We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
321
16
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
321
16
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese eggs benedict southern charm other guests baked apple civil war history wonderful hosts discount tickets my wife and i parfait madison room antique stores get together b bs wonderful experience made us feel back porch
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017

an outstanding B&B with some of the nicest rooms anywhere....hosts were genuinely nice and very attentive. Enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese session in the livingroom. The breakfasts were terrific, too.

Room Tip: Like many old B&B's, best rooms are on 2nd floor
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Three superb nights!!! Fantastic food, history galore (from the inn itself to guided battlefield [4] tours), antique shopping, Montpelier, and superior wine tasting venues -- what more can you ask. The room and other inn attributes were superior in all respects. The Inn Keepers (Jack and Pat) were most gracious hosts and pretty doggone good cooks! The afternoon wine and cheese is well served and very entertaining. A relaxing and enjoyable experience in a beautiful part of Virginia.

Room Tip: First choice for those of us more elderly -- General's room, main floor.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We had a lovely getaway weekend at the Mayhurst. So many great things about this location:
1) Beautiful property - well maintained, historic, walking trails, fresh air...
2) Extremely welcoming owners - I was amazed by how they could make everyone feel at home. It must be difficult to have so many people come through your home and deal with the good and bad guests. they make it seem so enjoyable. They even sit down with everyone over evening wine and cheese to talk and tell their story
3) We stayed in the Generals Room -- where three civil war generals supposedly stayed. That's just cool. And the bed was comfy, the private bath modern, and it was all around nice.
4) The location is great for so many attractions. You have a 45 miles radius to see so many different sites -- wineries, Montpelier, Monticello, UVA, Ashlawn, etc.
5) Did I mention the breakfast? Daily gourmet meals and delicious coffee.

It was really a great weekend and we will go back!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jande_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We were so incredibly fortunate to book this last-minute, as this and other local B&Bs were booked for a wedding, but the Schoolhouse room (separate from the main house) was available! We were thinking we would need to board our dogs, but with encouragement from the innkeepers, we brought them along, as the property has a few miles of walking trails and the Schoolhouse is pet friendly. They even provided dog bowls, treats, towels, and blankets!

Mayhurst Inn is the perfect place to stay if visiting Montpelier (main item on our weekend to-do list), and there are plenty of activities and restaurant options nearby in Orange and historic Gordonsville. Be sure to have BBQ at the BBQ Exchange! (The breakfasts at the Inn were generous and delicious - we didn't want to miss them...and the Inn offers discounts and passes for local activities.)

Next time, we will need to bring our bikes, as the innkeepers put together a nice binder full of cycling routes to get out and enjoy the countryside. Also, we would hope to book a kayaking expedition at Rapidan River just to the west. As it was, we were able to take a country drive to the Shenandoah and hike the White Oak Canyon trail with the pups on our last day. Beautiful, demure waterfalls and moderate hiking in perfect Spring weather.

Thanks for all you did to make us feel at home and comfortable with our little getaway, Mayhurst Inn!

Room Tip: B&B schoolhouse is THE choice for introverts with dogs
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Logan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

The hosts were very helpful in suggesting wineries and restaurants in this historic area. They provided discount passes for the wineries and for Montpelier. The inn'a architecture and decor was outstanding, especially the 11 foot arched windows. Breakfast was delicious.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews