We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucked into a historic mountain getaway”
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We were so incredibly fortunate to book this last-minute, as this and other local B&Bs were booked for a wedding, but the Schoolhouse room (separate from the main house) was available! We were thinking we would need to board our dogs, but with encouragement from the innkeepers, we brought them along, as the property has a few miles of walking trails and the Schoolhouse is pet friendly. They even provided dog bowls, treats, towels, and blankets!

Mayhurst Inn is the perfect place to stay if visiting Montpelier (main item on our weekend to-do list), and there are plenty of activities and restaurant options nearby in Orange and historic Gordonsville. Be sure to have BBQ at the BBQ Exchange! (The breakfasts at the Inn were generous and delicious - we didn't want to miss them...and the Inn offers discounts and passes for local activities.)

Next time, we will need to bring our bikes, as the innkeepers put together a nice binder full of cycling routes to get out and enjoy the countryside. Also, we would hope to book a kayaking expedition at Rapidan River just to the west. As it was, we were able to take a country drive to the Shenandoah and hike the White Oak Canyon trail with the pups on our last day. Beautiful, demure waterfalls and moderate hiking in perfect Spring weather.

Thanks for all you did to make us feel at home and comfortable with our little getaway, Mayhurst Inn!

Room Tip: B&B schoolhouse is THE choice for introverts with dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Logan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

The hosts were very helpful in suggesting wineries and restaurants in this historic area. They provided discount passes for the wineries and for Montpelier. The inn'a architecture and decor was outstanding, especially the 11 foot arched windows. Breakfast was delicious.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Mayhurst Inn is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Monticello, Montpelier, Ash Lawn, wineries and civil war sites. Innkeepers Pat and Jack are the best hosts I have experienced. Rooms are large, inviting and fully equipped. The grounds are beautiful. The history of the house is part of your stay. Breakfast was delicious and not overly gigantic. We loved our stay here and hope to return!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We stayed for a weekend and has a very comfortable room with a wonderful breakfast. The owners were very helpful in giving us suggestions and providing free coupons for wine tastings in the area. They also had wine and cheese offered in the evenings.

Room Tip: The grounds were pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dianaChesapeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This is my second stay and the Mayhurst Inn visiting a nearby corporate client. Its a charming and large place. What stands out is the host and hostess. They are remarkable catering to your every need. The breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
4.7 km away
The Inn at Willow Grove
1.3 km away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
0.7 km away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#5 of 7 in Orange
246 reviews
24.8 km away
Boxley Place Inn
Boxley Place Inn
#2 of 5 in Louisa
17 reviews
3.9 km away
Inn at Westwood Farm
Inn at Westwood Farm
#3 of 7 in Orange
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Address: 12460 Mayhurst Ln, Orange, VA 22960-2847
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: $244 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayhurst Inn is a luxurious Virginia Bed and Breakfast located in Orange, VA and near Charlottesville. The stunning 156 year old 9200 sq. ft. Plantation Manor House and our eight unique guest rooms and suites will enchant you and provide the ideal back drop for a perfect getaway or vacation. Situated on 37 acres of the rolling Virginia Piedmont, surrounded by manicured lawns, multiple gardens, old growth trees and fields, you will be transported away from today's day-to-day stress to a time and place where relaxation was a way of life. You will be pampered with luxury, fine Virginia Wines, exceptional service and sumptuous breakfasts while surrounded with romance and history. Your stay at Mayhurst can be as relaxed as you want or filled with adventure and the many exciting things to do and places to visit that surround us. Come take pleasure in the "Plantation Experience" and enjoy some true Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing