We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The teachers treat your tastebuds”

The Restaurant at Tante Marie
Ranked #19 of 218 Restaurants in Woking
Price range: US$9 - US$53
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Restaurant at Tante Marie brings a unique and fresh dining experience to life. Tante Marie Culinary Academy is one of the world's leading cookery schools and The Restaurant at Tante Marie is staffed by graduates of the Academy's acclaimed Cordon Bleu Diploma course. Whilst working at The Restaurant in Woking, in the heart of Surrey, the graduates will be taking their training to the next level by studying for a Hospitality Management qualification through a workplace based programme. For our guests, this means world class cooking and service, in an informal yet stylish environment.
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We lucked out: just arrived in Woking for a family visit, which coincides with a weekly (Wednesdays) "The Professionals" lunch. This culinary school's teachers showing off their skills, in a "Pompidou Centre"-style modern setting, in Woking's pedestrian centre. From start to finish, everything was to perfection. Three course menu is a "suggested minimum" of 18 pounds - we paid 20; choice of wines by the bottle or half bottle. The whole meal cost us 55 pounds for the two of us. Great value for money, and each dish was truly delicious. Welcoming staff, spotless toilets. Probably the best in Woking and environs.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AvuncularAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2017

We have been going to the monthly lunch time meal where the trainee chef's cook up a meal and desert and you pay as much as feel its deserves. If you want fine dinning for a fraction of the cost then you won't go wrong here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank everthingelse2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Extremely disappointed to get phone call 4 days before our reservation - for a special occasion, telling me the restaurant has now closed. To reopen in a few weeks time! What contempt the decision makers must have for the public that have supported this concept since it opened. The website merely states that it has now closed and will reopen in a few weeks - no apologies for all the disappointed customers who have had their plans disrupted by this decision.

5  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at The Restaurant at Tante Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Chris M,
It is with great sadness that a decision has been taken to cease the operations of our restaurant and not entirely correct that it is re-opening in a few weeks time: we have exciting plans to bring the space into the activities of Tante Marie Culinary Academy, meaning Woking and the public will enjoy greater interaction with the Academy.
Sadly, however, we have had to take a step back and look at Woking more generally: the town is well represented by restaurants and while we offered something a little different to the broad selection of chain operators, we were simply not busy enough justify staying open, and risk compromising our core business.
Clearly this meant we would be unable to honor our existing bookings and we knew that there were going to be some customers who were very disappointed. We can only apologise, and say that right now, our thoughts are gratitude go out to those customers who have supported us over the last 2 years and importantly, to our wonderful, brilliant and dedicated core team of staff in the restaurant, who are sadly no longer with us. They will be greatly missed and I am sure that our loyal customers will echo me in thanking them for many happy memories.
With kind regards, and apologies for cancelling your event.
Andrew Maxwell
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Had a meal here pre-theatre and found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. The quality of the food was first rate, but I would have awarded a higher score if the portions were not so miserly! Two average sized scallops as a starter! The main was also tiny.
However, the flavours and presentation was first class, so provided you are not starving hungry, you will enjoy the food.The bill is on the high side.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hantstraveller051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, The Tante Marie Team at The Restaurant at Tante Marie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Dear Hantstraveller051,
Thank you for your review and comments. We are always grateful to customers for leaving helpful and considered feedback such as this.
We've had many discussions about portion sizes and for everyone who comments they are too small, there are others who say they are just right... one thing we do know is that the food we serve, being 'real food' (i.e. cooked from fresh ingredients by skilled chefs) is quite rich. Another consideration for us has been one of minimising waste: in order to gain accreditation from the Sustainable Restaurant Association, one of the things we have to do is monitor what comes back to the kitchen and adjust portion sizes accordingly. The sizes are based on past experience of what customers want. However, we constantly adapt and we have taken your comments on board so thank you for this.
With kind regards,
The Tante Marie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

THIS REVIEW IS BY MY HUSBAND.
"I booked dinner for 14 from my French evening class. The staff were most helpful in arranging a "prix fixe" menu for our group and produced a menu of two or three courses with three choices in each. Everyone was very happy with the selection offered.
On the evening, everyone couldn't have been more welcoming and service was swift and efficient without being obtrusive. The kitchen provided us with the most delicious dishes and everyone in our party was delighted. Very relaxed and comfortable ambience. We will certainly be back both as a group and as individuals."

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gaynor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Tante Marie also viewed

Woking, Surrey
Woking, Surrey
 

Been to The Restaurant at Tante Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing