the positive reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chessington
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#103 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#143 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LEGOLAND Resort Hotel
#5 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chessington Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chessington Safari Hotel

Property: Chessington Safari Hotel
Address: Leatherhead Road | Chessington World of Adventures Resort, Chessington KT9 2NE, England (Formerly Holiday Inn London - Chessington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chessington
Price range (per night): $139 - $315
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chessington Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to an African inspired reserve with zebras, antelopes, ostriches and the very rare Scimitar Horned Oryx roaming freely before your very eyes - it's the ultimate room with a Zoo! The hotel is perfect for family breaks with safari theming, African Adventure rooms, Penguins of Madagascar themed rooms, an indoor swimming pool, the family friendly Savannah Splash, gym & spa and the fantastic Zafari Bar & Grill. The hotel is part of the Chessington World of Adventures Resort and is just a few strides away from the Park. On weekends and during school holidays there are also animal meet and greets and character breakfasts. The hotel also has state of the art corporate facilities with 6 meeting rooms all with natural daylight, air conditioning and high speed internet access. At the theme park take on the KOBRA, our exciting spinning disc ride in Wild Asia, soar on the Vampire roller coaster through the depths of Transylvania or take a fiery spin round Dragon's Fury. Take a walk on the wild side with tigers, lions and gorillas in the Trail of the Kings, go underwater with sharks and stingrays in the SEA LIFE centre or journey to our new Wanyama Village & Reserve where the zebras and antelopes roam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Chessington Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Chessington Hotel Chessington
Holiday Inn Chessington
Chessington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing