We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
91
27
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
27
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong weekendsmall bathroomcomfortable bedlovely placevineyardsmargrainwineduvet
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, cozy and well equipped. I visited a befriended winemaker nearby and this was an ideal place for a renew nights, not far away from some of the best wineries in Martinborough. The staff has been very friendly and helpful, though make sure you arrange everything you need well in advance.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank itravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

The room we had booked, was cold and the floor healing didn´t function. There were nobody at the reception when we arrived on time. Had to call them, but it was the Gardener who came and served us. We where left alone at the Retreat, together with another couple, and the breakfast (one grapefruit and a placticbag with toasts) was handed over the evening before. Too expencieve !!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intermezzo-cph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Stayed at the Aylstone for 2 nights. The room was spacious and very clean. As with other reviewers there was no one on reception when I arrived and you have to phone to get someone to give you a key and let you in the room. When I enquired about breakfast I was told there is some bread and butter and jams for breakfast. Then the lady made the statement that most people have a cup of coffee and then go into Martinborough to a cafe for breakfast. This I found to be very poor for the type of establishment and the money you pay. Also on second night again two pieces of bread but no plate to put them on very poor. Also no phone in the room to call reception to remedy the problem. Overall comfortable room in nice gardens but lacking some of the essentials of a bed and breakfast. Not good value for the money paid.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FRANCIS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Room well equipped and clean with comfy bed.
Grounds were pretty.
Welcome was short and to the point! No one in attendance so you have to ring for assistance. OK if you have a phone but not sure what happens if you don't?
Obviously they lived nearby so an address would have been handy.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmankelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

This is a delightful B&B away from the centre of the town (10-15 minutes walk) and right by the vineyards - ideal for visiting them as one can do so on foot without having to drive after drinking!

Aylstone is made up to be comfortable de luxe accommodation and it very nearly succeeds. I would have given it 5 stars but my room had a surprisingly small bathroom, the bedroom was not serviced in a two day stay, the proprietor was absent almost all the time (one had to ring her to be let in - not ideal for foreigners on roaming mobile charges) and the supplies offered for breakfast were limited and not renewed for the second morning. But the location is beautiful and it is certainly quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_from_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews