We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Reviewed 12 August 2017

What a fabulous Hotel! The staff are friendly, the food was great and the location was perfect. Due to unforeseen circumstances (storms) we had to come in a night earlier, and nothing was to much of a hassle. The hotel is close to everything (breweries, wineries and distilleries and also the fabulous Oyster Farm Shop!!!

If you are wanting to go to Kangaroo Island - you really need to stay here.

Room Tip: a view of American River.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RikkiCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

We've stayed in a lot of places over the years - we travel full time - but KI Lodge is now one of our favourite places and an experience we will remember for a very long time.

What makes this exceptional is the level of customer service. The staff go above and beyond to help you, to serve you, to provide you with that amazing experience. And they deliver every time. And if you want to be left alone, they're happy to do that too. From being greeted in the hotel reception to being served atdinner (who, it works out, is the same staff), you get amazing, personable, friendly staff. Nothing is a bother.

We stayed in room 35 which overlooked the sea. Waking up to the beautiful sunrises each morning was definitely a beautiful way to start the day. We could even see the pelicans from our room window!

We asked about the pelican feeding. They use the offcuts from the restaurant for the feedings, but they don't do pelican feedings unless you ask. They don't want the pelicans to get lazy or expect it. Smart, resourceful and they seem to think about the big picture with every task.

We planned on having dinner only once in the restaurant but we ended up dining twice. The food was amazing. They have won awards for their restaurant, 'Reflections' and Chef Roberto delivers exceptional meals with everything he makes (I only know his name because I asked and he came out and asked me if the parfait was to my liking, since I'd asked about it when making our booking). The parfait was beyond words. So, SO good. I will also say this: I hate cauliflower but I tasted my husband's soup and I groaned out loud. It was amazing. The local house wines are from the wineries around the island and are very, very good as well.

The rooms are spacious, the bed is very comfortable and with the added bonus of the kitchenette, it offers the option to eat in if you wish. We bought some goodies from the food outlets on island (honey from Cliffords, yoghurt from the Pure Island) and had breakfast in our room, with the coffee (pod maker) provider.

I can't say enough about our experience. You feel like you have it to yourself off season...at least until you see other people coming and going in the restaurant or see cars in the parking lot.

KI Lodge is the perfect base to explore the island. Everything is in driving distance and when you're done exploring for the day, you can end it with an amazing meal you don't have to cook yourself, a glass of island wine, and a quiet spot to rest.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. You won't be disappointed. Be sure to eat in the restaurant. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelFarEnough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We've just spent a few days on Kangaroo Island. We had a great room, with a view of the river. The staff were really friendly & helpful, telling us about things to do & how to get there. We also enjoyed the meals we had there, especially as 1 night we were the only ones in the Restaurant, but it was not too much trouble for them to serve us. As it was not their busy time the breakfasts were freshly cooked. We would definitely stay there again if we return to Kangaroo Island.

Room Tip: We had a room quite close to reception, with a good view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandymac174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Very spacious with beautiful sea views from room 38. KS bed most comfortable
Dined at restaurant and food was the best presented and most delicious we have had on our trip
Waitress who served us was delightful

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 308mazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

What a surprise! Great views with friendly staff in a fantastic environment. But wait there's more! Stay for dinner and it gets even better. Compliments to the chef! Then there is the travel around the Island with. I will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
91.4 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
15.9 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
399 reviews
18.2 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
18.5 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.2 km away
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Address: 73 Scenic Dr, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range: $186 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing