We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
91
27
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
27
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong weekendsmall bathroomcomfortable bedlovely placevineyardsmargrainwineduvet
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Room well equipped and clean with comfy bed.
Grounds were pretty.
Welcome was short and to the point! No one in attendance so you have to ring for assistance. OK if you have a phone but not sure what happens if you don't?
Obviously they lived nearby so an address would have been handy.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmankelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

This is a delightful B&B away from the centre of the town (10-15 minutes walk) and right by the vineyards - ideal for visiting them as one can do so on foot without having to drive after drinking!

Aylstone is made up to be comfortable de luxe accommodation and it very nearly succeeds. I would have given it 5 stars but my room had a surprisingly small bathroom, the bedroom was not serviced in a two day stay, the proprietor was absent almost all the time (one had to ring her to be let in - not ideal for foreigners on roaming mobile charges) and the supplies offered for breakfast were limited and not renewed for the second morning. But the location is beautiful and it is certainly quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_from_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

This accommodation is away from the noise of the central square. It is in the heart of the main vineyards and a perfect base for visiting the local vineyards. It is within walking distance of a number of good vineyards. It has a country feel and is isolated and quiet. The price is at the top end of the market at $300/ night so you do expect high quality. The bed was comfortable and the pillows soft. The underfloor heating ensured we stayed warm as we stayed mid winter. There was bread and spreads in the fridge but no cereals for breakfast. When we arrived We had to phone someone to give us the key as the office was not open despite us arriving at the recommended time. It appears this accommodation is managed offsite. we enjoyed our stay and our only complaint was the bathroom with no ventilation was dripping in condensation and while sitting on the toilet you get wet from the water dripping down from the skylight. Very clean and tidy.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alipa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We just came across this delightful hotel on our retreat from Wellington. Small and incredibly well, appointed. Attention to small details made the place very run. The ground are well kept (construction gong on made it a little tough, but not bad) with a p'tanque court that could have used some TLC.

Easy walk to a number of wineries and the town with several good restaurants

Room Tip: further away from the entrance would be good, but the rooms are just fine everywhere
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank learyjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

This is a very pretty, quiet accommodation set amongst the vineyards of Martinborough. We stayed for 2 nights in January in the Panama room. The room was beautifully and tastefully decorated and we had lovely views of the vineyards from both windows. The room was well equipped with everything we needed right down to torches to guide us back from Martinborough town, a 10 minute walk away. We made good use of the outdoor furniture and sipped locally purchased cheese and wine in the gardens overlooking the surrounding vineyards. It is such a peaceful place and perfect for couples looking for a tranquil and romantic retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EireTraveller37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews