We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Brackenridge Country Retreat(Martinborough)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Martinborough Hotel(Martinborough)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Peppers Parehua Martinborough(Martinborough)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Martinborough TOP 10 Holiday Park(Martinborough)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Pinot Villas(Martinborough)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Claremont Motel & Apartments(Martinborough)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Martinborough Motel(Martinborough)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$53
US$51
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Martinborough Experience B&B(Martinborough)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
91
27
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
27
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was spaciouslong weekendsmall bathroomlovely placevineyardsmargrainwinejamsduvet
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We booked Aylstone based on the reviews written on TripAdvisor, and we were certainly not disappointed. The room we had, The Venice Room, was just superb. Being able to sit out on the deck, or even on the grass outside, whilst taking in an amazing view, partaking in a lovely bottle of local wine is just the best feeling. The room was extremely comfortable, with a comfy bed, fluffy towels, and all amenities. The breakfast was in the room, we enjoyed cereal/muesli, lovely bread, home made fruit compote, yoghurt, and top range juices, along with a variety of teas and coffees. If you are expecting a cooked breakfast, then I suggest you go to one of the lovely cafes in Martinborough. I cannot fault this place, and as such, we'll be back again soon. Thank you Marian for a lovely relaxing stay.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank AusTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We booked this Alystone as a little bit of luxury on a whirlwind visit to Wellington and Martinborough and overall it didnt disappoint, the building is gorgeous, all the rooms looked beautiful, the lady who helped us checkin and leave bags early was very helpful, giving tips on where to eat, where to visit etc.
we stopped in the broadway room, which was a lovely size, nice en-suite but only has a shower (for those wanting a relaxing bath), the deck outside has a lovely view but it is shared with the room next door
after the day of walking wine tasting we also relaxed in the garden with a bottle of wine playing boules which was great fun.
not that it detracted from the stay at all but clearly the Aylstone used to have a restaurant which would have been great for breakfast/or evening meal but the new owners have it currently closed, have an amazing chef run tasting menus with matching local wines would be stellar, but regardless next time we visit Martinborough wine trails we will be back at the Aylstone

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank The_Cloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

We are in Martinborough for wine tasting and what a lovely place to stay. Marian is absolutely lovely, she made us feel so welcome, we could have chatted with her for hours. The room was lovely, decorated in black and white. The bed was comfy and I got a piece of dark chocolate on my pillow each night, she won my heart. There are numerous boutique wineries all in town and many within walking distance of Aylstone. This is a great place to try wine tasting by bike if you have never tried it. We easily walked into town at night for dinner and enjoyed the amazing stars on the way back home. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Had a fantastic time at the Aylstone! Beautiful property quietly nestled between vineyards yet only a stone's throw from the town centre. Great communal areas (petanque anyone?) with bright, spacious and private rooms. Fantastic bed, amazing robes and fabulous little touches everywhere (chocolates & snacks & coffee machine!). Perfect for a couples getaway and also can't beat it for a friends get together!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MITRIPS_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015

We selected Aylstone due to location to town and to an event we were attending, also due to its size of the property (not over populated/too many rooms).
These factors were key, but the real amazement for me was how welcoming and beautiful it was.
Every staff member we encountered was very nice, and the whole property was picturesque.
Our room was lovely. Great views, large comfortable bed, very clean and tidy.
Marianne is a sweetheart who obviously cares not only for her property but also for her guests. She was so warm and inviting, she was the real icing on a beautiful cake.
Will visit again, if i get the chance.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: We were lucky to get to pick a room, and from what we saw, all were lovely. If you are visiting in Summer, something with outdoor flow could be a wise selection.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_W_Lash_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews