We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay for a wine tour of Martinborough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Reviewed 4 April 2015

The Aylstone Boutique Retreat was the perfect place to stay to enjoy everything that Martinborough had to offer. We arrived way earlier than we had meant to and we were able to get straight in to the room. Our lovely host even gave us a run-down of the best vineyards in the area and the best way of making our way round them. Our room at the Aylstone was Cologne and was absolutely gorgeous, with patio doors leading straight out to views of the vineyard next door. We were offered breakfast but we had already decided we wanted to wait and eat at our next stop so passed on this. We did, however, tuck into the fruit and nibbles / sweets that had been left in our room. Fantastic place to stay!

Room Tip: Cologne was perfect for us, beautiful views of the vineyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank berteebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2015

We booked Aylstone based on the reviews written on TripAdvisor, and we were certainly not disappointed. The room we had, The Venice Room, was just superb. Being able to sit out on the deck, or even on the grass outside, whilst taking in an amazing view, partaking in a lovely bottle of local wine is just the best feeling. The room was extremely comfortable, with a comfy bed, fluffy towels, and all amenities. The breakfast was in the room, we enjoyed cereal/muesli, lovely bread, home made fruit compote, yoghurt, and top range juices, along with a variety of teas and coffees. If you are expecting a cooked breakfast, then I suggest you go to one of the lovely cafes in Martinborough. I cannot fault this place, and as such, we'll be back again soon. Thank you Marian for a lovely relaxing stay.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank AusTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We booked this Alystone as a little bit of luxury on a whirlwind visit to Wellington and Martinborough and overall it didnt disappoint, the building is gorgeous, all the rooms looked beautiful, the lady who helped us checkin and leave bags early was very helpful, giving tips on where to eat, where to visit etc.
we stopped in the broadway room, which was a lovely size, nice en-suite but only has a shower (for those wanting a relaxing bath), the deck outside has a lovely view but it is shared with the room next door
after the day of walking wine tasting we also relaxed in the garden with a bottle of wine playing boules which was great fun.
not that it detracted from the stay at all but clearly the Aylstone used to have a restaurant which would have been great for breakfast/or evening meal but the new owners have it currently closed, have an amazing chef run tasting menus with matching local wines would be stellar, but regardless next time we visit Martinborough wine trails we will be back at the Aylstone

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank The_Cloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

We are in Martinborough for wine tasting and what a lovely place to stay. Marian is absolutely lovely, she made us feel so welcome, we could have chatted with her for hours. The room was lovely, decorated in black and white. The bed was comfy and I got a piece of dark chocolate on my pillow each night, she won my heart. There are numerous boutique wineries all in town and many within walking distance of Aylstone. This is a great place to try wine tasting by bike if you have never tried it. We easily walked into town at night for dinner and enjoyed the amazing stars on the way back home. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Had a fantastic time at the Aylstone! Beautiful property quietly nestled between vineyards yet only a stone's throw from the town centre. Great communal areas (petanque anyone?) with bright, spacious and private rooms. Fantastic bed, amazing robes and fabulous little touches everywhere (chocolates & snacks & coffee machine!). Perfect for a couples getaway and also can't beat it for a friends get together!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MITRIPS_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
1 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
252 reviews
37.7 km away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
132 reviews
14.6 km away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#2 of 3 in Greytown
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.9 km away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
645 reviews
1.5 km away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aylstone Boutique Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aylstone Boutique Retreat

Address: 19 Huangarua Road, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range: S$272 - S$293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aylstone Boutique Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aylstone Boutique Retreat in Martinborough, just 1 hour from Wellington, offers six boutique rooms with lovely views, classic furnishings and ensuite bathrooms. Aylstone is set among world class Martinborough vineyards offering peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Aylstone Boutique Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing