We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Aylstone Boutique Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Stayed at the Aylstone for 2 nights. The room was spacious and very clean. As with other reviewers there was no one on reception when I arrived and you have to phone to get someone to give you a key and let you in the room. When I enquired about breakfast I was told there is some bread and butter and jams for breakfast. Then the lady made the statement that most people have a cup of coffee and then go into Martinborough to a cafe for breakfast. This I found to be very poor for the type of establishment and the money you pay. Also on second night again two pieces of bread but no plate to put them on very poor. Also no phone in the room to call reception to remedy the problem. Overall comfortable room in nice gardens but lacking some of the essentials of a bed and breakfast. Not good value for the money paid.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FRANCIS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2017

Room well equipped and clean with comfy bed.
Grounds were pretty.
Welcome was short and to the point! No one in attendance so you have to ring for assistance. OK if you have a phone but not sure what happens if you don't?
Obviously they lived nearby so an address would have been handy.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmankelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

This is a delightful B&B away from the centre of the town (10-15 minutes walk) and right by the vineyards - ideal for visiting them as one can do so on foot without having to drive after drinking!

Aylstone is made up to be comfortable de luxe accommodation and it very nearly succeeds. I would have given it 5 stars but my room had a surprisingly small bathroom, the bedroom was not serviced in a two day stay, the proprietor was absent almost all the time (one had to ring her to be let in - not ideal for foreigners on roaming mobile charges) and the supplies offered for breakfast were limited and not renewed for the second morning. But the location is beautiful and it is certainly quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_from_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

This accommodation is away from the noise of the central square. It is in the heart of the main vineyards and a perfect base for visiting the local vineyards. It is within walking distance of a number of good vineyards. It has a country feel and is isolated and quiet. The price is at the top end of the market at $300/ night so you do expect high quality. The bed was comfortable and the pillows soft. The underfloor heating ensured we stayed warm as we stayed mid winter. There was bread and spreads in the fridge but no cereals for breakfast. When we arrived We had to phone someone to give us the key as the office was not open despite us arriving at the recommended time. It appears this accommodation is managed offsite. we enjoyed our stay and our only complaint was the bathroom with no ventilation was dripping in condensation and while sitting on the toilet you get wet from the water dripping down from the skylight. Very clean and tidy.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alipa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We just came across this delightful hotel on our retreat from Wellington. Small and incredibly well, appointed. Attention to small details made the place very run. The ground are well kept (construction gong on made it a little tough, but not bad) with a p'tanque court that could have used some TLC.

Easy walk to a number of wineries and the town with several good restaurants

Room Tip: further away from the entrance would be good, but the rooms are just fine everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank learyjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
1 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
253 reviews
37.7 km away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
132 reviews
14.6 km away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#2 of 3 in Greytown
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
0.9 km away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
645 reviews
1.5 km away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aylstone Boutique Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aylstone Boutique Retreat

Address: 19 Huangarua Road, Martinborough 5711, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinborough
Price Range: $272 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aylstone Boutique Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aylstone Boutique Retreat in Martinborough, just 1 hour from Wellington, offers six boutique rooms with lovely views, classic furnishings and ensuite bathrooms. Aylstone is set among world class Martinborough vineyards offering peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Aylstone Boutique Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing